We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Vienna, Austria
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Just checked in at the hotel.

The hotel is located next to a busy road where all other motels and hotels are located. The view from the room is a parking lot. The swimming pool is outdoors next to the parking lot, front entrance and the busy road - guess it depends from which angle you take the picture.

I am a Platinum member and one of the perks of traveling a lot while staying in the same hotel chain are the room upgrades. Of course they are subject to availability.

At check-in the clerk stunned me: "at this hotel we don't do upgrades. we are independently owned". I know IHG / Holiday Inn is a franchise. But not respecting a loyalty program to the most loyal guests is stunning. What's the purpose of being part of a chain then? This should be reported to IHG.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maarten V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 15 August 2013
Dear Maarten V,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We always try our best to ensure we meet our guests needs & expectations and on this occasion we apologize for your disappointment with the service you received. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. I sincerely hope you stay with us again in the future so we can show you just how exceptional we can be.

We value you as our IHG Rewards Club Platinum Member and hope to have the pleasure in welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    35
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
49
31
8
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

The Inn is very convenient to highway 5, several shopping malls with various options of restaurants, and some attractions in Redding, such as Turtle Bay Exploration Park, Sundial Bridge, and Shasta Dam. The lobby and the room were clean, staff was friendly, and there is plenty space for parking. However, the hallway was so long to get into the room on the back of the Inn, the ceiling of the hallway appears to be low, and the air-conditioner in the room was very noisy. Considering of its relatively higher daily rate relative to other Inns/Motels nearby, there is definitely a room to improve.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TripReviewer290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 9 August 2013
Dear TripReviewer290,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service and the location of the hotel. However, I would like to apologize for the overall dissatisfaction you had experienced. Rest assured that the issues you have raised about the AC unit has been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences.

Once again, thank you for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again very soon.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

My family and I stayed at this Hotel in July 2013. It was very nice. They gave us a welcome pack that contained water and other things due to us using our membership rewards. We also got a free drink of our choice from the bar. The room was nice and spacious. Everything was clean. We ordered room service and our food was delivered quickly and was very good. It is a very well maintained facility. Lots of parking. Easy access to I-5.
There were only one issue. Our air conditioner was acting up. It would work for a bit then quit. We probably should have contacted the front desk but we put up with it. Also one other disappointment was that breakfast is not included. They have a restaurant that you can buy from but with most hotels we have been staying in, there has at least been a free breakfast of some sort.
I would give this hotel an 8 out of 10. I would recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssheilmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2015
Thank you for choosing the Holiday & Convention Center Redding and for taking the time write a review. We strive to make each and every stay exceed expectations. However, we were so sorry to hear of the disappointment of your specifically the air conditioner. We were so sorry to hear of the breakfast experience you had, this will be looked into. Your feedback is important to us and it offers us an opportunity to improve our services and amenities we offer guests. We would like to thank you again for choosing the Holiday Inn Redding and we will continue to strive to improve and exceed expectations for our guests. We hope next time you are traveling in the area we will give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ensenada, Mexico
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Good proximity to freeway and shopping malls are a mere 5 minute away. The property is quiet and the rooms are updated and clean. I liked the easy access to your vehicle from your rooms.

Check-in was a snap and the front office staff were efficient and friendly. They even welcomed us with water, chocolate and some peanuts. They even threw in a free beverage coupon at the hotel bar. A nice touch for IHG members.

This is a great hotel for guests looking to visit local venues like Sundial Park and Lake Shasta.

Our only complaint was that the pool closes at 10pm and then doesn't open until 10am. When it is summer and the weather is hot in Redding they should extend the hours in the evening and open earlier for those who would like a little dip before they head out for days activities.

We would definitely stay here again because the pricing is fair and reasonable for what you get.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wavefarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 4 June 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review! We were so pleased to hear that Holiday Inn was your hotel choice while traveling on vacation. Customer service, quality and comfort are a priority for our guests, and our staff strives to exceed expectations. We look forward to hosting you again soon, whether traveling to Redding on business or pleasure, and thank you again for your wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
1,318 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#13 of 36 in Redding
576 reviews
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Hilltop Inn
0.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 1900 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0210
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Convention Center in Redding, California. Our hotel is your gateway to Northern California's Shasta Cascade Region, an outdoor wonderland of green mountains and forests, and provides easy access to local features including Shasta Lake, Whiskeytown Lake, Lassen Volcanic National Park, McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park, Castle Crags Wilderness, Shasta-Trinity National Forest and the Pacific Crest Trail. Conveniently located, the Holiday Inn Hotel is nearby Redding s own attractions, such as Turtle Bay Exploration Park, Sundial Bridge, Big League Dreams Sports Park and Waterworks Park.The Convention Center at the Holiday Inn Hotel is the perfect setting for business meetings, reunions, weddings, luncheons, trade shows, anniversary parties and more! In-house catering is available and provided by our on site restaurant, the Braided Mane, 2009 Golden Plate award winner!Business and leisure travelers will appreciate that this Redding hotel offers free wireless high-speed Internet access in all of the public areas. If you are without your own computer, the Holiday Inn hotel has a public computer available to all guests. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in our full-service restaurant or, at the end of your day, relax comfortably in the hotel lounge or by the outdoor pool. We care for your comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Redding Hotel Redding
Redding Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing