We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and service at Pinzimini on-site restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, California
1 review
“Excellent food and service at Pinzimini on-site restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My wife and I normally eat off-campus since there are lots of great restaurants in Rancho Mirage and Palm Desert, and the boroughs on Coachella east of that. On our last evening we decided to use our 10%-off coupon at the on-site Westin Mission Hills Pinzimini and we ended up very pleased by our choice. I ordered the soup and a salad and my wife ordered a pasta dish, recommended by Lance our server. The food was gourmet quality and fabulous, and the service was top notch. Lance was busy but he struck the right balance between friendly and efficient and we overall were very surprised at how good the experience was. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Dave D,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you had a fantastic time during your stay in our resort. We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your last evening dining at our restaurant. We are delighted to know you loved the exquisite food selection. We are happy to hear Lance and the rest of our team did a wonderful job providing you with exceptional service and exceeding your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    991
    755
    378
    207
    128
See reviews for
674
726
95
383
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (679)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

We stayed here twice during an 11 day holiday, on the first stay the room allocated was good, on the 2nd stay the room was particularly small by US standards even thoug the resort had low occupancy, the lobby staff service was poor throughout our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear John m,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We apologize for the guest room inconvenience faced during your second stay in our resort. We have communicated your feedback with our rooms director and with our front desk team. We hope you give us another opportunity so we can provide you with the exceptional service you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

We wanted a family weekend trip (our kids are 4 & 8 years old) and loved that there was a pool with a water slide and 24hr room service...HUGE disappointment...the water slide was closed 95% of the time and the pool wait-staff took almost an hour to bring our drinks since they were too busy chatting with each other behind the bar...prices were ridiculously high, the restaurant menu was very limited and the room service selection was a joke. Took almost an hour to get extra pillows & a blanket for the kids...then we got random calls asking if they'd arrived...a bit annoying. Our room wasn't ready for almost an hour past check in time and I am going to have to dispute random charges that cannot be explained...the suite was spacious, and close to the pool, but get ready for a mile hike due to limited parking! But really, considering everything else, really wish we had chosen somewhere else to stay and definitely will not be back here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malissa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Malissa H,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We regret lo learn that your stay was not what you had hoped for and it certainly does not meet the expectations we strive to provide to all of our guests. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences faced at the pool and for the temporary slide closure. We also apologize for all your requests not being executed in a timely manner. We have communicated your feedback to the departments mentioned and will make all the necessary improvements moving forward. Please contact me at randy.zupanski@westin.com if you would like to follow up with me directly. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again so we can provide you with the exceptional service and professionalism you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We were visiting the Westin from Los Angeles. A little mini vacation you could say. I thought being the Westin it would be a great choice. I was wrong.
Basically the service and communication was the most frustrating. I checked in which took half an hour because the girl seem really confused. I don't want to go into the details but she overcharged my visa several times and couldn't explain why. I basically got blank stares. Another issue was that we were in building 16 which was at least a 10 min walk from the main pool. Not a big deal usually but I have a 12 month old baby. When we called to request a shuttle the front desk told us we don't have to call because the drive by frequently. That was not true. We would stand outside for 20 minutes at a time and they were nowhere to be found. I found the staff to be rude. One other thing that happened was when we went to dinner our first night my sister found a hair in her salad.
I'm just shocked that the Westin's service was so poor. We did complain but management did do much to make it better other than apologize. Big deal!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank layuh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Layuh123,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences faced during your stay in our resort. We regret to learn the service provided and your overall experience was not what you had hoped for and it certainly does not meet the expectations we strive to provide to all of our guests. If possible, please contact me at randy.zupanski@westin.com if you would like to follow up with me directly. We truly hope you have the opportunity to join us again so we can provide you with the exceptional service and professionalism you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

I stayed on a busy Saturday night, but I expected a much more peaceful experience. I was lucky to get a beautiful room facing the golf course which I enjoyed. However, I had planned to relax at the pool but that was impossible. The hotel was packed and its pools - all 4 of them including the tiny "adult pool" were completely, insanely, overrun with families, crowds and kids. I would definitely never return here on a busy weekend for this reason although the hotel was very nice the facilities were inadequate when they are sold out as they seem to be most weekends. I am sure that the crowds of the pool would also translate into noise in the rooms facing the pools.

They should make one of the larger pools adults only in my opinion - it would keep noise down at those rooms and provide better options for couples without children and singles to enjoy the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MenOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear MenOnVacation,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We sincerely apologize for the noise inconvenience at all the outlets due to high guest volume. Your feedback is of great importance and we will make the necessary improvements moving forward. We hope you give us another change to provide you with the heavenly experience you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

Love this resort. Great place for couples or the whole family to visit. Events and activities for the kids and adults of all ages. Food and service was AMAZING a Pinzimini, Elizabeth the server was a real pro. made us feel very welcome, in fact all restaurants within the resort are great. Also has a Starbucks on site. Service was EXCELLENT from Valet service to room service. Will definitely return. Really beautiful pool area and the views are to DIE for!!! Can not wait to return!!!

Room Tip: Bldg 7 is very nice stunning views.
See more room tips
Green Features: Excellent!! Had many programs and incentives to be green!!
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jean K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear Jean K,
Thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled to hear you had a fabulous time during your stay with us. We are pleased to know you loved our beautiful grounds, our breathtaking views, our exquisite food and many of the wonderful amenities we have to offer to all of our guests. We are delighted to hear our team did a fantastic job exceeding your expectations by providing you with the exceptional service you deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The hotel, grounds, service and rooms were excellent. All top-notch with no issues. The issue we had was with their unlimited golf package. How it works is you book a room with the package and you golf on the day of arrival and 'unlimited golf' the following day. We booked a regular, non-golf rate for the second night because we had no intention of golfing the last day. We arrived on Sunday, golfed 18, got up Monday, golfed 36 and done. Then stayed another night on the regular rate. Upon checkout, there was a charge on the bill for 'golf' on the day of our 'unlimited' golf (Monday). We tried to explain to the girl at the front desk how the unlimited golf works and there shouldn't have been a charge for Monday golf. She tried to tell us that since our second night was a non-golf rate, we would have to pay for golf Monday. Round and round we went for 10 minutes (with people behind us) until she finally called someone that evidently confirmed that there was no 'unlimited' golf Monday. You only get unlimited golf on the day of arrival. Whaaa? Knowing we were right, we didn't finalize the bill until she VERY RELUCTANTLY agreed to removed the Monday charge for golf. Never did a manager or anyone else show up to straighten anything out or help her. Whomever she called was just as clueless.

The only other minor complaint we had was the lack of breakfast choices. You can either eat at the VERY expensive Pinzimminiiizizizimini...whatever restaurant or get a stale bagel or microwaved McMuffin-like sandwich at Starbucks. A reasonably priced place to get some eggs and bacon would have been nice.

Trying to call today and speak with a manager was just an exercise in frustration. Passed around until I finally gave up and came here.

So if you booked the 'unlimited golf' package, check your bill when you check out and be prepared for a fight.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestinMissionHills, General Manager at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear KH,
Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We are pleased to hear you loved our beautiful resort, our breathtaking views,our heavenly bed experience and the phenomenal service from our team! We care about our guests feedback and will work to implement more breakfast options moving forward so we can have a bigger variety for all of our guests. We apologize for the inconvenience and confusion faced during checkout time. We regret to learn that the service provided at that moment was not what you hoped for. Be assured that we have reviewed this package again with our team to avoid confusion in the future. If possible I would like to follow up with you directly. Please feel free to contact me at randy.zupanski@westin.com. We truly hope you give us another try so we can provide you with the exceptional service and professionalism you expect and deserve!
Be well,

Randy Zupanski
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
4.1 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing