We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 October 2011

Arrived after a long drive from Las Vegas and got a very warm welcome from a young chap on reception. I wish I had got his name to give him a mention. He checked us in quickly and gave us complimentary breakfast vouchers which we werent expecting. We were invited to have a meeting with the concierge and she gave us useful information and vouchers for either free starters or desserts when purchasing an entree. She also gave us discount vouchers for the spa. The food and service in the restaurant was second to none and I highly recommend the rotisserie chicken. The bathroom door locked on the first night and wouldnt open and a gentleman arrived to fix it within minutes of naking a call to reception. There was a minibar in the room but also an empty fridge which you could use for your own drinks. As it was 115 degrees, the fridge came in very handy. Bearing in mind that this property is reasonably priced, I feel that the rooms are of an acceptable standard and are very roomy. I do agree with other reviews that they are a little tired but I had no complaints. The golf was really reasonable and the 2 courses were fabulous. The pool near our room was fantastic with 2 cold water coolers. There were plenty of sun loungers and loads of towels. I would definitely come back to this property and would recommend it to others. My only piece of negative feedback would be the "visit" to see the villas. It was explained to us as a visit to show off the new properties which Westin are extremely proud of and desperate to show off. Naively we took this at face value and found ourselves subject to a very hard sell to buy into a timeshare type arrangement. To be fair, it actually sounds like a fantastic set up and I would actually think about doing it in the future but I did feel really pressurised. All in all it was a fantastic stay and all the staff were courteous and friendly. I will be back at some point and will now look out for more Westin proprties when staying in europe or America.

Room Tip: A lot of the terraces have stone in front of them which isnt too pretty to look at. It didnt really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parklea07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Parklea07,

Thank you so much for your review. We are so pleased that our associates offered such wonderful service. We strive to offer the best for our guest to enjoy an unforgettable stay. I will forward your comments to the appropriate departments regarding the Villa's, but I do hope you will join us again soon. Please feel free to contact us should you have any further questions or concerns. Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,581)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,899 - 1,905 of 2,581 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2011

Usually, this is a great place to stay. This visit wasn't so good. We got "upgraded" to suite 639. What a nightmare. It is right next to the employee breakroom and everything maintenance related. We stayed 2 nights and each night we were woken at 2 am by employee laughter or cement cleaning. Avoid this suite if you can.

The pool is generally fun. However, we were there one day and they closed it 90 minutes for no apparent reason. They also had a "schedule" for the kids games which they failed to stick to. Not a big deal if we hadn't tried to plan around this.

The food at the pool is also not great. Nachos with cheese sauce is a misstep. It's the Westin, do they really not have real cheese for the nachos?

All in all our stay was mediocre. Not up to the Westin standards we are used to.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LLPMF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear LLPMF,

Thank you for your most recent review. My apologies for the challenges with your stay. We strive to ensure each guest has the best persona service and facilities for an unforgettable stay. I will forward your helpful comments and concerns to the appropriate departments and do hope you will give us the opportunity to grow your confidence in us again. Please feel free to contact us should you have any further questions or concerns. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a lovely day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

This was our first stay here and we enjoyed every minute of it. I took my wife here for a relaxing weekend getaway to celebrate our 16th wedding anniversary. The grounds are beautiful; replete with water features everywhere you look. Waterfalls, lakes, lagoons..it just gives the place a real vacation feel. Something about the sound of running water is really relaxing and puts you in that state of mind where you are instantly calm and tranquil. This is a Huge resort, covering over 300 acres and the rooms are spread out so prepare to do a lot of walking if you have one of the rooms at the far end of the complex. They do have transportation shuttles which run back & forth between both ends of the resort if you care to wait for 10 minutes or so but we found the exercise exhilarating. The rooms are large and spacious although a little worn around the edges. I found a dented light shade over the main desk, as well as some loose threads on the heavenly beds and it seemed as though housekeeping could be better trained. When we first checked in we were not that pleased with our room, as the direction if faced placed us looking squarely at the building next to ours, and it didn't get much light ,being naturally very dark. I noticed that the bed in that room looked a little rumpled, like a child had made it hastily and that the pillow cases looked a little rumpled, not neat and pressed. When we switched rooms to get a lighter room with a more open view the bed in that room looked exactly the same; rumpled, and hastily made with the pillows looking like someone had slept in them. Not a big deal but definitely not like the other Westin's we had stayed at. Also the tub was a bit stained, and the grout on the bathroom floor had definitely seen better days.

The pools (there are 3) are spaced out through out the resort with the smaller pools located on opposite ends of the resort (for those people not wanting to walk the distance to the main pool at the middle. The main pool is pretty large with plenty of seating and though the resort looked pretty full there was decent sun to be had in many locations. The Lobby bar is very inviting and the outdoor seating part of it was really comfortable and a nice area to sit in the evenings and have a cocktail. Their on site dinner restaurant menu looked pretty average and not that exciting so we opted to dine out at the Rancho Mirage River Mall (tons of restaurants like P.F. Chang's, Cheesecake Factory, Babe's BBQ, etc) as well as in Palm Desert's El Paseo district (try Sullivan's for a great steakhouse experience).

The fitness center was very nice with a good assortment of treadmills, ellipticals, weight machines and dumbells and as a former competitive bodybuilder I found everything I needed to get a great workout. Also large enough so it never felt crowded.

I visited the spa to make my wife an appointment for the following day and when I walked in there were two girls in their early 20's behind the desk. I was the only person there and I walked up to the desk and stood waiting without having either one look up from their computer to say "Hi" or even acknowledge my presence. When it got to be ridiculous I finally spoke up and said, "Looks like you guys are pretty busy should I come back later?" Only then did one look up and say, "Oh, can I help you.?" This type of arrogant customer service falls back on the Spa manager and training, and I would encourage the Spa manager to spend some more time training staff there. My wife enjoyed her massage and said it was very relaxing. Debra the Concierge was excellent and should be promoted, She was the consummate professional and one of the best I've had the pleasure of meeting.

All In all a very nice resort to relax and spend some time getting away from it all.

Room Tip: Get a room with a golf course View for the best resort experience. If you're going to stay here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vneuman921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Vneuman021,

Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate all your comments and concerns. We will forward your notes on to the appropriate departments and do hope you will join us again for a tranquil, relaxing stay. Should you have any questions please do feel free to contact us. We hope to see you again very soon!

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

This resort is wonderful. Lots of water features surround the property and nice landscaping. There is even a nice little playground for the little ones and 2 pools.
The rooms however, are below par of what I would expect of this kind of place. They need to be updated. Our room smelled musty and moldy. The bathtub needed to be replaced and there is still popcorn on the ceilings.

Room Tip: Get a room on the 1st floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AquaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear AquaV,

Thank you for your comments and concerns. We appreciate your suggestions and will forward them to the appropriate departments. Please do contact us for assistance with a future stay. We hope to see you again very soon. Have a lovely day!

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

An excellent hotel in the Palm Springs area.
Beautiful grounds and well maintained facilities.
Very nice and comfortable rooms.
Don't forget to experience the Cheesecake Factory down the road .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear David S,

Thank you for your recent review. We appreciate your positive comments. Please feel free to contact us for your future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Have a lovely day!

Be Well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We were booked into the Westin by our holiday company at the last minute as the hotel we had booked had been sold. What an amazing piece of luck. The hotel staff were all so friendly and helpful. We were celebrating an anniversary and the receptionist arranged for a bottle of champagne and strawberries and chocolate to be placed in our room. We also recieved (unexpectedly) complimentary (and delicious) continental breakfasts which could be upraded at a small cost. We were ferried around the site, to and from the pool, by golf buggies. The pools were lovely with plenty of comfortable sunbeds. Our room was so spacious and the bed was wonderful, they don't call them heavenly beds for nothing. When we checked in, we were also given vouchers for free appetisers and desserts and a shopping bag. Thanks for making our anniversary trip so much more special than we expected.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to have a patio or balcony with table and chairs. Probably a view of the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PogleSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear PogleSuffolk,

Thank you for you WONDERFUL review. We appreciate all your comments and concerns. Please let us know if we may assist you with a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon. Have a lovely day!

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

The staff were extremely nice.The whole property is amazing.We got a really nice room.The pool is really cool and even the restaurants. the food was very good.This was one of our stops during our honeymoon and we were very happy with the choice.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelandenjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2011

Dear Travelandenjoy,

Thank you for your AMAZING review. We hope you will join us again very soon. Please feel free to contact us if we can assist you with a future stay. We look forward to welcoming you back. Have a lovely day!

Be well.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
974 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
1.2 mi away
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
Agua Caliente Casino Resort Spa
#6 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
7.2 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, Greater Palm Springs, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Greater Palm Springs > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range: £138 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing