We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Enough”
Review of Sportsman Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sportsman Lodge
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Quincy
Level Contributor
43 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Decent Enough”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

This was a one night stay over, great price, room was clean, but for a spot on the carpet, pool was nice, good restaurants very close, would stay here again. I liked the unique floor plan, the entire bathroom could be closed off.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank creativetattedwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BHARAT J, Owner at Sportsman Lodge, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank You Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    13
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
11
16
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I can't say enough great things, The Sportsman Lodge so brings back awesome memories. Dated yes, but so nice to have those awesome childhood memories, Our room was clean, cozy, and Barry was so accommodating, he had our air conditioning on before we arrived so that our room would be comfortable. My husband and I have traveled over 1,200 miles in less then a week and I have got to say the Sportsman Lodge is one of our favorites. We will be back for sure...... Oh and the restaurant across the street was awesome, Barry recommended it ...... Thank you Barry for an unforgettable pleasant stay ......

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sicchik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa
1 review
Reviewed 5 August 2013

This is a great place to stay. It's older, (think your parent's or grandparent's motel) but a good one. Rooms are large, bed nice and firm, and its clean and cool. Cool is important in Red Bluff in the summer time. I travel here on business. I like the in room refrigerator, the microwave and the in room morning coffee, and the free internet. I've stayed at other places in this town and have had bad experiences. The Sportsman is my favorite, hands down.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

After reading all the good reviews about the Sportsman Lodge, I didn't hesitate booking a room. Unfortunately, the room was just not clean. The carpet was dirty, the towels were thin and shabby and the furniture was quite outdated. The coffee maker was yucky and brown, we didn't want to use it. It was definately not worth $73. I wouldn't recommend this place for this money. If it's only to rest and get some sleep and the night's less than $60, I would do it. Otherwise, I would look for something else. However, the owner was nice and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ReginaSch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Unfortunately this place just wasn't clean, which is a major issue for me. There was a ton of soap scum and mildew in the shower. Even the sink was covered in scum, which is really unacceptable. The blanket on the bed was torn up and the television was so old that the color was quite noticeably off. Everything was old, and that would have been fine if it had been kept up and was clean. For what we paid and from the reviews, I really expected better. It was in a quiet location if that is important to you. The one bonus was 10% off the restaurant across the street. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimmyKim71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Placerville, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 December 2012

We stayed here on our way to Oregon. Great value, kind service. Very clean. I enjoyed the comfy chair with foot stool. If the timing works out right we will stay here on our way back. I loved the shower. Reminded me our cool tiled shower of the 60's.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelorSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Bluff, California
1 review
Reviewed 1 December 2012

Rooms are very clean, spacious, and they have a fridge, microwave, coffee maker, cozy lounge chair, along with a great place for sitting and eating in the room. Also, the rooms have great t.v. selection and speedy wifi. When you need to cool down or warm up, the heater and air work great as well. Staff is very pleasing and hepful.Ilove that the location is near everything handy in this town. My fionce and i will be staying here again whenever we are in town.

Room Tip: All Rooms are great and available in smoking and non smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Bluff hotels
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 16 in Red Bluff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Red Bluff
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Red Bluff
Travelodge Red Bluff
#12 of 16 in Red Bluff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Bluff - South Redding Area
2.0 mi away
Classic Inn
Classic Inn
#10 of 16 in Red Bluff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
1.9 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsman Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsman Lodge

Property: Sportsman Lodge
Address: 768 Antelope Blvd, Red Bluff, CA 96080-8834
Region: United States > California > Red Bluff
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sportsman Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 king bed, 2 queen beds, 3 beds, pets welcome $+, all rooms are on ground floor, free parking, in-room coffee, microwave/fridge, HBO, Hairdryer, large rooms, wireless internet. Next door to Fairgrounds. Gateway to Lassen National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sportsman Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing