We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven at California's earth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is like a heaven on the earth.
We have arrived at very late evening, but even at this time you can recognize beauty of Rancho Valencia setting. Huge territory, a lot of well kept green fields and trees and at the end spacious, quiet casitas, with almost soundless AC system.
In the morning we have discovered nice patio type breakfast room, relaxing outdoor adults pool and ... a lot of service oriented Rancho Valencia employees, with smiles on their faces. We had dinners at all three eating places : Veladora, Pony and Wine Room. The last one is a private dining option with menu from Veladora, but worth to book, as ambience is very elegant and unforgettable.
For sure, we will try to come back to this lovely place, which guarentees total relaxation

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank XXXPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (317)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

204 - 210 of 317 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

This is a great place. We stayed for over a week and felt completely at home. The casitas are very spacious and well appointed and the extras provide a nice touch - fresh orange juice in the mornings, inclusion of breakfast, complimentary snacks and soft drinks, and guest laundries scattered around the property make you feel that your custom is appreciated. The food is of a high standard, as you would expect from a Relais & Chateaux member. Due to the fact that it is a great property, it is a very popular venue for functions and clearly a favourite gathering spot for locals - this can lead to frustration as a guest when you are unable to get a table or a spot at the bar/casual dining area. The staff are very friendly and service is generally good - being the holiday season, a lot of the serving staff seemed to be students doing a vac job without the relevant depth of knowledge you'd expect from an exclusive resort. Our experience of the concierge service was patchy, depending on who was behind the desk at the time. A frustrating niggle was that the wifi, although complimentary, kept dropping off and required you to constantly re- log in. All in all though, we had a fantastic stay and we will definitely visit again in the near future.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Dudleyfields1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

The property is completely “chill” and lacking in any pretense. The rooms (and bathrooms) are spacious and quiet, with excellent privacy. Our first night we had dinner in the main restaurant, and it was just fantastic. The next night we had room service, and it was just as good. The food arrived perfectly prepared, with great flavor and generous portions. My wife ordered a pizza, and it was fully gourmet and bursting with flavor. Both days we hung out at the adult pool, and the poolside service there is excellent. The spa is beautiful, and tennis and exercise courts leave nothing to be desired. Every detail is maintained to perfection, and you can see the major investment that the new owners made at every turn. It’s a 10, and great for our stay-cation or if you are coming from out of town.

Room Tip: I would stay away from the rooms that are adjacent to the residential neighborhood, as two of the ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DavidMarino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our friends treated us to a weekend stay at Rancho Valencia. It is a lovely property to be sure, and our room, which was an expensive suite, was beautiful, but something was missing. The pros: free mini-bar as other reviews have stated but nothing special in it -- the usual candy/fruit bars, chips, etc., soda. The internet is free but we had issues with it in some of the outside areas. The breakfast which came with our room as we had an American Express platinum package was really terrific. Complaints? First the directions GPS on their website is just wrong. Once we got off the freeway and headed inland we were followed the GPS to the letter and ended up at a private residence. We tried again, and then called the hotel. We were given a long-winded set of directions (the girl we spoke did try) and finally used our own GPS app (Waze, highly recommended by the way) to get there. It took us almost 35 minutes to figure out how to get to the hotel which is tucked away. If you know the area you're in good shape- we didn't and were thoroughly annoyed by the time we arrived. Our friends had the same issue but a less satisfactory experience when calling the desk. The staff is relatively young and very friendly but not experienced and it shows. The bathroom at the pool was out of toilet paper, and then the toilet went on the blink- there were no handtowels or tissue. When we mentioned it to the 4 young people who giving out smoothies and helping with towels they told us the toilet isn't their department. Picky I know but for an allegedly 5 star hotel we just expect over the top greatness. This was very nice, I would recommend it but it isn't over the to great. For the $1,000 per night room it should have been.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank frtsam2la
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We have been wanting to find an excuse to stay here after reading great reviews and Andrew Harper's number 1 rating last year. That opportunity came when we attended a wedding there in mid July and stayed a couple of days.
Location:perfect. just a few miles inland from Del Mar. Out of coastal fog, but not so far inland to be too hot.
Property: Perfect: Large property, but few rooms. Very quite property. Rooms organized in buildings housing two units, duplex style. Spa, gym large and well staffed and equipped. rooms all oversized and very comfortable. Nice vistas from most rooms and walks on the property.
Staff: Perfect. Young, but well trained and guest focused throughout.
Restaurant and Bar: Perfect. Great food and relatively reasonable. Good service and friendly. Very San Diego casual. A very active scene during our stay as local residents use the rest. and bar. Sunday brunch very popular.
As with other reviews we loved the orange juice-fresh squeezed with a paper each morning AND the complimentary snacks and non-alcoholic drinks. Classy.
Porsche: Perfect. Choice to book a four drive of four different 2014 models. Free
Wedding:Perfect. We hope the marriage will be as well. Staff made the ceremony, dinner and dancing very special. Great place for a wedding and reception.
All and all perfect place for a stay in San Diego. We have stayed many places in San Diego and Rancho Valencia edges out The Grand Del Mar as our # 1 for a fun, but relaxing few days of vacation.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong with any room,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler234280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The philosophy of how a 5 star hotel should work:
Step 1. Gouge me on the price of the room. This place is a 5 star resort, the rooms are expensive, but at least I know this up front.
Step 2. Give me free mini bar, its the best part of the hotel experience. Hotels that gouge you on $9 pretzels, ruin the whole illusion of vacation.
Step 3. Give me reasonably priced room service. Ok, room service is really the best part. I was shocked when got our room service bill. No crazy delivery fee, no crazy extra charges. Dinner for 2 for less than $50 TOTAL.
Along with chocolates on the bed, free minibar and reasonably priced great tasting room service, all this makes the price you paid to stay here, so much easier to digest.

And everything else you would expect: great service, beautiful settings and updated, large luxurious rooms.

My only complaint, I could not get my room cold enough.

Can't wait to come back !

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank CDUB212121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This was our first time to Rancho Valencia and we were bereft with grief on our departure. You feel like you’re driving into a preserve of some sort. I was watching for a turkey to come down the hill, of course, it would have tennis racket in hand.

Grounds carpeted in lush “ take your clothes off and roll around” grass accented by beautiful Asian trees draping their canopy to offer a cool respite from the summer heat. The tastefully appointed décor of the lobby plaza assured us we’d made the right choice.

In the past, we’ve stayed at the Inn at Rancho Santa Fe and don’t get me wrong that’s a nice property as well, especially for the price. In comparison, they’re apples and oranges. Valencia is an Eames and the Inn a lazy-boy both comfortable just different styles.

Everyone at Valencia is so affable and calls you by name, which always hits home with me. They’re also not hard to look at if you catch my drift. The ladies are beautiful and my better half was not disappointed with the stags on the staff. We were particularly fond of Ted our bartender. Just the nicest guy you could hope to meet with a most pleasant disposition. We ended every night with a visit. Thank you Ted .

We loved the location of Valencia. 5/10 minutes to Del Mar and the same for going up to Mille Fleurs in Rancho Santa Fe, our favorite restaurant (that’s another review).

We stayed in the Olive Grove suite. Absolutely lovely with a very private terrace (to enjoy our complimentary fresh squeezed orange juice every morning) , outside hot tub, fireplace, and bed with sheets so soft you feel like you’re in your mother’s womb. I just can’t say enough about how comfortable the accommodations are here. I could easily stay a month and not feel squished or anxious.

So you may be wondering about my title. I know that may be a peculiar lead but never in my life has technology taken hold of me in an arena that I hold sacred. The TOTO Neorest commode is about the damnedest invention I’ve ever seen. I was unpacking upon our arrival when my split apart screamed from the water closet. “HONEY” It was her roach scream so I approached armed with my newspaper. Then I realized she was laughing.
“What’s wrong?”
“ You have to use this toilet.”
“Whatever do you mean?”
She directed my eyes to a peculiar remote attached horizontally above the paper roll.
“ Just go to the bathroom.”
Don’t have to ask me twice. Not to be gross but if using the loo was a form of art, I’d be Picasso although Dali might be more appropriate here because this was surreal. You step in the WC and the TOTO senses you and lifts the lid like a yawning lion. Unbelievable in it’s own right, then you sit and the damn seat is heated which I’ve never experienced unless I followed my uncle John after Sunday supper. So I do my business and finish up in the conventional manner and hit rear clean. All of the sudden, my bottom is awash with oscillating streams of warm water cleaning my bum. If you prefer pulsating, you can try that setting too. Pressure? Soft or Hard. All done? Well time to hit the Dryer button and be soothed by cooling air. It was the most amazing thing I’ve ever seen. Andrea was sick of hearing my talk about but I know she really dug it too. I can’t wait to get home and tell all my friends. Whoever you are at TOTO thank you from the bottom of my heart (or should that read the heart of my bottom), and thank you Rancho Valencia for an amazing experience on every front. No stone is unturned a true slice of heaven

We’ll definitely be back again and hopefully soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Lee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rancho Santa Fe
2.2 mi away
The Inn at Rancho Santa Fe, A Tribute Portfolio Hotel
11.1 mi away
Pantai Inn
Pantai Inn
#1 of 24 in La Jolla
1,096 reviews
11.1 mi away
La Valencia Hotel
La Valencia Hotel
#5 of 24 in La Jolla
1,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Four Seasons Residence Club Aviara, Carlsbad Ca.
8.4 mi away
Omni La Costa Resort & Spa
7.4 mi away
Rancho Bernardo Inn
Rancho Bernardo Inn
#22 of 286 in San Diego
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa

Address: 5921 Valencia Cir, Rancho Santa Fe, CA 92067-9520
Region: United States > California > Rancho Santa Fe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Rancho Santa Fe
Price Range: £444 - £1,218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on 45 lush acres in Rancho Santa Fe, California, the timeless Rancho Valencia is a Mediterranean sanctuary far from the ordinary, combining gracious hospitality and inspired luxury. An all-suite Relais & Châteaux property hand-selected by U.S. News & World Report the #1 resort in California (2017) this world-class destination offers 49 luxuriously appointed casitas with private patios, stunning three bedroom villas, rejuvenating spa treatments, a wellness-oriented fitness program, two distinctive restaurants, a world-renowned tennis program and more. In recent years, Rancho Valencia has been honored with the AAA Five Diamond Award (2017, 2016, 2015), the Forbes Five-Star Award (2017, 2016, 2015), and has enjoyed placement on the Condé Nast Traveler Gold List (2015). The resort has also received the Condé Nast Traveler Readers' Choice Award twice (2016, 2015) as well as multiple Travel + Leisure World's Best Awards (2016) including #1 in Southern California and #15 in the United States. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Rancho Valencia Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rancho Valencia, An Auberge Hotel Rancho Santa Fe
Rancho Valencia Santa Fe

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing