We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Voted Best Motel by Jed and John”
Review of Sportsman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sportsman Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Toward the end of our last 10-day motorcycle trip, my friend and I experienced simultaneous mechanical problems, requiring us to stop two days for repairs in Red Bluff . We stayed at the Sportsman Lodge. The rooms are inexpensive, clean, comfortable, and spacious enough to accommodate us and all our gear. Everything worked and there was shampoo, soap and plenty of towels in the bathroom. The manager is a very friendly, personable Giants fan. He offered us a set of towels to clean the road grime from our bikes. On his recommendation, we ate at the restaurant across the street. On the instruction of the manager at the Sportsman, we told the waitress he had referred us there, and we got a 10% discount off our meal. When the repairs were completed, he manager gave us a ride to the motorcycle shop. We've stayed in many motels over the years; only a few can match the quality and friendliness of the service here. If you need a place to stay in Red Bluff, stay at the Sportsman.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

We were driving back from Oregon and just needed a place to stay so stop at The Sportsman Lodge. There is a reason this hotel is on $60 a night. Yes, as the previous reviews mention the owner is very nice. And they do allow pets. But it was like being in a bad 80s movie where the cop and his prisoner have to stop for a night and the get raided by mobsters. It wasn't clean and even our 60 lb. ridgeback was nervous to be there. It's worth spending extra money to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gayleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

My husband & I have been traveling on the road for 10 weeks going cross country & have stayed in MANY hotels. This was one of the cleaner ones. The price was VERY affordable & the people working there were VERY friendly, courteous & helpful. Would HIGHLY recommend this hotel to anyone!!

Room Tip: Even if the price is low it doesn't mean the room will be horrible. We found this hotel by using...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

Motel is in great need of repair and updating. Carpet was dirty - I kept my socks on - did not want to step on the carpet with bare feet. So glad to leave in the morning!

I do not understand all of the very positive reviews. I selected this motel based on the positive reviews. Beware!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frequenttraveler6210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

The rooms, though a bit antiquated, were spacious and comfortable. The owner was very friendly and helpful. Great value for those looking to spend the night in the area. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler47369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I was visiting Red Bluff with my colleagues from work and we came across this excellent motel. We stayed their for 4 days and the stay was very good we all have gone back 3 times to date. The owner was great and very, very nice. We all had a great time staying there. One time our car ran out of battery and he jumpstarted it so we could make it to a car repair shop. He was always very helpful. Excellent place.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

My family and I went to Red Bluff for 3 days at the Sportsman Lodge and it was spectacular! The rooms had plenty of space, the furniture was very nice and comfortable, and the owner was polite and very helpful. When we needed help he was always there to offer support. I will definitively be going there the next time i am in Red Bluff!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mason S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Bluff hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Bluff - South Redding Area
1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#5 of 16 in Red Bluff
322 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Red Bluff
Travelodge Red Bluff
#8 of 16 in Red Bluff
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Red Bluff
2 mi away
Classic Inn
Classic Inn
#12 of 16 in Red Bluff
28 reviews
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Lodge

Address: 768 Antelope Blvd, Red Bluff, CA 96080-8834
Region: United States > California > Red Bluff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Price Range: £40 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sportsman Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 king bed, 2 queen beds, 3 beds, pets welcome $+, all rooms are on ground floor, free parking, in-room coffee, microwave/fridge, HBO, Hairdryer, large rooms, wireless internet. Next door to Fairgrounds. Gateway to Lassen National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Atrapalo and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sportsman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing