We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent RV Park just off I-5”
Review of Durango RV Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Red Bluff
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Durango RV Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent RV Park just off I-5”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We are snowbirds and have for a number of years been taking the same route south in the fall and coming home to Canada in the spring - Durango has been on our list for the last five years - it's a very clean, modern RV Park with all the amenities one could wish for - staff has always been super accommodating and friendly - there is a nice walk on the property along the river where we usually stretch our legs after a lengthy drive. Restaurants, gas and groceries are located within a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Manager at Durango RV Resort, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Mr. Schneider;

Thank you for reviewing our resort. We get many snowbirds travelling through here and we always enjoy the stories you have to share. We hope you have a great winter down south and can't wait to see you on your back north.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    17
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
35
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Located immediately off the I-5 in Red Bluff CA. The turns on the side streets are not well marked, and we ended up driving through a shopping center parking lot before arriving at the entrance. Once we passed through the gates the facility looks spectacular with beautiful club house, manicured landscape, and water fountains down the center of the park - it certainly has a resort look and feel (in it's infancy). Friendly staff greeted us and escorted us to an oversized pull thru site. All parking pads are paved and level and roads/turns are wide. There are many trees but they are small and do not provide ample shade from the Red Bluff heat. The workout room is small and only has 2 machines. The pool was nice but both afternoons we went there were a group of kids from the local community and their coach having swim practice leaving little room to negotiate the pool. There are a handful of back-in spots with nice river views and many, many spots with I-5 views. Noise from the freeway was not bad, but we were parked on the opposite side of the park. Laundry rooms were nice but only 3 of the 5 washers worked. There is a 'rock path' along the river which passes underneath the freeway. Keep your eyes open for homeless. One was bathing in the river on one of our walks. We stayed 5 nights which is 4 too long. If you're considering this as an overnight stop in Red Bluff then it earns one more star.

Room Tip: Recommend the west end of the park away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TennLV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Manager at Durango RV Resort, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Hi Steven;

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort. We sure are happy that you appreciate the efforts we take to keep the grounds well maintained. I think you will be happy to know that the Tehama County Resource Conservation District just started cleanup and environmental restoration efforts in the area across the highway. Furthermore, we apologize for the children overtaking the pool. It will not be something that we will participate in any further. I hope the next time we see you we will be able to impress you more than this time. Safe journeys and thank you again for the feedback.

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everett, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We recently completed a twelve day road trip and this resort was our favorite stop. Although we were only there one night, everything about this park was excellent. From getting reservations on the website, good directions, friendly and helpful front desk, clean showers and restroom facilities, to the beautiful grounds. We were given a nice site away from the freeway even though we were only one nighters. It was a short walk to a Shari's Restaurant if one didn't want to cook and a grocery store was also within walking distance to buy beer. We would love to come back to this area and stay at this resort again when we have more time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjane54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hollywood, FL
Level Contributor
84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

When we checked into Durango, the receptionist was extremely helpful and friendly. We were escorted to our spot, and the security was consistently riding in the golf cart monitoring the park. Each spot has ample space, full hook-up, and a nice new picnic table. One drawback is the lack of shade. We have an awning, but if you don't, it can be EXTREMELY hot in Red Bluff in the summer.

The recreation area is BEAUTIFUL- including the pool and jacuzzi. We enjoyed a dip in the pool and jacuzzi after the long (hot) day driving.

There is a shopping plaza adjacent to the park, convenient with a grocery store and a few restaurants (a pizza place that was crowded, although, we did not eat there).

Although some of the reviews say that there is freeway noise, we did not experience this at all.

We think it was a great stop between Oregon and California wine country!

Room Tip: Ask for a spot away from freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melkel27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Almanor, CA, USA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed at the Durango February-April of 2013. This property is spotless and very nicely appointed. The streets are generously wide, the RV pads are level cement, and each one has it's own lawn and planted area, many with roses. The pool and hot tub are perfectly maintained as are the bathrooms and showers, although I wish the pool had been heated earlier in the season! There are flowers everywhere, fountains and ponds, fires every evening, and it is on the Sacramento River. The staff is wonderful, very friendly, and made our grandkids and our dog feel very special! This park is kid-friendly and there is lots of space for them to play, although there isn't any children's playground. The hot tub was posted teens and adults, but we had no problem taking our little ones in with us when they visited. Great for those travelling with a dog too. We took lots of walks around the park, day and night, and always felt very safe. The park is gated after 8PM, and also has a security guard patrolling every evening. We look forward to coming back next winter even though we only live 1 1/2 hours away! This park is on I-5, so there is highway noise, but it is so nice that the noise doesn't even matter! We slept with all the windows and hatches open several nights and though the highway noise was there, it wasn't a big deal. Just be sure to book on the side away from the freeway if this will bother you. Large grocery store is right across the street, and Luigi's Pizza, a block away, delivers for free, is reasonably priced, and delicious!

Room Tip: The spaces on the west side are farther from the freeway, so less highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieLepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

If you like deafening freeway noise 7x24, this is your kind of place. Millions were spent building this place, but they shot themselves in the foot location-wise.
It's located directly next to California's sole major north-south commerce route! And no sound wall. Earplugs needed for sleep.
Too bad- facility is gorgeous, staff is professional, and the Red Bluff region is wonderful. This is a great park for a quick overnighter, but -at least for me- I'll seek a quieter place well off the main highway. We also noted that many of the RVs seen in spaces are actually being stored....not even hooked up. So the place may not be doing as well as it looks from the freeway. We'll go elsewhere next time....just due to the noise.
If noise is your thing, this place is a terriffic choice, however.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank Captaingort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark R, Manager at Durango RV Resort, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Miss Scarlett;

Thank you for the fantastic review. I am glad you enjoyed our resort so much. I hope you have been able to stay with us long enough to check out all the local attractions. Lassen National Park, Manton wineries, and the downtown farmer's market our my favorites. We look forward to having you back and make sure you call ahead so that we can reserve your favorite spot. Safe Journeys!

Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sammamish, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Great park, well maintained, near spotless, very neat, friendly staff. The RV pads are paved sites, with the hook-up in pretty good condition. Spacious park, inner park roads had good width. We were fine with the RV site pad widths and the distances to the RV sites next to us. The park provides a curbside trash pickup service.

The park facility central area has a pool with 3 water fountains. These fountains may have been set up to drown out some of the freeway noise, although only the center fountain was flowing full stream. The other two fountains appeared to need a little maintenance/cleaning. Nice feature though.

I almost feel guilty about rating the park 4-stars because it is a very pleasant park. The only down-side that I can name about the park is the freeway noise. During the day, if watching TV or reading, you can notice the freeway noise, but with the TV on, the outside noise isn't that troublesome. In the night time, even though we were backed up to the river, in the second RV site furthest from the freeway, you could easily hear the freeway noise as cars and tractor-trailers were going by on the bridge over the Sacramento river. The noise level may be less if a person were to park in the central or southeastern part of the park. I would expect that, even with this noise-down-side, that if we go back to this area, we would probably stay at this park again, simply because it is a well-maintained and secure park.

We pull a 40' 5th wheel and with the generous access road and pad sites, back in parking was not a problem. The length of the pad was adequate for the RV and for parking the truck on the pad as well. The park had numerous sites that were pull thru's, but as we chose to back in with the rear picture window facing the river we had a pleasant river view.

As we arrived to the park after dark, the security person on duty at the time came to our site and helped guide me in with his lights. As previously mentioned, the staff was very helpful and courteous. The park utilizes security gates after hours, making a person feel a bit more comfortable in the night time. Even with the security gates closed, a park security person would move around the park on a golf cart making certain everything was quiet. This park was convenient to walk around after dark because it felt secure.

Our stay was in mid-February 2013, so the pool was not accessable. We did have a very good week with daytime temps in the area in the mid 60's to mid 70's. There was a small spa pool available, however we choose not to use it. We did use one of the parks washer-dryer facility in their back clubhouse building (they have 2 laundromat facilities in the park). The laundromat and club room areas were clean and modern. The club rooms had large wall mounted flat screen TV's avaliable to those who chose to use one of the clubrooms and spacious easy-chairs rather than watching TV in their RV. Very nice, modern park; will likely stay there again. This is a good location to go out for winery tours. Enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Possibly a little noisy being ajacent to the freeway, but a very clean, secure RV park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrfinfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Red Bluff hotels
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Red Bluff - South Redding Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Red Bluff
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 16 in Red Bluff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Classic Inn
Classic Inn
#10 of 16 in Red Bluff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Red Bluff
Travelodge Red Bluff
#12 of 16 in Red Bluff
3.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn - Red Bluff
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Durango RV Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Durango RV Resort

Property: Durango RV Resort
Address: 100 Lake Avenue, Red Bluff, CA 96080
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Red Bluff
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Red Bluff
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most recommended RV Resorts. Durango RV can accommodate rigs up to 105' in length. We provide old fashioned service with the newest amenities. Over 100 pull-thru sites all with full hook-ups, free Wi-Fi, cable TV, and 20/30/50 amp service. All sites are paved and roads are wide. Resort offers exercise room, pool, hot-tub, massage therapist, fire rings, on site laundry, free showers, and a view of the Sacramento River. Additional activities include Bocce ball, pickle ball, volleyball, basketball, tether ball, horseshoes, ping pong, and a putting green. We are located within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. Popular activities in the area include, jet boat tours, horseback riding, wine tasting, fishing, olive tasting, and exploring Lassen Volcanic National Park. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing