We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best Starwoods Villas”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the best Starwoods Villas”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

For those who haven't tried Starwoods Vacation properties, these villas have kitchens and living rooms.

The layout among all the villas I've been to are almost all identical. What makes this property one of my favorites is the well-maintained desert landscaping, the location (easy to get to Palm Springs, casinos, etc.), and the easy connection to all of the amenities of the attached Westin Resort.

I can't give this 5 stars like a Ritz Carlton or a Four Seasons, but if you're looking for considerably more space than the typical hotel room (and save a bunch on breakfasts and some dinners), this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor facing the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SheMakes3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
SheMakes3, Thanks for your great review of our resort. It is truly great when owners and guests can take full advantage of what our entire Westin resort has to offer. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to see you again that the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. Be Well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    467
    258
    110
    40
    22
See reviews for
344
330
27
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2014

Going to the Westin for the very first time was something I was worried about. I had ways herd up and down reviews of them. Though after staying I must say it certainly does deserve two thumbs up. Front desk was quick poliet and helpful. Witch is what I needed after having two children in the car for 6 hours. What I must say is the pool experience was wonderful! The pool attendants were aboslutly marvolous. The Fun Team not only provided activities to keep the little ones entertained, but also connected with us on a personal level. I must give credit to these workers who stood out to me the most. (Breanna, Vincent, and William) weather it was doing an activity or moving am umbrella they always had a smile. The restaurant as well was wonderful with delicious food! I now know when it comes to the Westin I won't have to think twice!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catrivers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Catrivers02, thank you for sharing your wonderful experience with us at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. I am so thrilled to read that you and your family had an outstanding time with us. Also, thank you for recognizing our Fun team and specifically Breanna, Vicente, & William. We will share your feedback and celebrate with our team. Thanks again for your feedback and we all look forward to seeing you again in the future. Safe travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zionsville, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 March 2014

Stayed at the Villas for 5 nights and they were wonderful. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Had a couple issues during stay (drain clog & bad service in restaurant one time for breakfast). Both were addressed immediately and with apologies. Staff very concerned about making your stay as pleasant as possible. Been here a few times and it is great each and every time. Look forward to returning in the near future for another relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PurdueRobH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
PurdueRobH, thank you for sharing your feedback about your experience at our resort. I am so happy to read that you had a wonderful visit and our associates here helpful. I am sorry we had a couple of opportunities but happy to read that our staff took great care in quickly resolving the issue. Thanks for sharing your feedback and we truly look forward to seeing you again at the resort. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Our third stay was equally as good as our previous two with consistently excellent service in a delightful environment. Previously we stayed in standard and premium villas with expansive fairway views, but this we time enjoyed the quieter environment of a premium villa with a lagoon view. Regardless of either impressive view, the larger premium villas are more comfortable and worth the additional charge (very reasonable considering the significantly increased interior and patio space). Special kudos to Alex Sanchez on the front desk management staff, and to Mayola at the Fireside Lounge for particularly exceptional service. The only caveat is that the rates for the best villa deals on the same dates appear to have risen significantly in the past year (54% in our experience) and value for money may become an issue if this trend continues.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Frank J, thank you for your excellent review of our resort. I am so pleased to read that you had another enjoyable time at the Westin Mission Hills Villas. Also, thank you for recognizing Alex & Mayola for their great service. We celebrate comments like your and we will share with our entire team. Thanks again for your great feedback and we look forward to serving you again at the Westin. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I, along with my mom and daughter decided to book a getaway from the Minnesota cold. We stayed at the Westin Villas in Mission Hills and had a wonderful time! The accommodations were absolutely beautiful and the restaurants delicious. One of the best things about are stay, though, was the warmth of the people who worked at the resort. We were so impressed at how well we were treated by every staff member we encountered, from the spa, restaurants, concierges and front desk. I want to give a special shout out to Maria Kelly at the front desk. She really helped us to feel welcome and cared for. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Tom H, thank you writing about your experience at the Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas. It is great to read that you had a fantastic getaway at our resort. Thank you for the great comment about the team and particularly Maria Kelly at our Front Desk. I am so glad our team was able to create a memorable experience for you and your family. Thanks for your comments and we welcome you again to getaway anytime!! Many thanks and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Their own concierge, Hugo, used this term to describe our room along with "small". Our villa was the standard one and not premier. It was clean and building 43 is right outside the putting green so my husband like it. The facility has four pools and three restaurants which is helpful and easy. The location is close to everything, including the casino and Costco. The units are dated but have everything you would need - except an oven. We passed on the housekeeping but someone still came into our unit when we weren't there and knocked twice on our door. The parking is not assigned so you may have to walk abit from your unit. It reminded me of a hotel/motel set up not luxury by any means. The paved walkway and shuttles around the facility were very useful. All in all we won't be staying there again - just nothing fabulous to bring us back including the price tag. Felt once we said no to their "presentation" we were left to our own. Hugo called us twice before we came and was over the top with his friendliness and even offered his own personal observation on our behaviors when we turned him down on the Starwood program - or "points junkies" as he called them. No thank you Mission Hills.

Room Tip: Building 43 is right beside the putting greens and close to two of the four pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawShaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
ShawShaw, thank you for sharing your experience with us at our resort. Please accept my apology for the experiences you had during your time with us. I will share your feedback with our concierge team and resort team so we can continue to focus on delivering great service, all the time. Feedback is a gift and I appreciate you sharing yours. Thanks again for your feedback and hope we can serve you again at Westin again in the future. Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed here a few years ago and everything was quite dated but this stay in four units had new paint, carpets and a good selection of kitchen supplies. The Pete Dye golf course was in outstanding condition and a pleasure to play. Those of our group who went to the pool were disappointed by the noisy environment and ended up down at the hotel pool which was more adult oriented but was a ten minute walk away. Very late check-in (5 PM) due to cleaning delays was followed by several days of interrupted dinner preparation due to late cleaning of the suites. They need to hire some more staff so that work can be done by 4 PM. Our shower did not work which meant showering with the hand held nozzle which was a first for a Westin property. Our group of eight enjoyed the villas and with the proximity to Costco down the street made for a very enjoyable holiday, too bad about the house cleaning issue.

Room Tip: We stayed on the north side, ground floor which was perfect for the frequent access to loading and u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan K, Manager at The Westin Mission Hills Villas, responded to this review, 1 March 2014
Ken S, thank you for sharing your feedback about our resort. I am happy to know you and your group enjoyed the villas. Please accept my apologies for the shower. We have a lever that diverts water to the shower head or to the hand held on our Heavenly Shower, which blends well with the entire fixture. You can have the ability to switch between the two and sorry as this lever was set on the wand. Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you in the future. Many thanks and Be Well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
3.4 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
0.4 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
7.0 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.3 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Mission Hills Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Mission Hills Villas

Property: The Westin Mission Hills Villas
Address: 71777 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-1603
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#1 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Green Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westin Mission Hills Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 316
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Resort & Villas is nestled in the Coachella Valley at the base of California's San Jacinto Mountains in the secluded desert oasis known as Rancho Mirage. As a AAA Four Diamond-rated resort, this world-class golf and spa destination promises infinite rejuvenation. Nearby, a mecca of cultural, historical, shopping and outdoor adventure awaits you. Enjoy spacious one and two-bedroom villas with fully equipped kitchens, washers and dryers, private balconies or patios, separate dining and living room areas, and complimentary Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Westin Mission Hills Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Villas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Hotel
Westin Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Westin
The Westin Mission Hills Villas Rancho Mirage, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing