We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant but dated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York, Usa
1 review
“Pleasant but dated”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed for three nights. Room was clean but at the very end of the line at the tennis courts so a fairly long walk to the restaurants and pools. Food at main restaurant was very good. Gift shop selection and choices very good but expensive. LOTS of families with active and loud children, so if you're looking for a quiet, serene stay, this probably isn't the place to go. Check in was fast.

The facility was nice but looked dated. It has a slightly tired look. Enjoyed our visit but would like to try one of the newer hotels

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizaM135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear ElizaM135,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with us and thank you for choosing The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa on your most recent visit to Rancho Mirage. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed your visit and were able to take advantage of our great resort amenities such as Pinzimini Restaurant and The Mission Hills Market & Café. We hope that on your next visit to Rancho Mirage that you will join us again!

Be well,
Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    762
    380
    210
    129
See reviews for
677
733
96
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 May 2014

The Pinzimini is the breakfast spot of choice for the family. The staff remembered us from our stay in January to celebrate my wife's birthday. Each morning members of the staff took time out of the Memorial Day weekend rush to stop by our table, ask about our stay and how they could personally improve the overall experience. This was a true form of customer service. Individuals that I would like to highlight:
- Ismael Vega: for the help with my wife's birthday surprise in January. For the daily chats during our stay in May and for my hash browns.
- David: for providing my son with a special order of chocolate pancakes and making my daughter feel like a princess
- Luis Manuel: for making us feel like his only table amongst the crowd and for our to-go cups of the delicious iced tea.

Randy Zupanski - timing did not allow for me to personally thank you for the individuals highlighted above, but please reward them for the exceptional service. It is people like these that make booking future visits an easy decision. See you in October 2014.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCEIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear DCEIII,
Thank you for your taking the time to share your feedback regarding the exceptional service you received when dining at Pinzimini over Memorial Day weekend. Ismael, David and Luis are assets to our team and we have shared your kind acknowledgements with them. I too am sorry that I was not able to personally connect with you during your visit but look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Be well,
Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Box spring mattress was broken. Terrible first nights' sleep. Mattress totally replaced. Toilet seat very loose. Moved 1-3" inches right to left. Had to be tightened. Only 1 bathrobe in room. Later, got a second one. Security lock on sliding glass door was incorrectly put on. Sliding door did not lock securely. Staff was very nice, apologetic for the problems, and helpful.






restaurant was very good. Pool towels were ragged, threadbare, and shredded on ends. Could hear every movement of upstairs guests. Would never stay on ground floor again.

Room Tip: Stay on second floor !! Stay in rooms with a Southerly view
See more room tips
Green Features: Just right size of bars of soap. Did not change sheets, nor did they need to, everyday.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Stephen S,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay with us. We have communicated your feedback to the engineering and housekeeping team so we can make the necessary improvements to the guest room. On the other hand, we are happy to hear you enjoyed our restaurant and that our team was helpful and apologetic regarding the circumstances. We hope you have the opportunity to join us again!
Be well,
Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

A nice choice in the Rancho Mirage area, although there were a few issues. Upon check-in, they gave us a first floor room. We asked if anyone was staying above us. They checked and said no. After we were settled in the room, we heard someone walking around in the room right above us. We called the front desk and they confirmed that, yes, someone was occupying the room, so they moved us to a second story unit, which was great, with a view of the pool, main buildings and golf course. So that problem was resolved quickly and to our satisfaction. Regarding the grounds, a trash bag was left outside the door of the first unit we were assigned (we called and had it removed). But a room service tray with dirty dishes was left outside of one of the rooms near our upstairs unit for the rest of the time we were there. Looks like they need someone surveying the walkways for cleanliness/trays/trash.
On the positive side, the room was very comfortable and clean (except for one pillow with some make-up on it when we arrived). It was well appointed with in-room coffee, daily paper and a great shower. We really enjoyed the adult pool as it had a nice vibe, although drinks were not served there.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TravelOn11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear TravelOn11,
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay at our beautiful resort. We are thrilled to know our team was able to help and execute the issues in a timely manner as well. We have communicated your feedback to the room service department and will definitely make the improvements necessary moving forward. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our heavenly experience as well as our lovely pools to cool down from the sunny days! We hope you have the opportunity to join us again!
Be well,
Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Annes
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

After staying at the Weston in San Francisco we thought we would stick to what we know. The 1st room they showed us had a view of concrete blocks so we upgraded to a room with a view of the outside. The room was dark, in the morning looking round bedding had stains on bathroom door covered in marks a 4way plug hanging down by wall. Expensive and the worst hotel I've stayed in whilst being in America. The grounds are lovely as you draw up and that's the best bit from there on its downhill. Room no was 1407 maybe the manager could check housekeeping in there

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 29 May 2014
Dear Kathleen28,
Thank you for your recent review. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay in our resort. We have communicated your feedback with the housekeeping department so we can make the necessary improvements moving forward. We truly hope you can join us again so we can provide you with the exceptional service you expect and deserve!
Be well,
Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This is a fine property with a caring staff. The resort has beautiful grounds and a very relaxed feel. Rooms are spacious and up-to-date; the patio provides a great place to take in views of the golf course and mountains surrounding Palm Springs. My second floor room had an angled ceiling that rose to 16 or 18 feet, making the room feel even larger than it was.

The lobby, restaurants, pools and other parts of the resort are very clean. I found walking between my building and the center of the resort to be a breeze. Of course, there are frequent shuttles for those who prefer to ride.

If you are looking to get away, I would strongly recommend this property.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank richmond787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear richmond787,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic time during your stay in our resort. We are delighted to know you enjoyed our property, our lovely grounds, breathtaking views and our heavenly bed experience! We are also thrilled to hear you enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer to all our guests as well as the exceptional service provided by our team from restaurant and pool! We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Desert, California
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The view from the restaurant was spectacular: mountains, palm trees, geese, a pond, waterfall, and of course the beautiful people at the resort. It was such a relaxing atmosphere. The restaurant staff were all very friendly. The restaurant manager, Dan and supervisor, Noemi came to our table to make sure we were being taken care of. Our server, Angel, was went above and beyond any kind of customer service that I have experienced. He was very attentive, stopping to check on our table every few minutes. He even asked us if we were allergic to any kind of food or ingredients. The food was amazing! I ordered pork chops and this was the first time that I finished an entire plate of meal. Luckily, I live in the desert so this is a place that I can visit more often.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Maureen C,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had a lovely evening inside our Italian inspired restaurant; the scenery definitely makes everything perfect. We are thrilled to know our team did an excellent job providing you with exceptional service by going above and beyond for you. Special Thanks to our Manager Dan, supervisor Noemi and our server Angel for exceeding your expectations and making your experience unforgettable! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing