We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel”
Review of Thunderbird Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thunderbird Lodge
Ranked #9 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Grants Pass, Oregon
1 review
“Great Motel”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very nice owner that checked us in. Very clean. Prices are very reasonable. Will stay there again. The Mexican restaurant in the same parking lot was very good too. We highly recommend you stay here. They have completely remodeled.

Room Tip: If you have a dog tell them you want a ground floor room,.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mhblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    225
    85
    25
    6
See reviews for
131
168
50
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Although affordable, the stay was somewhat disappointing. The room was rundown, noisy and the bed was uncomfortably lumpy. Having the coffee making facilities on the bathroom sink next to the toilet was not good. Most of the rooms appear to be getting updated and about time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wiggle59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Comox, Bc
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I learned about this really nice motel on Trip Advisor and tried it . It is an extremely clean , well remodelled motel . Nice size rooms . We slept well, good tv channels. I would stop there again. It was in much better shape than many chain motels we stayed in .

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest part of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azuresky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The new owners of this hotel have done an excellent job of refurnishing it. Our room had fresh paint, was immaculately clean, and had a freshly remodeled bathroom with a newly retiled shower. For the price ($65 for two queens, plus a $10/per dog fee, which is quite normal), it was an excellent value. A train runs through that part of town -- but that affects ALL hotels in the area -- but it only tooted its horn once, at 4 a.m. Otherwise, the hotel, though busy, was very quiet during sleeping hours. The service desk was very cordial. I would certainly recommend this value-priced hotel.

Room Tip: First level floors are easier for those with dogs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beckydmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Rafael, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Our room at the Thunderbird was clean and comfortable, and the staff was friendly. The breakfast buffet was a good supplement to the food we brought. I am planning to stay there again the next time I'm in Redding.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Krista F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
1 review
Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed here for a night while in Redding. It is a great value- only $60 for the night. It's not the fanciest place in the world but it was clean, good location, felt safe, ample parking, decent staff at the front desk. If you are on a budget and need a decent place to stay- this is a great pick. The only thing I was disappointed in was that there was a lack of bedding. It only had a sheet and a thin coverlet and since we went in early Spring, the nights are colder so another blanket would have been great. So keep that in mind if you run cold- ask for one at the front desk before you go to bed. It was in the middle of the night once I realized another blanket was needed.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank awbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonopah, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

They newly remodeled so the hotel is way nicer than any hotel in its price range. Nice, clean rooms and walking distance to nice restaurants. Little noisy in the morning though and the free breakfast isn't even with showing to, unless you like toast and butter or fruit loops.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juliet g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 37 in Redding
1,580 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
1,348 reviews
3.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#14 of 37 in Redding
594 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thunderbird Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thunderbird Lodge

Property: Thunderbird Lodge
Address: 1350 Pine St, Redding, CA 96001-0604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#8 Family Hotel in Redding
#9 Romantic Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Thunderbird Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located in downtown Redding, with easy access to major freeways, shopping malls, recreational areas and major businesses. Thunderbird Lodge provides you with comfortable living. The tasteful decor of each room is carefully planned for your enjoyment. Your room is ideal for a business session, entertaining or plain relaxing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Thunderbird Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thunderbird Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing