We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really not a good place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Redding Central
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really not a good place”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

I was moving from Oregon to Ca (why???, long story) My Aunt and I needed a cheap place to stay and Motel 6 allows cats. We were downstairs. This was in October. I don't recall what it cost but I do recall it wasn't that cheap. The room was NO FRILLS -Motel 6 means it when the say no frills. We had a few towels, small shower, few channels on our TV. lots of noise outside our door. A restaurant was out in front and the people were very loud. Bed was hard and not that comforable. Smelled bad too. Probably all the spray they used after each animal. But, Motel 6 is one of only a handful of places willing to take pets (I really mean cats) without charging you extra for it. So Motel 6 has that going for them. If you have a dog, you probably can find a competetive (moneywise) place to stay but when you have a cat-nooooooooooooobody really wants to rent you room.

Room Tip: There are three Motel 6's in Redding. Maybe the others are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    11
    11
    12
    13
See reviews for
13
9
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Arrived late and was given a room on the 2nd floor. The people next door were EXTREMELY loud, had kids running all over the place, and had the shower going (it was about 1230-1AM). It didn't look too busy so I'm not sure why they couldn't spread people out more. The room smelled like stale cigarettes even though I asked for non-smoking. My guess is that they don't wash their linen separately. TV remote barely worked, bed made me itchy and was uncomfortable. Would not stay here again unless my only other option was to sleep outside, and even then I may choose that.

At least the front desk girl was nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CheesyBites417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Redding hotels

Redding, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

This motel is off Hwy. 5 at the twin view exit. For the price it was a good clean motel. I have a dog and the accommedated me. I would recommend it, if you are strapped for cash. The people are friendly but we have a large selection to choose from here in Redding.

Room Tip: If you need a reasonable place to stay and you have a pet, this is an convenient motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kalen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I had a late arrival 12/3/2013 11:00pm I was given the type of room I had requested.Motel 6 #95 Hilltop. I found the bed to be very comfortable.I requested a quiet room. I was given the one.I slept very good. However, as in previous reviews. I Could never get the room temperatures adjusted. Too hot or cold.I slept ok. Just wake up to turn it down or up.The Shower fan was very loud. I liked the location lots of places to choose from to go out to eat.I liked having Marie Callenders, two blocks away.Yes! Inspite of the heating problems.I will stay again! They have a very professional staff..Steve N Las Vegas, Nevada.....
.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawndale, California
Level Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Requested ground floor - I have a bad knee. They had it ready for me when I arrived.
Had also requested non-smoking, two bed. They had it ready for me!
They really did leave the light on for me!
Check in was easy.
Room was clean.
Check out was easy.
Will stay here next time I visit Redding, CA, on my way to Seattle from Los Angeles.

Room Tip: No elevator so if you need to, request a ground floor unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
92 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This is a corporate motel 6 not owned by an individual but by a corporation. At check in the staff were nice and tried to help. The first room stunk of tobacco. In the walls, curtains and carpet.
I asked for a change and they said they would spray chemical air freshener in there. I declined. they gave me another room. too many kids running about and screaming, Nightmare. But the top cheek of all was they wanted $2.99 for the internet. I complained and they comped me but it didn't work well and crashed more than once and they could do nothing at the desk, so i ended up using my iphone hotspot. Jokers. avoid it.

Room Tip: Yes a room at another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vgreene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Motel 6 veterans know the drill, it's a basic room without anything special. This old-school Motel 6 still has the ancient connecting-rooms design which is great for a traveling family. Every few nights we like to splurge on two rooms so our family of four can each have our own bed and finally get a restful night's sleep. Since this Motel 6 is so old it does seem like the cigarette smoke has permanently invaded everything. While I've never had any noise issues here myself, this could happen anywhere and when it does there's a simple solution: earplugs.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.4 mi away
TownePlace Suites Redding
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#12 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.7 mi away
Motel 6 Redding South
Motel 6 Redding South
#19 of 36 in Redding
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Redding Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Redding Central

Property: Motel 6 Redding Central
Address: 1640 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0215
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Redding Central 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Motel 6 Redding Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Redding
Motel Six Redding
Redding Motel Six
Redding Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing