We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasent suprise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Redding CA
Ranked #5 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver Island, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A pleasent suprise”
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We checked into our room at 10pm and were exhausted from our trip (we'd been on a road trip for the past 10 days). We got into the room and checked to make sure beds were clean and everything was good. Our room had 2 queen beds and then a seperate room with a locking door that went to the bathroom/kitchen. It was large so you weren't going pee in your kitchen or anything but it was really nice having the full fridge and large area to get ready in the morning.

Once in the room the front desk called because they had forgotten to give us a key to the other room. OTHER ROOM!!??!! Yeppers, they had upgraded us from the basic 2 queen to the kids suite!! The seperate room had a double bed, tv with dvd and vcr player, 2 cute sleepy bear lamps, a sleepy bear chair and was just the cutest little room ever!!.

The beds were reasonable, nothing like the plush brand new beds we had at HOJO in Disneyland but we slept well and were really happy with the service and the room (oops, I mean suite!!). There is no breakfast (at least that I saw or were told about) and the pool was outdoor and much too cold for us to use. I think there was a spa and work out room but we left so early that we didn't use it.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mycupcake2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    557
    157
    58
    32
See reviews for
570
497
148
155
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 November 2010

I have never written in or used Trip Advisor before but my daughter has and has had good results so I thought I would use it for our stop over in Redding. Well this hotel was listed as #2 for Redding and so we thought - great. Price was very reasonable. But when we got there we were disappointed. First it was in a lousy part of town with no restaurants near by but a Chinese and Mexican with most of the lights in the letter missing. But I thought this is a little town maybe this is all there is. The hotel/motel was not bad looking from the outside but it was one of the old kind that you have to park and walk outside and upstairs to your room. The room looked like a flashback from 1960. It seemed clean enough but the beds must have been from 1960 - they were hard as a rock - no give at all. I was suspicious of the sheets and pillowcases they didn't look crisp and clean. And the pillows had lumps in them. There was a free breakfast that was not bad but you had to drive quite a way to get to it - that is when I saw that there was a better part of town. I would not recommend it or stay there again. Sorry to say.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlie8553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anacortes
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

A happy find on a long road trip. Nice comfortable room with everything we needed. Showed up without reservations and got an excellent rate. Amazing value, as the free breakfast was at a locally popular restaurant. A nice choice of food, and we enjoyed the experience. (I think another breakfast option is available for those who don't want to drive a half mile south to the restaurant.) The Travelodge is near an entrance to an Arboretum. A path through the gardens leads to the river, the Sundial Bridge, and a cafe and museum beyond, a nice surprise to us.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

We spent one night at this travelodge and found it to be clean and comfortable, bit of a pain having to carry our heavy bags up the stairs as we were in a first floor room and there wasn't a lift.
We thought the breakfast would be closer and wondered where on earth we were going but followed the instructions and it was well worth it, the breakfast at Lumberjacks was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charliegirl211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunny California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2010

I'm a grandma and stayed here with my two grandaughters, 5 & 7 for a couple of nights while we visited nearby Turtle Bay and Mt Lassen. I was a little freaked about the bedbug report by a recent reviewer, but there was not a live insect in the place, inside or our so I can only assume they took care of any problem. The room was BIG, the beds were 5 star comfy, things were SPOTLESS (cleaner that I have seen at luxury hotels); we even had a full kitchette and that was handy. It is in a quiet area of town so good sleeping. The staff was helpful and friendly and the free breakfast a short drive away at Lumberjacks was very good, It was such a good value that I kind of felt guilty!! I would recommend this place to anyone and certainly will stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MandragoraMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 November 2010

This is my second stay at this Travelodge. I like the cozy feeling as you enter the parking lot. Everything was waiting upon check-in. It was a breeze. The clerk knew how to move it along quickly, something I always appreciate. The room was clean and comfortable for my one night stay. I especially appreciated the touch of them calling to remind us of the time change. After a hectic day it was a relief to not have any worries.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magyck246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup WA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2010

The reviews were a primary reason I chose Travelodge, and at first glance, everything lived up to what we expected, not the ritz, but more than adequate for the price. The bathroom was very clean, the mattress looked new, I slept pretty well...until I woke up with bedbug bites. They must have loved me, my husband had none.
When checking out, I told the clerk, and she commented, "we just changed that mattress, too!" Obviously there was a reason the mattress had to be changed. They were proactive, it seems, but not thorough enough. It was room 250, in case you're checking in. Avoid that room, and any nearby, above or below. I canceled my next reservation for the return trip home and stayed in Red Bluff an a unique B&B, the Jeter Victorian Inn. Another experience, but in a very, very good way!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTL, General Manager at Travelodge Redding CA, responded to this review, 10 November 2010
I too have mixed feelings, mine is about the review and the negative impact such a review has on a business that has worked very hard to be a "Quality Designator" with Travelodge and a proud member of the Wyndham family. This designation is rare. It is given for highly maintained standards of quality and cleanliness. Not only that but it combines a service element that is taken from various metrics of service and surveys from our guests. Just as we have over 200 reviews here on TripAdvisor which show a clear pattern of exceptional guest satisfaction. This is who we are. An economy property that shoots higher than many in our sector.
Reality: We have NEVER had bed bugs The mixed felling I have this review is on one hand we were clean and the other she had this "issue." The review's bed bug statement is false, misleading & defamatory. It has negatively affected some business, but not those who know us. We’ve never had bed bugs. How do we know, we were one of the first property's that began passive & daily inspection, we have a contracted service assuring, isolation & eradication if ever needed. Tossing the bed wouldn't work. All the rooms surrounding such a find would have to be isolated and treated. This guest would have to be treated and everything with her collected and isolated. Almost certainly this guest would bring home the bugs. We would have had an infestation and by this stage be in full fledged attack mode against such critters. But, this is NOT THE CASE. What did our guest experience? I honestly do not know. I don't know their travels. I don't know where they had been. Where they visited, what they did. I do know we have had no issues in the room they stayed in or any of the other 40 room on our property.
We're clean with no bed bugs, but bed bugs aren't limited to clean or dirty properties, they can be found in any 5 star also.That is why it's a "must" to have a plan and procedure - a process, to make sure daily you don't have a problem. We do this for our guest protection as well as our own - I live on property, it's my home. You guys are my guests and that's why we do what we do.
In our management responses as in all our dealings - I shot straight and tell you the truth. We we had such an issue we would address that with the same forthrightness.
As for the beds, we changed our beds not due to bed bugs, rather guest satisfaction and our current brand standard which again, we were out in front of the standard and began replacing beds well over a year ago, "NEW" Pillow Top Serta Perfect Sleeper Concierge Emerald Plush mattresses - doing this even during the recession - Why to provide comfort for our guests. That is what our front desk person was saying,
Assumption, self diagnosis and a review not based in actual fact is now one that we have to respond to, seemingly defending ourselves against something we don't offer - when people love us for what we do offer, Value, Cleanliness and great customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
2.0 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#3 of 36 in Redding
1,283 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
2.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#11 of 36 in Redding
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
2.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
1.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Redding CA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Redding CA

Property: Travelodge Redding CA
Address: 540 N Market St, Redding, CA 96003-3610
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Redding
#3 Family Hotel in Redding
#3 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#4 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Redding CA 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redding Travelodge wants you to feel right at home. Offering a variety of room types to fit all of your needs. Choose a Deluxe Single Queen, Deluxe Double Queen, our Spacious Two Queen Kitchenettes, a Single Queen Business Suite, and our family friendly - Two Queens and a separate room with a double bed in our Sleepy Bear motif. All rooms have fridge and micro, a work desk, free Hi-Speed wireless Internet and much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Travelodge Redding CA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Redding Hotel Redding
Travel Lodge Redding
Redding Travelodge
Redding Travel Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing