We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Not what we expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We heard about this property from many friends who raved about the amenities, particularly for our kids. Staff was great, friendly and prompt. Our biggest disappointment was that we did not know what was going on at the resort or what the restaurants offered. Typically, there would be a "in-room resort book" that would tell you about the resort, what it had to offer, the activities, restaurants (types) and sometimes the menus. So we looked on the television to see if they had the resort information streaming there. Nothing! We called the front desk and asked about the in-room resort book because we wanted to know more about the activities and resort amenities. So they were sending one to us, great! However, we got a phone call back advising they did not have one. Only upon check-out did we discover that there was activities flyer for the week. We missed allot including face painting for our kids, movie night by the pool, etc. Thank god the resort had the lazy river, small sandy beach area and pool. But, participating in the other activities would have made our stay even better! As for the food, it was great! Exceeded our expectations and both the grill BluEmber and the cafe. We never left the resort! We were more upset about our dining reservation than anything. We have a baby, so would of liked a 6:30 pm dining time. We were told that they were booked! Okay, so the earliest we could dine would be 7:15 pm. We arrived, and the place was practically dead! In fact, no one every sat next to us during our whole dining experience. Although our baby did go crazy (he was tired) before we could finish our meal, our dinner was was fabulous! Another disappointment was concierge. Particularly the desk/persons who handle the cabana rentals. I tried reserving a cabana before we arrived at the hotel. I could not get a hold of anyone throughout the day and called several times. I finally left a message and got a call back,...the next day (the day we arrived at the resort). I missed her call because I was driving. So I called her back after we checked in to our room and again, had to leave a message. So we collected a couple of umbrellas poolside to protect the baby. At that point, I was done! I just wanted to make the best of our stay. I did get a call back again about the cabana,....but again NOT until the following day. Really? Oh, I failed to mention that someone else at the pool desk told me the Cabanas were booked on our departure day. Well, it sure did not look like it! Lastly, although our room was a good size and nicely appointed, the furniture looked a bit tattered and the carpet was stained. Not a big deal to some people, but it was looking a bit worn out. I was most annoyed with a few little bugs flying around and crawling in the bathroom. Not sure if this is typical for Palm Springs, but it was the moth that flew out of our bed that was nuzzled between the duvet and sheets that sealed the deal for me! Seriously, how did that get in there? In the end, we did enjoy ourselves despite the hiccups. We stayed during the week, so the restaurant and concierge acting like they were so busy - wasn't cool. The cabana would have been nice, but didn't happen. Knowing about the resort activities would have made my kids very happy, but thank god the backpack gift did. The bottom line is they need to fine tune some things. It didn't help that the resort lost power for about an hour also. No one could swim and the grill would not let anyone buy anything (because their computers were down).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 649sadiem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Dear 649sadiem,

We appreciate the time you've taken to review your recent trip. We want our guests to enjoy each and every aspect of the resort, and the activities are a big part of the summer family fun. It is disappointing to learn that you were not able to obtain any of this information while you were here. We have alerted our Rooms, Front Desk, and Concierge of this issue and we truly appreciate you bringing this to our attention. It sounds like you enjoyed Splashtopia and happy you were able to find shade for your wee one. We completely understand the frustrations around your dinner reservation and are looking into ways to streamlining the reservation processes when the restaurant isn't booked. Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and again, your feedback is highly valued.

Sincerely,
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,593
    857
    408
    194
    135
See reviews for
1,589
512
40
637
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Very pleased with our stay. This hotel takes care of you. The pool area is fantastic for kids. The beach area is covered and great for the little ones. Customer Service is superb. They go out of their way to make sure you are happy and enjoy your experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Anthony A,

Thank you for your recent review. We strive to offer the best services possible to our guests and we are so pleased you we able to experience this first hand. We thank you for being a loyal guest and hope you will visit with the family again very soon.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Although this resort rates quite high, I am more than a little surprised. This is not a bad resort but it is definitely not for couples without kids. We needed 1 night prior to moving into a home at PGA west in La Quinta. In hind sight. The Ritz, JW Marriott or Westin may have been better suited to us. The location is what we booked for, walking distance to THE RIVER!

ROOM
Our room was ok but certainly dated, at best, with a less than impressive view. It was labeled as a luxurious room but I beg to differ. The bed is good, comfortable with good in room amenities.

RESORT
It would appear the main attraction is Splashtopia although we had zero interst in this pool. We sat at the adult pool and the attendant was great. Chairs are little worn. For the price of the resort, the pool was small with nothing special to look at. If it were not for the attendant it would have been very disappointing.

There is a good coffee shop that brews Starbucks on site.

RESTAURANT
Enjoyed breakfast at the outdoor restaurant. Service was Attentive and prompt. Food quite good too. We did not have the buffet since there were throngs of children swarming the food.

Overall if I was travelling with my young children, it would book this place but otherwise take a pass. I think everyone else already figured this fact out. We were the only ones without children and had the adult pool pretty much to ourselves.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joanne g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carthage, mo., United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

hotel clean, rooms clean comfortable, outside noise not heard with door closed. staff excellent, bell man services excellent. Great place to stay, safe, and feel at home feeling. Needed to have more ice available. All staff was polite and answered to all requested needs, Grounds, clean and pool area clean. I will continue to stay at Omni Hotels when they are available. Only problem missed 2 wake up calls, however they adjusted my bill to compensate in a very large adjustment. I was surprised. Highley recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Anita Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valencia, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Nice grounds and pools. Whole family loved the lazy river. Kids enjoyed Splashtopia and evening face painting. Staff was over the top friendly and helpful. Had 2 incidences of wrong charges from the onsite restaurants that were billed to our room. Check your bill, especially if you charge food to your room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Katherine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cerritos, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

What can I say. This is the best weekend getaway we have experienced in quite some time now. My wife loved it and is already planning the next trip here. Big thanks to the management, staff, bell staff, golf cart rider, the spa therapists and everyone that made our stay memorable and enjoyable. I already liked/recommended Omni on Facebook/Twitter and will recommend it to anyone that is in the area and looking for a quality vacation

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jagan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Avoid main pool and Splasthopia on weekends... too noisy. Very understaffed. Don't waste $ on resort pool. Drive a few blocks away, plenty of good options for half the cost. Overall feeling staying here was we felt like a cattle crawl with all of us trying to save a few bucks to stay in a "resort".....not to mention the scorching 112 degree heat. Seems more sensible to get a hotel in San Diego and actually enjoy being outdoors :-)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank Viktor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RanchoLasPalmas, Manager at Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Viktor H,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate the time you took and value your feedback and comments. Summers in Palm Springs tend to be very popular and we never want our guests to feel like cattle. The Azure Adults only pool is very serene and we hope you have the opportunity to join us again so you may enjoy. The temperatures unfortunately we can't control but we have plenty of ways for you to cool down with 3 sparkling pools and refreshing beverages.

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
2.5 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
3.4 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
6.7 mi away
La Quinta Resort & Club, A Waldorf Astoria Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa

Property: Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Address: 41000 Bob Hope Drive, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-4416
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#2 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 450
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Las Palmas Hotel Rancho Mirage
Rancho Las Palmas Resort And Spa
Rancho Las Palmas Resort Spa
Rancho Palmas Resort
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing