We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reasonable Hotel Let Down by Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
Ranked #18 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Scotland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Reasonable Hotel Let Down by Staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a long drive, the last thing that you want is a grumpy, unhelpful and inefficient receptionist and that is what we got. Long time to get checked-in, I hate to think what it would be like if there were a lot of people arriving at the same time. Unfortunately, few of the staff that we encountered were any better and this was surprising as most Holiday Inns now seem to have very customer orientated and well trained staff.

The room was a reasonably clean but pretty standard chain hotel room with a bed that provided a couple of nights of decent sleep.

The hotel sprawls over quite a large area so that it may be quite a walk from reception to your room. The receptionist should have told us that there was a better parking area than where we were, and there is lots of parking available, and this would have helped a lot. There is a smallish, but perfectably usable outdoor pool although the hot tub was defective (hot but only a few bubbles) while we were there. The pool area furniture could do with a good clean or replacement and was disappointing compared to other hotels that we had been staying in.

We didn't eat in the hotel as an empty eating area and a fairly limited menu does note bode well. However, there are a couple of reasonable restaurants straight across the road.

The hotel seems to be popular with utilities as there were a lot of their trucks parked in the car park while we were there.

Room Tip: When checking-in ask where to park to avoid a potentially long walk with luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Highlander022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
Dear Highlander022,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    32
    33
    12
    7
See reviews for
46
28
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
rocklin
Level Contributor
268 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Wow ~ this is twice I've been pleasantly surprised by Holiday Inn. One of the better hotels along "the strip" (my personal nickname because of all the hotels) and it was nice to have such elegant simplicity. The rooms are spacious, clean, and have a mini frig; although, only half of the rooms offer microwaves. I presume they assign the microwave rooms to those who pay a higher rate.
The bar keep was pleasant and went out of her way to ask for any requests. Nice hotel and will most likely stay upon my return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are thrilled that you noticed how helpful and welcoming our Team is - we will be sure to share your feedback with them! Our goal is to create a hotel our guests love, home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future should you find yourself in Redding, California again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Very nice facility, but stairs are a problem, and you have to walk long distances. In my room, if you wanted to walk between the desk and the bed and someone was sitting at the desk, that person had to move. Not good design.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank cambriavoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for leaving us a feedback about your recent stay with us. We are sorry we were not able to exceed or at least be at par with your expectation. Your feedback is very important to us as this continually helps us improve the facilities and guest services we offer to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eureka
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. Had Deluxe King. The room was very large with extra area with table and chairs and counter space with sink. 2 refrigerators. Extra space and extra window made it feel less like a hotel room. Didn't use pool, but felt the water and temp was nice . Good toiletries provided. Quiet and walking distance to many restaurants. Ate at Mazatlan up the street and it was above average Mexican food. Would stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ladybird7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for your recent stay with us and reviewing our property. We work very hard to deliver excellent service that is both warm and relaxed every day, for every guest, every stay. Your feedback makes it all worth it. We will be looking forward to your next visit to our hotel next time you are in the Redding area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

So we drove out to Redding from Eureka. We just wanted to explore the area. The hotel staff were all so helpful. Even took our drink orders from the pool and just put the charge on our bill. Love this brand & will definitely be back again! Great experience. Comfy beds & extremely quiet. Plenty of well lit parking.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Littlebrownman79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are thrilled that you noticed how helpful and welcoming our Team is - we will be sure to share your feedback with them! Our goal is to create a hotel our guests love, home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future should you find yourself in Redding, California again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novato, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Everyone was so nice, my room was very clean, the halls were clean - I enjoyed my stay and will be my destination to stay for business every 60 days. The young kids that were cleaning the rooms were so delightful and worked so hard, the reception desk - they were awesome too. I recommend to everyone to stay!

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd floor close to elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Very comfortable and well-appointed room that provided a restful stay on our long road trip. Staff was helpful in finding a nearby car wash for cleaning all the dirt and bugs off of our well traveled car.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future. We hope during your next stay in Redding, you come and visit us again at the Holiday Inn & Convention Center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
0.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#12 of 36 in Redding
4.0 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
2.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center

Property: Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
Address: 1900 Hilltop Drive, Redding, CA 96002
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We invite you to come and stay with us at the Holiday Inn Hotel & Convention Center in Redding, California. Our hotel is your gateway to Northern California's Shasta Cascade Region, an outdoor wonderland of green mountains and forests, and provides easy access to local features including Shasta Lake, Whiskeytown Lake, Lassen Volcanic National Park, McArthur-Burney Falls Memorial State Park, Castle Crags Wilderness, Shasta-Trinity National Forest and the Pacific Crest Trail. Conveniently located, the Holiday Inn Hotel is nearby Redding s own attractions, such as Turtle Bay Exploration Park, Sundial Bridge, Big League Dreams Sports Park and Waterworks Park.The Convention Center at the Holiday Inn Hotel is the perfect setting for business meetings, reunions, weddings, luncheons, trade shows, anniversary parties and more! In-house catering is available and provided by our on site restaurant, the Braided Mane, 2009 Golden Plate award winner!Business and leisure travelers will appreciate that this Redding hotel offers free wireless high-speed Internet access in all of the public areas. If you are without your own computer, the Holiday Inn hotel has a public computer available to all guests. Enjoy breakfast, lunch and dinner in our full-service restaurant or, at the end of your day, relax comfortably in the hotel lounge or by the outdoor pool. We care for your comfort! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Redding Hotel Redding
Redding Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing