We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five Star Location. One Star Service.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terranea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Terranea Resort
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Five Star Location. One Star Service.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

What a beautiful locale - Right on the Pacific Ocean overlooking Catalina Island over the cliffs with wonderful walking paths and unspoiled natural environment.

What a disappointing resort - In oh so many ways. Here's a few highlights:

1. We booked a room in the Casitas which are separate from the main hotel property. They offer a bit of seclusion, larger than average outside porches overlooking the ocean, and views that can't be beat. But....in taking the short walk to our room every day, there's an area where sewage smell permeates the air. It's there every day. It's strong and disgusting. The odor of rotting farts is a real downer when you're at what should be a five star hotel.

2. Breakfast at the Catalina Kitchen leaves much to be desired if you expect to be served. We were seated fairly promptly but waited and waited for someone to take our order. After a good fifteen minutes I finally got up and tracked down the manager and requested we get some attention. We told her we were both just going to do the buffet but would like some coffee and tea as well. She promised it would be waiting for us when we got back to our seats after going to the buffet. She lied. After another fifteen minutes and after we were about done with breakfast, I tracked down a waiter (the manager was nowhere to be found) and finally got the coffee and tea we were hoping to enjoy with our breakfast. The manager did stop by to apologize, but she should have comp'ed our meal give the complete lack of service we received.

3. On day three, we get back to our room after a day of exploration and find that there is exactly one towel in our room. Um, there's two of us.

4. We have dinner at Nelsons on Tuesday night. All you can eat taco night. I order the taco's; my wife orders a salad. We also order wings as an appetizer. The salad shows up before the wings. I go to the taco bar to find that they are disgusting. The meat is floating in grease. There is no chees or lettuce. The tortillas are 3 inches in diameter and chewy. The wings finally arrive mid-meal. They are covered in so much buffalo sauce we can't pick them up without getting covered in goo. Ninety dollars later we are still hungry, as the food was just gross.

5. The smog. I can't blame this on the resort, but if you're hoping to see Catalina Island, the odds are you'll just be able to make out the shape once in a while. The smog over the ocean is so bad that even the views are disappointing.

6. The pool. Cloudy. Lots of obnoxious kids. We went tot the adult pool instead. There's no hot tub at the adult pool though. And the bar closes at five.

Overall, this resort has all the promise of a five star location. It's run by a one-star management team. All I can hope is that Marriott buys it once it goes out of business. Only then will it reach its true potential.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pdiroquois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie B, Public Relations Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Pdiroquois,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are happy you enjoyed the beautiful location and natural environment. We are very sorry to hear that you encountered a number of service opportunities during your stay. Please accept our apologies. We have sent your review to the hotel management team to review and would like to personally follow up with you. If you can provide your preferred contact information either through a direct message or an email (terraneasocial (at) destinationhotels .com), that would be really helpful. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,042
    529
    222
    117
    113
See reviews for
866
1,005
68
710
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (650)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Twinsburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I was on business in LA and all the hotels downtown were sold out. I had to meet a client in Palos Verdes and he suggested this resort. WOW! If you don't mind dropping a "dime" go for it!!! The view is amazing and the ride up to the resort is truly what you expect in southern California.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the Pacific
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveljava57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clara, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

This was hands down the most amazing resort stay I have had, and though I often forget to write reviews, this is one I did not want to forget. Just for comparison, this past year we stayed on our 20th anniversary at the Four Seasons in Hawaii, which at the time we thought was as good as any resort anywhere could get for service, food, etc. (and at that insane price it better be). However, on our recent visit Terranea actually beat that stay for perfecting the equation that balances staff professionalism with genuine warmth and welcoming. We were there for 3 days, I never left the property (you won't either), and literally every single staff person we encountered was amazing and went out of their way to make our stay unforgettable. They would even smile and say hi to us on the walking paths.

Our visit started when I called in a panic looking for a reservation starting THAT NIGHT, in the high season, because our previous hotel had a horrible insect infestation. Paul at the front desk not only found me a room, but gave me a complementary upgrade, and when we arrived at 1am exhausted, the staff were waiting for us at the desk with chilled champagne. They had also put a bottle of wine and a second bottle of champagne in the room, with a handwritten note. The room was simply incredible, the view was sublime. (Only nitpick on the room: the bathroom door is poorly designed, it does not stay open on its own and opens awkardly into the room. Might want to fix that on the next renovation, not that the rooms need one yet...)

The location is on a cliffside right on the ocean, though there are several trails down to the water, don't expect a big sandy beach. But the views are stunning, we saw pods of dolphins, seals, all kinds of seabirds passing by. The pools are lovely (nitpick #2: the adult pool should be open weekdays during the summer, and they should limit the loud/bad club music at the adult pool. The resort is too classy and relaxing to be creating an ambience that drives away anyone but 20 year old Vegas party kids). Fortunately there is a spa pool that's just a big, quiet, serene oasis, and we spent every day there reading, swimming and relaxing. The spa staff were great too. Oh and yes, the restaurants. There are 5 or 6 on the property depending on how you count, and every one was fantastic, from the casual (Nelson's) to the not (Mar 'Sel). The one off note with the dining was they have a Lobby Bar that has a special 'Prohibition'-type happy hour, and the woman tending bar had no idea how to make any classic cocktail that was not on the limited menu, and even those weren't made well. If you're going to try to appeal to the new craft cocktail crowd, your bartender better know what craft/classic cocktails are and how to make them properly (and using measures, not sloppy free-pouring.) What was strange is that the bars in the restaurants - Mar Sel, the Asian tapas place and even Norman's made great drinks. The bartender at Mar Sel was young but really talented.

Overall, I didn't want to leave (which was great because the concierge happily gave us a late checkout), and I already want to go back. Believe the other 5 star reviews here - whoever manages this place has created something really special.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

This resort is good for healthy young people - everything requires walking great distances and is not well lit at night. Very easy to get lost which requires extra walking. On a positive note, food was excellent. Resort is a bit pricey and the lack of an actual beach is disappointing.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank NickChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie B, Public Relations Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear NickChick,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed by the amount of walking required and our beach cove. As we are located on 102 acres, the resort does have a number of walking paths and trails. We do however provide golf cart transportation on property via our valet team, for guests upon request as well as a regular shuttle service from the front drive down to Nelson’s. We also offer complimentary valet transportation to the nearby sandy beach, located about 5 minutes south of the resort. We apologize that this information was not shared with you during your stay. We do hope you will come and stay with us again, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights
The casita was a bit far from the resort. Parking was bad because apparently the employees take up most of the spaces
There is a golf cart service to take you around if needed but they forgot to pick us up twice and one time dropped my wife and kids off at the wrong place because the driver insisted there was only one group function going on but there were actually multiple and our group was on the other side of the hotel
Waited for ice to be delivered and it never arrived. They didn't bother telling me there was an ice machine on the first floor. Found it myself
Kid place is expensive at $20 per hour per child
The beach is lacking. Resort is on a cliff so we were advised to drive up to redondo beach and not use their shoreline
Overall, the room was nice but the service was bad and the resort is about 14miles from the freeway so it isn't that easy to get to places

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eddy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie B, Public Relations Manager at Terranea Resort, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Eddy L,
Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. Please accept our apologies for the mistakes you encountered. We have sent your review to the hotel management team to review and learn from the experience. We hope you will come back and visit us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Recently, I had the opportunity to explore the "College Campus" called Terranea College. I know you've heard of it. Tucked away in the far nessels of the 110/405 freeway surrounded by water. Well if you haven't attended, now is the time to enroll. They are taking requests as I type. This place is a diamond in the rough. I went for a retirement party. We partied in one of the bungalows that is used as a hotel room as well. This room had two huge bedrooms with ocean views, and two full bathrooms, a full kitchen with the appliances and dishes included.You must wash the dishes before you leave. As well as a front porch area where you and your guest can mingle and get some fresh air. The patio was a nice size as well. It came with a table with chairs and umbrella.
Now is the time, what are you waiting for.

Room Tip: Don't worry about being to far front the front desk. They have these cute golf carts that pick y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Recently spent the weekend here, reuniting with friends. We loved the property, didn't leave at all. Beautiful views, plenty of relaxing spots to enjoy a cocktail and pass the day. The adult pool is calm and lovely and the spa services were excellent. Nelsons at night was a treat on the beach with live music.
Warning- it is a BIG resort, and a very busy one for summer weekends. Make dinner reservations, especially if you want to dine outdoors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bunnymoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Palos Verdes
Hyatt Regency Huntington Beach R...
#1 of 22 in Huntington Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Santa Monica
Shore Hotel
Shore Hotel
#2 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,678 reviews
Santa Monica
Shutters on the Beach
Shutters on the Beach
#4 of 36 in Santa Monica
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Westside
Hotel Bel-Air
Hotel Bel-Air
#1 of 348 in Los Angeles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
The Peninsula Beverly Hills
#2 of 15 in Beverly Hills
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Beverly Hills
The Beverly Hills Hotel
The Beverly Hills Hotel
#1 of 15 in Beverly Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terranea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terranea Resort

Property: Terranea Resort
Address: 100 Terranea Way, Rancho Palos Verdes, CA 90275-1013
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Rancho Palos Verdes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rancho Palos Verdes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Terranea Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 582
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Terranea Resort blends beautifully into an oceanfront promontory on the Palos Verdes Peninsula. Located just 20 miles from Los Angeles International Airport (LAX), the 582-room resort includes guestrooms, suites, bungalows, casitas and villas and a host of world-class amenities with 135,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. This Earth-friendly, picturesque Mediterranean-style resort offers guests spectacular Farm-to-Terranea dining venues, a world-class spa, four oceanfront pools, and a family-friendly nine-hole par-3 golf course with short-game practice facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Terranea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terranea Hotel Rancho Palos Verdes
Terranea Resort Rancho Palos Verdes, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing