We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Property”
Review of Rancho Valencia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rancho Valencia
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Everything about this property was lovely. Our room was luxurious and well appointed. Every interaction with the staff was wonderful and they provided top notch service but weren't stuffy. The private outdoor spa and patio were the icing on the cake! Make sure to visit the Spa - our treatments were heavenly. The Pony Bar was also a great place to wind down from the day and we loved the long list of specialty cocktails. We can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: My guess is all of their rooms are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 307 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

My wife and I just celebrated our 21st anniversary at Rancho Valencia and had a fantastic time! Our room was beautiful...about 900 sq. ft with a quite patio area. We ate in the Pony Room each night at the bar and both Angela and Ted behind the bar were great! They mixed some fantastic drinks for us but best of all, we had some great conversations. The food in both the Pony Room and Veladora was amazing! I travel quite a bit so a property's fitness center is important to me. Rancho Valencia's is one of the best! Next time I need to try the spa. Upon check-in Caroline was great as she gave us the low down on the entire resort. The resort has a great activity where you can test drive a Porsche for up to four hours a day. Didn't take advantage of it this time but next time we definitely will! I would highly recommend this property to anybody looking to just hang out and relax while in the San Diego area.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank moliver64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for one reason, it looked so good on-line that we just had to stay here. We felt that the hotel had exactly the kind of setting and style that we really enjoy most, so we booked our stay with high expectations. In short, this place was perfect for us.

Everything was as nice as it looked on-line. We stayed in an Olive Grove Suite so that we would have a nice view and our own outdoor whirlpool spa. Both were worth the extra money. The suite was wonderful and comfortable with a spacious sleeping area and a step down living room with a couch and chair. The design look was charming with features such as dark hardwood flooring, wood beamed vaulted ceiling, and adobe gas fireplace. Large windows and doors in this corner suite created a great indoor outdoor environment. Besides the whirlpool, the large terrace included lounge chairs, a large umbrella, and a nice seating area. The bathroom was very cool with a stylish mod look with luxurious features including a high tech toilet. A walk-in closet allowed you to keep your personal items out of sight. The suite was divine inside and out, all redone to a high standard and the kind of place you just want to hang out and enjoy as much as you can.

But you need to leave to also enjoy the beautiful spa complex that is set in a rambling hacienda style building. After entering, you will enjoy exploring the hidden treasures of the building such as lush courtyards, indoor and outdoor seating areas with fireplaces, and much more all set within charming and atmospheric architecture. A full gym is located on the second floor and is one of the best hotel gym settings we have ever seen. There are even lots of French doors that open to terraces with more equipment. The spa pool is very nice and also in a great setting, but noise from nearby classes can break the tranquility. It should also be noted that this spa is used as a club for local residents and you may feel like the outsider as everyone seems to know each other. There is also a separate main pool option which is also very nice.

The main building of the hotel is also a very attractive hacienda style building with an outdoor courtyard with fireplace, restaurant, bar, both of which have very nice interior space. We had breakfast in the restaurant each morning and were very pleased with the experience.

Your stay here comes with some extra bonuses which we enjoyed including orange juice and paper delivered to your suite each morning, free access to the goodies in the mini-bar, complementary internet, and use of the spa complex and classes at no additional cost. Of course the hotel is expensive to stay at, but it’s nice that you also get these benefits that are still add-ons at many other hotels.

The only area of the hotel that was a little bit of a letdown was the exterior look of the room structures which lack some of the charm of the public spaces, and parking areas which show their age. The grounds, that while nice, were a little bit lacking - could be because of the drought.

We made a special trip just to stay at this hotel, it was well worth it, and we will be back.

Room Tip: The Olive Grove suites are worth the extra money, have great views and extra privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J_and_A_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place has it all. Even the nice touches for your pet if you bring one. Never too crowded, a hidden gem for sure. Only negative is it is a bit off the beaten path.Great food, gracious service and enormous rooms await yOur stay. You will need a car howevere if you want to do any sightseeing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J Patrick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here around Cinco de Mayo for a few nights. It was as good as I hoped it would be! I had a short list of places we could go but this was top of my list and it didn't disappoint!
The service, from Front Desk to Housekeeping to Restaurant Staff, was impeccable, the food at both Veladora and The Pony Room was delicious, and the villa was divine! We stayed in one that had a heated spa outside and we were in it every night! The villas had so much space, they were unbelievable - as was the computerised toilet with toilet seat that lifted up as you approached! The steam button in the shower was a great touch too - I want one in my home!
We attended complimentary yoga and had a (complimentary) hit of tennis in their immaculate tennis courts. We also had a couple's massage at their spa which was very good.
The only unfortunate incident was that my partner's little red brush inexplicably went missing after our room was tidied. We thought perhaps it got accidentally bundled up with towels because of its size. The housekeeping team were excellent however and searched high and low to find it (even going through bins!) alas, to no avail...
I would not hesitate to recommend this resort and I can see why it has been nominated in the top 10 resorts in the US, you'll have a wonderful time!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Yalin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Rancho Valencia is everything you'd expect from a 5 star resorts, plus more. Little touches were appreciated...complimentary valet parking, complimentary snacks & beverages in room, complimentary poolside drinks, complimentary use of spa and fitness (no resort fee). Very classy.

Having not stayed at the resort prior to the major renovation, I can't speak to what it was before, but as a first time guest, everything was done ip so well. Beautiful resort, gorgeous public areas, stunning villas, amazing grounds.

The resort also serves as a country club - memberships are sold. Members have charging privileges and they use all of the resort; gym, spa, tennis courts, restaurants, pools.

The amazing spa and fitness center is great, but if you want to take an exercise class, sign up before you arrive. The class size is limited, and members have to sign up too....there is usually only 1 spot per class reserved for resort guests. Pilates and yoga each have their own studio, and they gym is busy but never crowded. Extremely well done. The members all know each other and are very friendly and inviting.

The tennis center is world class. So many courts for such a small resort, so there was never a problem getting available courts. One of the pros also has his teenage wunder kin sons around available to hit, and those boys are excellent and strong players.

Front desk was amazing...friendly and helpful, and thankfully not pretentious. Valet was also top notch.

Restaurant service is not quite up to par...the staff seemed a little inexperienced, but were as nice as could be, apologizing for the wait and the lost reservation. Room service was spot on as was poolside dining.

The grounds are magnificent...there wasn't a wilted flower to be found, yet we never saw or heard the landscape staff...congrats!

We stayed in the 1 bedroom villa...gorgeous, spacious, everything we had hoped for. Pleasantly surprised by the size of the backyard patio...complete full size patio set with umbrella, and 2 chaise lounges and side table on the patio, all with room to still move around.

The resort was fully booked, and although we always saw people in the public places; restaurants, gym, tennis, pool, we never seemed to see anyone around the villas, which gave us so much privacy.

Great choice for a family trip with 2 teenagers! Kids are still talking about the awesome toilet! Once you've stayed here, you will appreciate the comment...Planning on a Girls Weekend there soon!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriMu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My husband and I recently traveled to Rancho Valencia for a long weekend for a special birthday of mine. To say that our experience at the property was second to none, would be a gross understatement. It was absolutely sensational. From the moment we drove up to the entry gates we were greeted with cheerful smiles and exceptional service. This continued throughout our entire three night stay.

The facilities are perfection, they look as if they are constantly being updated. We stayed in an Agave Suite with a stunning en suite bathroom and was beautifully decorated. Each morning you are greeted with fresh squeezed orange juice and your selection of newspapers outside your casita...how bad could that be? The grounds are majestic, green, lush, and perfectly imperfect. There is a Florida Fig Tree on site that's not to be believed!

We took advantage of the many fitness classes which are included in your stay at the hotel. The instructors were knowledgeable and energetic and all the participants were exceptionally friendly and warm. Don't miss out on the classes!

The spa services and providers are some of the best I have ever experienced. And to top it off...a green juice is presented to you post-service.

Overall, I would not hesitate to recommend Rancho Valencia to anyone and I can easily say it is one of the best vacations I have ever had! I can not wait to go back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsmackoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Santa Fe
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,194 reviews
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pacific Beach
Pacific Terrace Hotel
Pacific Terrace Hotel
#6 of 278 in San Diego
2,043 reviews
Fairmont Grand Del Mar
#2 of 278 in San Diego
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Valencia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Valencia

Address: 5921 Valencia Cir, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067-9520
Region: United States > California > Rancho Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Price Range: £449 - £2,832 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rancho Valencia 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 45 lush acres in Rancho Santa Fe, California, the timeless Rancho Valencia is a Mediterranean sanctuary far from the ordinary, combining gracious hospitality and inspired luxury. An all-suite Relais & Châteaux property hand-selected by U.S. News & World Report the #1 resort in California (2017) this world-class destination offers 49 luxuriously appointed casitas with private patios, stunning three bedroom villas, rejuvenating spa treatments, a wellness-oriented fitness program, two distinctive restaurants, a world-renowned tennis program and more. In recent years, Rancho Valencia has been honored with the AAA Five Diamond Award (2017, 2016, 2015), the Forbes Five-Star Award (2017, 2016, 2015), and has enjoyed placement on the Condé Nast Traveler Gold List (2015). The resort has also received the Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award twice (2016, 2015) as well as multiple Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards (2016) including #1 in Southern California and #15 in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Rancho Valencia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Valencia, An Auberge Hotel Rancho Santa Fe
Rancho Valencia Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing