We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, wish we could have stayed longer” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Rancho Mirage
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful, wish we could have stayed longer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

We came to Palm Springs not really knowing what we were coming to or what we would find however, we had a great time and wished we could have stayed longer. The Westin Mission Hills looked beautiful as we drove in - it was all decked out for Thanksgiving/Christmas and the resort was beautiful. There were fountains and pools everywhere. The grass was green, there were flowers and ducks and other small birds. It was sunny and we could see the mountains from the resort. We had breakfast outside on a patio overlooking some nice parts of the hotel.
The really good points - the a/c in the room was virtually silent (and so was everyone else's, making for a quieter night's sleep), the cold buffet breakfast was complimentary, we were given a free spa treatment by the guy running the local radio station (not sure if he is there all the time). The staff were all helpful.
We were surprised by the size of Palm Springs and everything took much longer to get to than expected. However we briefly went to the Indian Canyon and we went out to eat at Cafe Des Beaux-Arts which was again picturesque and very yummy!
The only negative thing about the hotel was the coffee at breakfast which wasn't very nice compared with the coffee in the room! Oh, and internet access had to be paid for. These were very small things compared with the overall experience. We thoroughly enjoyed it and would like to be able to return for a couple more days!
Top tips - the breakfast is only buffet at the weekend - it's a la carte the rest of the week.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireMim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    987
    750
    376
    205
    128
See reviews for
664
726
95
382
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Stayed in the quiet season so plenty of room to relax - it might become crowded in high season. Very clean, excellent service and good value for money.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JKPUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2010

I always read reviews of properties before staying at them, and honestly all the bad reviews I read about the Westin Mission Hills were true.... The pools aren't the cleanest, their were ducks swimming in them. The bed sheets are dirty, poor housekeeping. The bathrooms tiles and tub need updating. The buildings are spread out, so walking to the pools and restaurants are required. I could understand why it would be easy to hear the people in the rooms above and around you. And if you were placed in a room facing the parking lot, you would see lights of cars parking all night.
All that being said, I stayed during slow season. It felt like my wife and I were the only ones there. The room was big, the sheets were dirty but housekeeping fixed that and the manager comped our resort fee charge for all nights. Staff was friendly. The hotel is located down the road from as nice casino, movie theater, and not far from restaurant row, so the location was great for a relaxing getaway. We only paid $110 a night, so with a rate like that, I really can't complain much. I can understand why if it was crowded people would experience many more problems, but are trip was great.
I wouldn't stay here again, but wouldn't say it's not worth trying out if you go to palm springs/palm desert a lot and can get a good rate. Just go when it's not busy.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LASteve1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMacleod1, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 November 2010
Thank you for your recent review. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not the elevating experience that we strive to provide all of our guests. I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the campus style layout of our resort, if you do choose to visit us again I encourage you to make use of our complimentary shuttle - this is a quick and easy way to get around the resort. however we do provide a resort shuttle complimentary for all of our guests. Should you decide to visit us again, please contact me personally at wmhr@westin.com so that I may ensure your time with us is perfect.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

I normally stay in Palm Springs at one of the boutique hotels, but I got a great last minute rate on Priceline via bidding. I was afraid this hotel would be too far away from the great restaurants and hiking in Palm Springs, but it was only a 5-10 minute ride to Palm Springs.

Normally if you book through Priceline, you can expect the worst room the hotel has to offer, and if it was indeed the worst room they gave me, then I would think that all rooms at this Westin are great. My room was huge, and I've stayed in many Starwood properties. You get a huge bedroom space, bathroom space, sitting space, and a patio on top of it. I'm not a golfer, but I found the view of the lush golf course against the desert to be quite beautiful. Some of the other reviewers noted wear and tear in their room, but I didn't see it all. My room seemed pretty pristine.

The resort is huge, but not claustrophobic-huge, just spread out. The pools were stunning, and the landscaping gorgeous. Across the street from the hotel is a large empty lot where I took some great pictures at sunset of the desert landscape and mountains, so aside from the hotel, there is not a lot of commercialization in this area.

The only thing that I could say was negative is that if you do want to go to one of the other buildings, you may have to literally drive there due to the size of the property. So yeah, built in excuse if you want to skip the fitness center! Also, they had the dreaded resort fee - $27.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwatersfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMacleod1, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
Thank you for sharing your review as well as your great photos - it looks like you got some great shots! We love the open air that surrounds our resort and are glad that you did too. Our resort is quite large so just a note for your next visit, we do have a shuttle service that can take you around the resort if you choose. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you back soon.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
125 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

Large hotel with rooms spread out over about 2 story buildings (a 5-10 minute walk from the futherest ones to the main building). No elevators in the buildings. Rooms are much larger than your typical hotel room and are POORLY soundproofed. I've stayed here a few times and each time I've had a ground floor room, it sounds like a basketball team is conducting a marathon dribbling tournament in the room above me. On-site dining choices are limited. Food in the main restaurant is hit or miss. I sent a burger back twice (the ktichen doesn't understand what the word "rare" means). Table service in the bar is inconsistent. Wireless phone reception is TERRIBLE (in your room, in the conference facilities, pretty much everywhere), particularly if you use AT&T. Ths may not be the hotel's fault, but it is a major frustration.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMacleod1, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
We appreciate your recent review, your opinion is very important to us. We are sorry to hear that your time with us was not the renewing experience that we strive to provide all of our guest rooms with. We understand how frustrating poor cell reception can be and I can assure you, we are currently working to fix this is. We are disappointed to hear that you experienced a noisy guest room - please contact us directly at wmhr@westin.com next time you visit so that we may personally ensure that your stay is the relaxing retreat that you deserve. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

We had a fabulous time! The staff was so courteous, the rooms were super and the beds were "heavenly". The pool was a hit with my kids 7 & 9, they loved the slide. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank boykinboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMacleod1, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
We're so happy to hear that you and your children enjoyed your stay with us! The slide is always a big hit with kids, and we're glad they got to try it. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2010

Pros: Nice sized rooms, great front desk service, excellent service express and pool wait staff. Check-in and check-out were really quick and easy. Professional and great front desk staff- handled our housekeeping issue with diplomacy and respect; made us feel heard and turned our dissatisfaction to satisfaction. Main pool area was fun, relaxing, and clean. Food at the pool was terrific- even better than Esmeralda (where we usually like to stay) for comparable prices. Only weird thing was the pool area didn't have showers for guests to shower before/after getting in the pool. Hotel itself- gorgeous architecture! Definitely a great wedding spot.

Cons: Really, only con was the poor job housekeeping did. Hair on our shower curtain; even hair on the face towel by the sink. Gross! But- everything else was pretty good in the room. Rooms have been updated and look nice and was spacey enough to fit our two pack-n-plays. Bathroom was nice sized.

Enjoyed our stay- and will definitely do it again!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank katinSanDiego_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MMacleod1, Director of Sales at Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 12 November 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us. It's great to hear your positive opinion about staff - we work hard to provide all of our guests with the personalized service that they deserve. I apologize for your experience with housekeeping - this is not up to the standard we expect and I can assure you that I will forward this information along to the relevant department. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Be well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Mirage
0.4 mi away
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
The Westin Mission Hills Villas
#2 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Westin Desert Willow Villas
7.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Indian Wells Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Omni Rancho Las Palmas Resort & Spa
4.5 mi away
JW Marriott Desert Springs Resort & Spa
3.2 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
The Ritz-Carlton, Rancho Mirage
#1 of 8 in Rancho Mirage
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa

Property: Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa
Address: 71333 Dinah Shore Dr, Rancho Mirage, CA 92270-1501
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Rancho Mirage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Family Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#3 Business Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Romantic Hotel in Rancho Mirage
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rancho Mirage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa is a Palm Springs resort and hotel where the picturesque mountain views and secluded location create the perfect escape. Our Palm Springs hotel is the perfect place to unwind. Enjoy the best Palm Springs Golf on one of our championship courses, lounge at any of our three pools, splash down our 75-foot waterslide or enjoy a delectable meal at one of our Palm Springs restaurant options, including the on-site restaurant Pinzimini. A soothing sanctuary awaits those looking for a rejuvenating desert retreat with our expansive Palm Springs resort spa featuring treatments for everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Starwood and Odigeo so you can book your Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Mission Hills Hotel Rancho Mirage
Westin Mission Hills Resort And Spa
Westin Rancho Mirage
Palm Springs Westin
Westin Mission Hills Golf Resort & Spa Rancho Mirage, California Desert, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing