We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not enjoy my stay this time. Have stayed before and...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Redding
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Reviewed 30 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Sophia M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a ReviewReviews (333)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

193 - 199 of 333 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2013

Stayed there 1 night on the way down south. I wasn't expecting much but I was shocked by the state of our room. The carpet looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in months, there was garbage under the beds, there was a dead fly and an unidentified dead bug under one of the mattresses (we had a 2 queen room). Our bathroom looked like the tub hadn't been cleaned in a while. It was black on the bottom and there was hair/dirt in it. Our TV remote didn't work and there were a lot of noisy people staying in the rooms on either side of us. The only good thing about our stay was our dinner at the Mexican restaurant down the street. I'm sure there are better places to stay in Redding.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jasley0911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank _fjolaviolet_
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Live at your own rusk...bad rooms, bad breakfast, low grade ppl living here...everything is expired...we lived @ 108,120,224.. Although we booked together and we where a family of 7 they gave us rooms far from each other...and accessible rooms...hated everything about the stay...

Room Tip: book some other room...paid 65$ for a night....breakfast is all expired...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Just P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The rooms are small, cramped, poorly decorated, have peeling wall paper. We found a pair if shoes from a previous guest under the need. The future was chipped. There were rusted homes in the bathroom door. There is no cable tv. The walls are thin and the bed is close to the wall which is right next to the walkway. Every car that came and went in the night caused a lot of noise inside. People walked by talking loudly throughout the night. I got very little sleep. The continental breakfast was a joke: cornflakes, fruitloops, toast, terrible coffee. There we're no protein offerings of any kind: no yogurt, no peanut butter, no eggs, no breakfast meats. There wasn't enough seating so I had to stand and there was no hotel employee there to help or to restock at 7:30am. The table was rickety and coffee spilled whenever anyone moved. There was instant oatmeal but no hot water. When we were leaving at 8:00 some donuts were put out.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We stayed in room 217, that is, until about 10:30 the eve of the 28th. I had checked the beds, as I do every hotel, but not between the mattresses. The children were asleep, and my wife and I were just settling down when she thankfully found the infestation. As most hotels were already filled we moved 6 rooms down to 211, which was clean and clear. When I mentioned the fact to the night clerk, his response was "Well, what do you want me to do about it?" How about a profuse apology??!! I think (hope) we escaped, as we immediately bagged all exposed clothing in a trash bag and "debugged" them at home.

Ok, I know bed bugs can be anywhere, but there was also the broken bathroom door lock, the headboard falling off the wall, and the toilet lid that was placed loosely on the pot, which ended up on the floor. Also, on the second-story walkway outside the doors, my heel went through the flooring. Needs a lot of upgrades.

On the plus side they let us stay until 11:45 (checkout is 11:00), as I was stuck at DMV.
Staff was friendly, aside from the bed bug incident.

Room Tip: Read up on bed bugs and prevention!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson
Thank Scotty R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Redding
2.5 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#6 of 37 in Redding
1,675 reviews
2.3 mi away
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#21 of 37 in Redding
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#26 of 37 in Redding
613 reviews
2.1 mi away
Stardust Motel
Stardust Motel
#24 of 37 in Redding
43 reviews
2.2 mi away
Budget Inn
Budget Inn
#18 of 37 in Redding
31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Redding

Address: 2731 Bechelli Ln, Redding, CA 96002-1924
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Price Range: £39 - £59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Redding 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Vagabond Inn Redding, guests can opt for twin, queen, or king beds. They may request pet-friendly rooms for an additional charge. The hotel provides free, high speed WiFi, free parking, and a daily complimentary continental breakfast. Other on-site amenities of the Vagabond Inn Redding include an outdoor pool and self-serve laundry facilities. The hotel is one hour north of the city of Chico. It lies about midway between Arcata, CA (to the west) and the California-Nevada border (to the east). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Vagabond Inn Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express - Redding Hotel Redding
Howard Johnson Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing