We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #7 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
San Rafael, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our room at the Thunderbird was clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was a good supplement to the food we brought. I am planning to stay there again the next time I'm in Redding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    202
    79
    23
    6
See reviews for
116
156
45
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a night while in Redding. It is a great value- only $60 for the night. It's not the fanciest place in the world but it was clean, good location, felt safe, ample parking, decent staff at the front desk. If you are on a budget and need a decent place to stay- this is a great pick. The only thing I was disappointed in was that there was a lack of bedding. It only had a sheet and a thin coverlet and since we went in early Spring, the nights are colder so another blanket would have been great. So keep that in mind if you run cold- ask for one at the front desk before you go to bed. It was in the middle of the night once I realized another blanket was needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank awbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonopah, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

They newly remodeled so the hotel is way nicer than any hotel in its price range. Nice, clean rooms and walking distance to nice restaurants. Little noisy in the morning though and the free breakfast isn't even with showing to, unless you like toast and butter or fruit loops.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redding, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

This establishment recently underwent a major overhaul. Prior to that it, it would have rated one or two stars much as the rest of the motels located downtown still do. If you want to stay in downtown Redding this is the only place to bed down for the night.

Room Tip: Check out some of the local restaurants located nearby. They're a refreshing change from the fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McArthur, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I am a regular customer following my comparative experience in several downtown motels. The motel's room quality increased significantly with new furniture, flat screen TV's, carpets and bath renovations. When compared to local motels in the same price range, Thunderbird Lodge's services, host congenality and room quality excel. A winter challenge is room temperature, which may need to be adjusted in the middle of the night. A minor inconvenience for a quality, mid-price motel in downtown Redding

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salem, or
Level Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Based on the reviews we decided to check this place. Could a motel charging $62 (tax included) be as good as others were saying?

We had no reservation as I wanted to be sure we would be staying. The desk keeper showed me the room, a refurbished end unit on the second floor. It was a nice room (but certainly not in the deluxe category) with a table and two chairs, flat screen TV, king bed, microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom had a single sink and a fairly new shower stall. Strangely, a coffee make was positioned on the lavatory. Even stranger, the handles on the faucet had no defined stop position. One had to find the neutral position to stop the water flow.

Breakfast, served from seven to nine, consisted of two sugary cereals, bread, juice, tea and coffee. Fruit was either apples or bananas. Small Danish pastry type rolls were available. They were fresh and good.

Restaurants with walking distance include Mexican, Japanese, and several others.

Train noise could be a problem, but with the A/C or fan it was never a bother. Our unit was also away from street noise.

The only problem we experienced was the cable connection to the TV. Fortunately, I was easily able to position the cable so as to provide adequate reception. Next morning I informed management of the problem. I’m sure the connector needed only to be reattached to the cable.

Wi-fi reception was excellent.

We could spend much more for a room, but with deals like this, what’s the point? We had everything we needed, and I expect we’ll be making return visits.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nomiddleseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, British Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great value,[ $62 bucks a night for a single], a nice big room ,all the mod cons needed,[mic,fridge, ,coffee maker , big flat screen tv,lots of channels.

Stayed a week, lots of places nearby for meals and munchies,try Mary's Pizza Shack,one block away, or
at the corner is Heavenly Doughnuts, [fresh baked doughnuts for breakfast!!] or for those who need there Starbucks fix i'ts another block.

Some train horns in the day, didn't notice at night,and for being beside a highway surprisingly quiet.

Room Tip: For a quiet room get 220,221,223 and the 100s on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,497 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
2.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Twin View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing