We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Except For Smokey Smell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Reviewed 1 March 2014

The first thing we noticed when we entered our "nonsmoking" room was that it smelled smokey, and that it had an ashtray. We called the desk to get switched to a different room, and were told that no other rooms were available that night. When we asked if we could switch the next day, we were told that that would not be possible either. The clerk said all rooms were nonsmoking, despite the presence of ashtrays, which clearly convey a different message to smokers! We got the feeling that the girl who was at the desk just could not be bothered helping us.
On the other hand, the room was extremely nice for a Motel 6, being unusually spacious for a Motel 6. It was clean, and the beds were comfortable. It was very cheap for the Rancho Mirage area (where my parents were renting). We were in the back away from the road, so it was quiet. Although we did not use it, the pool and hot tub looked nice, were warm, and in good repair.
All in all, I thought it was a good value and would definitely stay there again. But if you really hate the smell of smoke (I don't, although my wife was more bothered) you might go elsewhere.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room ask for a room at the back, since there is no road behind the motel.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
There are newer reviews for Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2013 via mobile

My friend and I were on a roadtrip through California,Arizona and Nevada. The motel is in a very hot but nice area with very friendly staff and nice and tidy rooms! We would book it again! (Even though you have to pay extra wifi!)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kara239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Admosphere was a bit like an abandoned village... Rooms were OK, although the bed squeaked a lot. Ice cubes are available which is nice. Also there are a lot of interesting bugs walking around in and around the motel. Nice and cheap, but a one-timer.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2013

During the tennis tournament when all hotels jack their prices up, this is the place to turn to. When you just need to eat, breathe, smell and everything tennis related during the BNP PAribas Open except a place to crash...then this is the place to establish your home-base. Everything else is no less than $120/night!
I have been coming here for yrs during the tennis tournament and this is still the best place to crash. During the tournament, it can only take 15mins to get to the venue and with very little traffic since youre taking the 111highway. Yes, dont look for fancy stuff but just a safe and cozy place to stay near the tournament.

Room Tip: book a room in the back for less highway noise. critical for long stays
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank drgreenthumb2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

I waited the last minute to look for a hotel so it was $400 or Motel 6. I got it with a 2 day notice. I was really pleased it turned out so well. The room was clean and it was pretty quiet all night. The only scary thing was an obviously homeless man trying to ge a room for the night but the man at the front desk politely turned him away (they were sold out anyway).

It's closer to Cathedral Cith than Rancho Mirage, and the view is awful, but I didn't care. I've stayed in a lot worse hotel rooms in Europe that cost a lot of money. This was a very good value.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank supergirl50000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012

Outside was neat & clean, as was the room. The front desk staff was friendly and even called to ask if the room was OK. Unfortunately, we discovered that night that the mattress sagged in the middle. Also, the sink stopper was not connected to the lift lever. Other than that, it was OK for the price we paid ($50 for one weekday night.)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

BUGS! all over the floor and crawling on the walls.

Found ants in our motorcycle's saddle bags next morning when we mounted it back on to the bike.

For motel 6, it is roomier than any other we stayed in, I'll give them that much credit.
and in general good repair of the room we stayed in.

Check in & out was timely and efficient.

Due to the infestation we encountered on our way to California for our week's vacation, we opted to cancel our return stay here the following week and decided to go to Vegas instead.

For $50/night on Saturday/Sunday stay at the Rio in a King Bed Suite was price well worth the diversion...AND NO BUGS AT THE RIO!

Room Tip: No advice from us.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bikerdudeandhiswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Cathedral City (Palm Springs)
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Rancho Mirage - Palm Spgs Area
3.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Palm Springs/Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
937 reviews
3.6 mi away
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
#6 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
592 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage

Address: 69570 SR-111, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: £44 - £141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage 2*
Number of rooms: 104
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage Hotel Rancho Mirage
Motel 6 Rancho Mirage
Motel Six Rancho Mirage
Rancho Mirage Motel 6
Rancho Mirage Motel Six
Motel 6 Palm Springs - Rancho Mirage California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing