We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value, Nice Room, Okay Stay”

America's Best Value Inn & Suites
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
America's Best Value Inn & Suites
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Seattle
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Value, Nice Room, Okay Stay”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We decided to stay here for the night on our way to Sacramento for a wedding (from Seattle). I found this place from TripAdvisor and all the rave reviews and price, booked it. For the price, it was a nice value in comparison to the other hotels in Redding.

When we checked in it was quick, but I have to agree with another reviewer, that the staff was not very friendly and it did smell like curry in the entire small room (I take it the managers/owners live on site). Besides the unfriendly welcome, the room was nice. Looked updated, but still older (carpets, bathroom area). Large room though. We were in a room with a king bed.

Wifi was spotty, not great but not awful. Your basic hotel. Breakfast was cereal, small muffins and juice, coffee and milk.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    7
    13
    0
    4
See reviews for
11
13
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Washington
Level Contributor
105 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This place doesn't look like anything fancy but the rooms are spotlessly clean, the bed is very comfortable, the air conditioner is quiet and works very well, and it is located near a residential neighborhood away from the noise of the freeway traffic. I have made two trips this summer between Washington and California and I have stayed at places that cost two or even three times as much as what I paid here and were not as comfortable. The furniture and the carpet appears to be new, everything was freshly painted and spotlessly clean including the parking lot which has just been resealed and re-striped. Overall I would rate this ABVI as a 10 out of 10 and is by far the most enjoyable stay I have had this summer. I will definitely stay here again next time I am in Redding California.

Room Tip: The room I had( #124) was completely refurbished so I assume the rest of them have been also since t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mace648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

I'm quite impressed with this ABVI like new clean room with a comfortable bed, fridge, microwave and good a/c and internet. This is a great value compared to what others in Redding want. Last time we stayed at a major chain and paid twice as much and it wasn't as good as here. Quiet location but close to restaurants and shopping. The only minor complaint is the breakfast items are minimal. We would stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EKG777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

When we arrived at this hotel, the front desk clerk had no clue how to look up our reservation. It took over 30 minutes to check us in after a long day of travel from LA with two kids. The room itself was clean. There was a microwave and refrigerator. I did like that they had a welcome book with things of interest for travelers. It also had restaurant menus. When my husband went looking for ice, they did not have one. The front desk clerk did have some for him though.
The hotel is in a hotel part of town. There is a Travelodge and another motel nearby. As far as restaurants, there is an awesome pizza place right across the street. I saw another pizza place when we drove in. The hotel was quiet, and we all slept well. Check out was easy. For breakfast, there was coffee and small muffins. We did not feel that it was worth a second stay. We'll try another place the next time that we come through.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenWA74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

This was the first stop along our 10 day trip heading North. We hadn't made any reservations due to not knowing how far we would be able to drive. We first checked our TripAdviser (because we ALWAYS check here first) to see what others were saying. We were able to make a reservation with one call. We arrived late (around 9:30pm) but were checked in promptly. The one comment I would make for management is this........if your going to cook curry..you might want to close off the small lobby check in area. We basically got bowled over with this when we walked in. After getting settled into our room, first floor and next to the office living quarters, we ventured out for some food across the street to WestSide Pizza. Great service, good food. Our room here was clean and reasonable and outside had new windows. Room color/decor could use some updating.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lionesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

American Best Value Inn in Redding is located on Market street, in a reasonable location for both arrival and departure. It provided us with good value for the money in that it offered a clean, room at a reasonable rate. Unfortunately, it was somewhat noisy in that Market street traffic could be heard at night. Our stay here was uneventful enough since we were simply passing through town. There was relatively straight forward access to the I-5 freeway going both north or south.

In summer, Redding gets very hot. It would have been very thoughtful for the air conditioning to have been turned on before our arrival, especially since they had several days notice of our arrival. Fortunately, the attending staff was reasonably friendly and assisted us by answering several questions. Both refrigerator and microwave were relatively new and were in good operating condition.

We were unable to take advantage of the advertised complimentary breakfast since we travel early in the day before breakfast is available, and no provisions were made for early risers.

The king sized bed was pleasantly firm and the pillows were sufficiently firm to provide adequate head support. Aside from some traffic noise, we were able to get an adequate night’s rest. Our overall experience was just fine.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyde Park, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Place is clean, management was friendly, room was comfortable, wi-fi worked good and they even plan upgrading some of their furniture in near future....IMO priced rather well without even needing a discount coupon.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.8 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#23 of 36 in Redding
35 reviews
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
1,532 reviews
2.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
0.8 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#17 of 36 in Redding
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to America's Best Value Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about America's Best Value Inn & Suites

Property: America's Best Value Inn & Suites
Address: 533 N Market St, Redding, CA 96003-3611
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — America's Best Value Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your America's Best Value Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Hotel Redding
Value Motel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing