We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing place to Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Relaxing place to Holiday”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This is a really nice Hotel complex, we had a great room overlooking the 14th hole of the Pete Dye Golf Course. The room was well equipped and think we got upgraded when checking in. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The restaurant has a large variety of choice both a breakfast and diner. Would recommend this hotel to all my friends.

Room Tip: Get a view of the Golf Course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Richard P,
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic time during your stay in our resort. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed the beautiful scenery as well as the guest rooms’ Heavenly Bed experience. We are delighted to learn that you loved our restaurant and its delicious cuisine as well as the exceptional service from our team! We hope you have the opportunity to join us again!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,479 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    762
    380
    210
    129
See reviews for
677
733
96
388
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I am sure that this hotel is wonderful during the season, or during off season weekends. The reality is that the place was so understaffed that it made things difficult to like. First impression is a beautiful and sprawling resort convenient to Highway 10 and the Casino on the edge of Rancho Mirage. The first room we had the AC was broken. We called. "Sir, you must close your door first for the AC to work". "Sir, I am not an idiot...I can read the sign. The door is closed and the AC is NOT working." "Would you like us to move your room sir?" "No, i prefer to stay in a room that is 90 degrees in the summer. Yes, please move my room". We had eight people for dinner in the fine dining restaurant. Food was actually quite good, the service was so slow that it ruined the meal. One hour and the salads came. 100 minutes for the main course....and they got it wrong 30% of the time. They must have the one chef for room service and dining room service. The carts that take you around the resort are supposed to run every ten to fifteen minutes......count on every thirty. A couple of times, we decided it wasn't worth the wait and we just walked. The service at the pool was excellent, but the bar there closed at 4pm one night and 5 the next. The door to the gym was broken the two times we tried to get in. "Sir, do you need help with the key?". "No sir, I learned how to use a card key in college. I would, however, appreciate it if you could send maintenance over to fix the broken card key reader". We called Housekeeping and were advised they'd be there at 4pm to clean the room. We called at 4:30 and at 5:00 pm and the person finally came. She was delightful and efficient when she did show up. The spa is quite small, though adequate and the staff friendly. Bottom line, this resort should close for the summer season and they would not have to worry about having a skeleton staff in place during the summer months. Alternatively, they should let the guests know to expect service not on par with usual Westin or Sheraton expectations. Be forewarned.......not the best option for a relaxing late Spring break in the desert.

Room Tip: Choose first floor if you don't like to climb stairs: No elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mdbgoldfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear mdbgoldfamily,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay in our resort. We are glad to hear that our front desk team was able to accommodate you in an adequate guest room with everything working properly in a timely manner. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the fabulous cuisine from our restaurant, but regret to learn that the service provided was not what you had hoped for. Be assured that this certainly does not meet our expectations as we strive to exceed the expectations of all of our guests. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time and service from our pool team as well as from our housekeeping personnel. We are also glad to know our Spa team was professional and friendly! We truly care about all of our guests so your feedback has been communicated to all the departments mentioned to make the necessary changes and improvements moving forward. Please feel free to contact me at randy.zupanski@westin.com if you would like to follow up with me directly. We hope you give us another chance so we can provide you with the extraordinary service you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

All the staff were welcoming and friendly. We were allocated a large room with a beautiful view over the golf course. It was very quiet when we stayed their. We dined in Pinzimini restaurant on several occasions for breakfast and evening meal. The waiters and waitresses were always very helpful, the food was delicious. The games room was excellent, with Apple computers (for a small charge) and pool, table hockey and many other games and activities which were free to use. Choice of two golf courses one in the hotel grounds the other a mile down the road. Which were both fantastic.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the golf course
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Elizabeth P,
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear you had a fabulous time during your stay in our resort. We are delighted to know you enjoyed the wonderful scenery as well as the fun amenities we have to offer to all of our guests. We are glad to hear you had the time to enjoy our wonderful golf courses as well. We are thrilled to learn our team did a great job providing you with exceptional service and professionalism. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Clemente, CA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed here over Memorial Day weekend. Front desk asked for our Starwood # and gave us a second floor room, building #14, overlooking golf course. Nice! Had to drag luggage up the stairs, fortunately only had a couple of bags. Room was big and clean, lots of space for 2 adults, 2 kids. Hotel was packed over the holiday weekend, but staff seemed well prepared to deal with crowds. Staff checking room keys at pool entry, monitored hogging of pool chairs, etc. Husband got in line at 7:30 am and got a "mini cabana", basically a 3 seater chaise with cover, for $80/day. Totally worth it for the poolside service and to not be crowded next to strangers.

PROS: Staff, both at pool and Pinziemi (sp?) breakfast buffet. Luis at restaurant gave great service despite the large tables and crowds. Large room, grounds very pretty, lots of water features and palm trees. We enjoyed walking to the pool and restaurant from building #14, but heard moaning & groaning from other families.

CONS: Main pool not big enough for all of those people! Minor housekeeping issues, clogged bathtub and shorted washcloths, were resolved quickly with a phone call. Walls were thin, heard a lot of outside noise, and were grateful to be on 2nd floor. Room furniture showing age. Not up to Westin standards, in my opinion.

Will probably try some other resorts in the area, but would likely stay here again on a non-holiday weekend.

Room Tip: Second floor, so long as you don't have a lot of luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xmasdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Xmasdeb,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are very pleased to hear you had a wonderful time during your stay with us over Memorial weekend! We are thrilled to hear our team did an awesome job providing you with fabulous service and that they were able to exceed your expectations! We are delighted to know you loved our beautiful grounds as well as the breathtaking views around our property. With regards to the minor inconveniences mentioned we are happy to hear that our team took care of you in a timely manner. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again.
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Jill and I had a 4 day vacation package at the Weston Mission Hills in Rancho Mirage. Our room was very comfy and large. We dined at the Pinzimini restaurant 3 times. Elizabeth and Manny were our very knowledgeable servers. We were always seated by the big window. The Kale chips were a real hit along with the drinks. Elaine enjoyed finding two pool tables to play on. Jill liked the game room. We hope to come back. Elaine MacDonald

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splendidogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Splendidogal,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic time during your stay in our resort. We are thrilled to know you enjoyed our lovely cuisine as well as the outstanding service provided by our team; special thanks to Manny and Elizabeth for exceeding your expectations and making your stay memorable! We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
179 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed here many times before. It is never my first choice as it always just seems to lack the final touches to be outstanding. But this time, it was horrible. We checked in and the first room was backed onto the road and we had to ask to be changed, he made some stupid comment that we had a AAA rate and that is what is available. Don't offer AAA rates if you are going to belittle the client.

The second room was better until the Roaches started coming out of the walls. I complained but was told sorry no other rooms. I killed a few of them and thought they were gone, that was until I heard my wife scream like she was being attacked. I couldn't believe the size of this coach roach. It was huge. I was able to get him into the toilet and flushed him away. They were coming from a crack in the tile and grout lines under the bathroom sinks. GROSS!!!

I complained at check out...a bill of $1500 plus was given a $60 discount $20 a day for the roaches...I will not be going back to this Roach Hotel. They checked in...and we checked out.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Neillibin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Neillibin,
Thank you for taking time to share your comments. Please accept our sincere apologies for the experience you endured while staying with us. AAA is a valued partner with our resort and has been for many years. Be assured that the choice room would not be negatively impacted by a AAA affiliation. We will certainly follow up with our Front Office team to ensure there is no doubt. Further to your comments…Being a resort on natures doorstep offers both the natural beauty of it location while presenting the challenges that sometimes comes with nature. Be assured that this is not commonplace and we have a regular pest treatment to avoid these type of issues. Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss further. I look forward to speaking with you and being of service to you in the future.
Sincerely,
Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Lets start with the positives: The staff is really nice and being there on a major weekend, I was impressed with the positive attitudes, helpfulness, and service. The food and drinks are pretty good at the pool and in the main restaurant. There are several pools so you can decide if you wanna be with the crowd or be in a more secluded area. pool areas was kept clean which was nice with all the chaos going on. There were fund slides at two pools for the kids and a basketball and volleyball net so the crowds had play while basking in the sun. The game room was awesome and big. It was nice that the kids had a place to go after dinner or needed a break.
The negatives was the hotel lay out. They rooms are in many small buildings and depending on where your room is, the pool and amenities are a hike. You are literally praying to find a shuttle cart to pick you up while you are walking in the heat! I did not like the room décor at all. Surprised because its a Westin/Starwood resort. Walls are white, beds are white. the rooms and bathrooms definitely need an update. Our toilet lever was broken and housekeeping left only one bath towel for a party of four. However they took care of everything in a timely matter. Checking in is a bit stressful and unusual. You keep your car outside and have to go inside and checkin which could take hours. When you are checked in then you have to go back to your car and drive it to your building, take your luggage to your room. I would definitely suggest you pay the $7 dollar valet fee for the first day and have them take you and your luggage to your room by shuttle. I would only stay here if the group I was traveling with wanted to stay here so we could all be together, but it definitely wouldn't be my first or top choice in Palm Desert. Sorry Westin!! :(

Room Tip: I heard the corner rooms come with extra bath and are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewagner26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear ewagner26,
Thank you for your recent review. We are pleased to hear you had some fun in the sun during your stay in our resort. We are happy to know you enjoyed many of our delicious summer cocktails and food items from our pools, lounge and restaurant! We are thrilled to hear our team did a fantastic job and provided you with exceptional service! The Oasis Den is always a fun place for all the family and friends to play some games and just relax away from the heat! On the other hand, we apologize for the inconveniences faced during your stay. We have communicated your feedback with the departments mentioned so we can make the necessary improvements moving forward. We have also spoken to the people in charge of the shuttles to make sure our guests don’t have to walk much and are well taken care off. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again so we can provide you with the exceptional service you expect and deserve.
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing