We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Good Find in the California Desert”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
210 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“A Good Find in the California Desert”
Reviewed 9 December 2011

We just returned home from four nights at Rancho Las Palmas. We had a great package rate called "Stay Four." You pay for three nights and the fourth night is free. We were in the desert two years ago for a wedding and were disappointed with the place we stayed, a poorly run vacation club. This time we wanted a full-scale resort and overall we were very pleased with Rancho Las Palmas. A former Marriott, the sprawling property sits on 30 acres and has a 27-hole golf course on site.
The rooms were spacious and well appointed (but I would have loved shower gel instead of bar soap). Each building has its own parking so we drove directly to our rooms (we were traveling with another couple) and handled our own luggage. We were in Buidling 6 which was ideally located near the main building, restaurants and the resort's tranquility pool.
Before leaving home I actually received a call from someone at the hotel who informed me that the main family pool had sprung a leak and would not be operational during our stay. With apologies for the inconvenience were offered a full refund without penalty if we chose to go elsewhere. The phone call and offer were very much appreciated, but since we weren't traveling with young children we weren't planning on spending any time at the family pool, which has a lazy river and water slides. However, because of the family's pool closure, children were welcome at the resort's tranquility pool, normally reserved for adults.
Regarding the resort's restaurants, with so many good local eateries we never tried BluEmber for dinner, but we dined on their patio every day for lunch. Lunch, normally ho-hum, was excellent. The flat bread pizzas were delicious as were the Baja shrimp salad, the chopped salad and the chicken soup. At this time of year there is a limited amount of warm sunshine hours, so lunch on the patio in full sun was a treat. There are, of course, umbrellas for anyone wanting shade.
We played two nine-hole rounds of golf at the resort, but with myriad choices for golf in the desert I would recommend opting for other courses in the area.
We did encounter one problem with our room but it was resolved to our satisfaction. One morning we noticed tiny ants creeping all along the granite on the bathroom sink. Someone from housekeeping came to inspect and suggested we change rooms rather that stay in a room that had to be sprayed with chemicals. Not terribly convenient but we agreed it was the best course of action. The hotel took off a generous amount from our bill to compensate.
All in all we would stay at Rancho Las Palmas again if we return to the Rancho Mirage area. Its architecture is pleasing, the room sizes generous, and the food at lunch outstanding. It's also conveniently located for area restaurants and golf courses. A good find in the desert!

Room Tip: Choose a room in the 600s for convenience to the main building and tranquility pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChinadollRVC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,635
    874
    417
    199
    142
See reviews for
1,623
525
42
656
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durango, Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Although the rooms are adequate and the property is well designed, maintenance and front office staff are seriously deficient. There were problems with 2 of the 3 rooms we rented. Getting things fixed became a major issue and a real time waster. The front office staff is incompetent to deal with problems and followup with other staff members and hotel guests is markedly deficient. Most of them are oung kids, some of whom are pleasant but otherwise poorly trained and unmotivated to solve relatively straight-forward problems.

The positives would be the golf and tennis facilities which are very well designed and run by competent and highly professional and friendly staff. This is clearly not so in the front office.
Room cleanliness is acceptable but maintenance is significantly substandard.

Room Tip: look at it first and verify that it has heat, air conditioning (if appropriate) hot and cold running...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ron g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We just had a couple of nights over the Thanksgiving weekend and had a great time. They have really designed the pool area for kids from 1-12 years. From a small beach area for the little ones to the dual waterslides for the bigger ones. The room was nice and we preferred to be away from the pool so the noise level is less when we wanted some down time. There are some great restaurants right across the street from the hotel that were within walking distance. We will be back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itsabigworld321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Overall a wonderful FAMILY resort. The service is extraordinary. They drive you around anywhere you want to go in golf carts (for free). Everything is so convenient. If you want to stay near the Splashtopia but not have the noise, I suggest requesting 1900, 2000, or 2100 building - they are across the street from the pool area but back up to golf course so it's perfect. They have many kids activities and several places to grab a bite. The best part is also the outdoor mall across the street, called the River. The staff will drive you in the golf cart to the street and you just walk across to shops, dining, bars, etc.

Splashtopia is perfect for any age. The wee ones can hang out all day in the sand pit/shallow water area. The older kids have the 2 water slides, a giant pool, and of course the awesome lazy river and splash zone. Yes its packed with hundreds of kids but we had no problem getting food/drink service or chairs at the pool and never had to wait for a floatie. I loved that there were lifeguards everywhere and they actually were paying attention!

Food was fine. We had the breakfast buffet at Blu Ember every morning (we had a $50 bkfst credit in our deal) and they had a lot of options. The cafe was a little pricey ($14 for a sandwich) but had good selection. Poolside drinks and happy hour beers on tap were good. The whole area has reclining and rocking chairs and fire pits, and views of the mountains and golf course everywhere which was great.

The room was comfortable and clean, nothing special. There was a vanity area in the bathroom which was a nice bonus. There's a small mini bar/fridge.

I wouldn't recommend this place for a couple or anyone looking for a quiet resort but for a family with little kids, it doesn't get better than this.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Niti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2011

11/24-27/11. A surly valet greeted us with "Leave yer bags in yer car n park by yer room." The front desk was baffled by our request for bell services. So we clunked our large bags up the exterior stairs (no elevator) to our noisy, late 1970's motel style room with dark, beat up woodwork and dirty corners. The claustrophobic bathroom had an old pitted bathtub with a corroded shower head, one sink which lost a faucet handle in the night and garish lighting, only suitable for applying retro-blue eye shadow. The lack of soundproofing in the walls allowed us to follow all conversations in adjacent rooms, including the children whining at 7am. There were so many ill-mannered children left unattended by boozing parents, that the central plaza was completely overrun. We really couldn't consume enough alcohol to drown out the shrieking children or fall asleep on the plank-like bed under an incessantly clicking fan. Some employees tried to deliver customer service, but it was inconsistent. The golf experience was odd and we got no guidance from the hotel staff about how to arrange things. The pro seemed unclear about the price and method of payment for a lesson. We appreciated that the room was a good size with a little balcony overlooking the course. We enjoyed excellent meals in Blu-Ember and the Thanksgiving buffet. The chef was visible on site managing details in the restaurants and he did a great job. As we checked out at the front desk because the TV check out system was disabled, there were two other guests complaining loudly about a variety of things. If we had arrived with lower expectations, our experience would have seemed better. However, this property is one of the KSL resorts that participates in ClubCorp and because of that we expected a lot more.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CapricornSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We stayed 11-15-11 thru 11-23-11. It was easy to find. Enjoyed the nightly entertainment. Food and drink prices seemed on par with local restaurants. $7-$15 for drink, $10-18 for sandwich and dinner $22 and up. Room was large and comfortable. As addressed earlier money needs to be spent on room fridges and replace the tepid box. I had trouble getting wi-fi 6 of 7 nights. We enjoyed the pool areas and all the attendants were attentive. We enjoyed the property overall and the one issue was addressed. In my opinion this was a great property for the price and location.

Room Tip: If you like quiet and a nice view of the golf course 2700 building rm 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoAnnMetroDetroit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Batavia, Illinois
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We love the grounds of Rancho Las Palmas. It's a beautiful setting in a great location. If I had to identify a negative, I would say the rooms are a bit dated. The pocket door to the bathroom is a bit of a hassle opening and closing and the slats in the door do not allow for privacy. All in all, I would recommend and return.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wherenext6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
2.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-4416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing