We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely resort, but extremely overpriced” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely resort, but extremely overpriced”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This resort is good for healthy young people - everything requires walking great distances and is not well lit at night. Very easy to get lost which requires extra walking. On a positive note, food was excellent. Resort is a bit pricey and the lack of an actual beach is disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NickChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie B, Public Relations Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear NickChick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the amount of walking required and our beach cove. As we are located on 102 acres, the resort does have a number of walking paths and trails. We do however provide golf cart transportation on property via our valet team, for guests upon request as well as a regular shuttle service from the front drive down to Nelson’s. We also offer complimentary valet transportation to the nearby sandy beach, located about 5 minutes south of the resort. We apologize that this information was not shared with you during your stay. We do hope you will come and stay with us again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,039
    529
    222
    115
    113
See reviews for
865
1,003
68
709
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights
The casita was a bit far from the resort. Parking was bad because apparently the employees take up most of the spaces
There is a golf cart service to take you around if needed but they forgot to pick us up twice and one time dropped my wife and kids off at the wrong place because the driver insisted there was only one group function going on but there were actually multiple and our group was on the other side of the hotel
Waited for ice to be delivered and it never arrived. They didn't bother telling me there was an ice machine on the first floor. Found it myself
Kid place is expensive at $20 per hour per child
The beach is lacking. Resort is on a cliff so we were advised to drive up to redondo beach and not use their shoreline
Overall, the room was nice but the service was bad and the resort is about 14miles from the freeway so it isn't that easy to get to places

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie B, Public Relations Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Eddy L,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. Please accept our apologies for the mistakes you encountered. We have sent your review to the hotel management team to review and learn from the experience. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently, I had the opportunity to explore the "College Campus" called Terranea College. I know you've heard of it. Tucked away in the far nessels of the 110/405 freeway surrounded by water. Well if you haven't attended, now is the time to enroll. They are taking requests as I type. This place is a diamond in the rough. I went for a retirement party. We partied in one of the bungalows that is used as a hotel room as well. This room had two huge bedrooms with ocean views, and two full bathrooms, a full kitchen with the appliances and dishes included.You must wash the dishes before you leave. As well as a front porch area where you and your guest can mingle and get some fresh air. The patio was a nice size as well. It came with a table with chairs and umbrella.
Now is the time, what are you waiting for.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being to far front the front desk. They have these cute golf carts that pick y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Recently spent the weekend here, reuniting with friends. We loved the property, didn't leave at all. Beautiful views, plenty of relaxing spots to enjoy a cocktail and pass the day. The adult pool is calm and lovely and the spa services were excellent. Nelsons at night was a treat on the beach with live music.
Warning- it is a BIG resort, and a very busy one for summer weekends. Make dinner reservations, especially if you want to dine outdoors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

This resort perches on the cliffs not far from Long Beach with stunning views out over the Pacific. It's a big place and the cliff paths are great for running or walking. There is a little sandy beach in a nearby cove but it looks man-made and the sand doesn't go right down to the water - switches over to rocks. You could still go into the water if you wanted but I was happy to use one of the four pools on the property. The standard rooms are roomy and clean with all of the amenities you might expect - in-room Keurig, fridge, nice bathroom products - and each has a balcony.

We ate all our meals at different restaurants at the resort and overall the food was excellent. Service from all the staff was quick and very pleasant - the night manager lady was particularly warm and welcoming, which was really nice. I really wish I'd decided to stay an extra day as it is a truly beautiful place. It's expensive, so I'm not sure if I'd come back unless it was part of another business meeting or they offered a deal. Overall a really pleasant experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SavanaRadley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

One of the most picturesque properties I've ever stayed at -- gorgeous landscaping, nature trails, ocean bluffs. The weather in SoCal is typically awesome anyway, and this resort takes full advantage. It's huge, and somewhat spread out, but there are amenities too many to mention, and a new photo op around every corner. It has a relaxed elegance that I've seen only a few other places.

Service was fine, although instead of offering champagne upon check-in (or water, your choice), I'd allocate some of those budget $$ to higher quality t.p. -- it's two-ply but not of the quality I would expect for the rates this place charges. The only other drawback were the standard rooms. I had a double which was very comfortable and clean but the décor almost reminded me of a beach hotel, with seashell light fixtures. Just kind of plain, though the bathrooms are very spacious. Room had mini fridge which was great, and the hotel has a complimentary shuttle that runs within 5 mile radius of hotel, so you can get a few groceries if needed.

Room service prices are normal for 5-star property -- there are a range of dining options on property also. For those with deep pockets, there are activities available including horseback riding, kayaking, and falconry (yes, falconry). The fitness center was very good and it was nice having different pools to choose from.

Would definitely stay again on someone else's dime, but with rates over $450/night I just could not justify it on my own. For those with money to burn, get a villa or a suite...the standard rooms are just nothing special.

Oh, for those interested, taxi is about $70, and airport shuttle is about $30.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelPics825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

The location and views are beautiful, comparable to Montage in Laguna. However, the prices are also similar to the Montage, through the service, level of attention by the staff, and food quality are not comparable. At $600-700 a night, this place is way overpriced. I really like this place, but it is more like a $400/nt hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onefastdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,677 reviews
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing