We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Desmond House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redding
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Desmond House
Ranked #5 of 9 Redding B&B and Inns
Cupertino, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I had to travel to Redding as my daughter was having surgery at the Shasta Regional Medical Center. I arrived, after driving for five hours, tired and just a bit anxious. The moment Greg greeted me and showed me my room I started relaxing. The bed had a great mattress. There were robes in the closet, the bathroom was modern and everything was clean and beautiful. AND, it was less than five minutes from the hospital.

As you arrive the house looks like a modest home on Riverside. Upon entering you will be treated to a marvelous experience. It's a combination of old world blended beautifully with updated amenities. There are only two rooms so it's very personal. (I met the nicest people who were also staying there.)

The coffee was ready first thing in the morning - with tender pastries, bagels and a fresh fruit bowl for each guest. There was also a large selection of tea available.

I'm a quilter and it just happened that Greg had two beautiful and very special quilts, that his grandmother made, to show me. They were exquisite! And, speaking of Greg, he is a delightful and thoughtful innkeeper. You are more than a guest at the Desmond House - you are a friend.

My stay was too short. But I will return - next time on a pleasure trip.

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2011

If you’re the kind of person who likes to relax and be pampered then the Desmond House is for you. The house blends ‘old world’ charm with modern conveniences and most importantly an incredibly comfortable mattress. Awake each morning with coffee and enjoy life on the Sacramento River right from the front window. You will be happy you stayed at The Desmond House.

Stayed April 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank jmarceau2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

Clean, homey, safe, modern bathrooms and old world living spaces. Lovely details in the furnishings, a cross between 1850 and 1930 in the eclectic collections and especially the lighting fixtures. Everything works perfectly; there are 2 large screen TV's where we could watch the Giants' game in the fluffy provided robes! We had the 2 BR house to ourselves, a bonus because my husband is up a lot at night and needs space to stretch out, microwave leftovers, etc. There are several nooks for reading, overlooking the Sacramento River or just relaxing in light, plant filled spaces. The kitchen is fully furnished, including a vintage Wedgewood double oven stove. There's a new outdoor hot tub and unique wood fired 4-6 person sauna in a huge converted wine barrel. Greg, the owner, is unobtrusive and helpful. We felt right at home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yag42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2010

I arrived after a long hot day of driving to find a cool, welcoming, incredibly tastefully decorated haven inside. I really couldn't believe my luck on stumbling on this gem. Slept very soundly in the Brooks room, in the gorgeous antique bed. The host, Greg, was very friendly and kept me company during breakfast (I was traveling alone) and made me feel 110% at home. Definitely in my top 5 favorite B&Bs.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColleenLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2010

A home furnished with beautiful antiques, plants, furniture, and lovely breakfasts items. Ummm, the coffee is magnificent!! Many large windows looking out toward the Sacramento River. A very comfortable room and house to relax and enjoy "your own free time!!" We would stay again. And Greg is a fine "host". He was very helpful with any questions we had regarding the Redding area & things to do!!! Truly, a fine abode!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrantsPassAvenue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2010

I came for a weekend retreat and some silence and solitude. Beautiful atmosphere. Very peaceful. Great attention to detail. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

This B&B is so beautiful & quiet. Sitting on the Sacramento river it is close to lovely restaurants and the Cascade Theatre. My husband & I enjoyed our stay immensely. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Comfort of the room/bed and the price was excellent
  • Disliked — It was hot in August!!!
  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelRNSouthernCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
2.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#22 of 36 in Redding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#25 of 36 in Redding
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Desmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Desmond House

Property: The Desmond House
Address: 1449 Riverside Drive, Redding, CA 96001
Region: United States > California > Redding
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located In the Historic downtown area of Redding, overlooking the Sacramento River and Within Walking distance to many local Restaurants, walking trails, the Sundial Bridge, Shasta Dam, parks and world class fishing. We're a very small historic Bed and Breakfast with only two rooms, and close to both Shasta Lake, Whiskytown lake Mt Lassen and only one hour from Mt Shasta! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing