We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$145
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Redding CA(Redding)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$153
US$134
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Redding)(Great Value!)
US$101
ComfortInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
US$145
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thunderbird Lodge(Redding)(Great Value!)
US$84
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Twin View Inn & Suites(Redding)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
56
44
39
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
56
44
39
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbiggest concernroom was cleantwo sinkslots of parkingnice hotellounge areashasta areabreak insolder propertyrestaurants in walking distancehotel restaurantgood nights sleeprecommend staying herepleasant stayrestaurant attachedfree weightsa long road trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 163 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

This is a reasonable HI. Rooms were very clean and spacious. However, reception had characterless service. Didn't make me feel particularly welcome, even though I'm a platinum elite member. Asking for an extended check out seemed to be a bit of an imposition from the reception lady on the phone. Had a good nights sleep though, even though the AC rattled constantly. It worked well though. A reasonable stopover on our road trip.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank B11boss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you liked the size of your room and found it very clean. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations with your guest service. Rest assured that this will be looked into to avoid the same situations being encountered in the future.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exceptional service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

The hotel was clean. Staff tried to be helpful, but had difficulty locating us a spare blanket for the night. Wifi internet was very slow, though it was complementary. We were nervous about the potential for our vehicle to be broken into, as we had been warned about break-ins in the surrounding neighborhood by the hotel staff. Thankfully our car was fine. Overall, it was fine though. I would recommend this to family/friends.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Jed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Unfortunately there has been some city wide issues regarding break ins and we feel that we need to inform our guests when they arrive just so that extra precaution can be taken. I am glad to hear however that your overall stay with us was good. We will be looking forward to your next visit to our hotel next time you are in the Redding area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Booked this online and it had good ratings. Came in late in the afternoon and it was 109 degrees outside. The rooms have the window air conditioning units that sound like you are sitting on a runway at an airport. The room was very hot, the AC unit was off. I turned it on at 78 and went out to dinner came back and the room was still pretty warm. The unit cycled all night long as was so loud you couldn't hear the TV when it was running and then the TV was blasting when it cycled off. Ended up have to turn the thermostat on the unit down to 68 to get the room down to probably 78.

Room Tip: I would stay at the Hampton Inn or Hilton Garden Inn and not here ever again. Both of those places are nicer.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Silver660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Silver660,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are pleased you liked the hotel exterior. We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we were not able to exceed your expectations with your room accommodation. Rest assured that this will be looked into to avoid the same situations being encountered in the future.

Thank you for staying with us and we all hope that you will give us another opportunity to pamper you and provide you with exceptional service.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

After a long drive, the last thing that you want is a grumpy, unhelpful and inefficient receptionist and that is what we got. Long time to get checked-in, I hate to think what it would be like if there were a lot of people arriving at the same time. Unfortunately, few of the staff that we encountered were any better and this was surprising as most Holiday Inns now seem to have very customer orientated and well trained staff.

The room was a reasonably clean but pretty standard chain hotel room with a bed that provided a couple of nights of decent sleep.

The hotel sprawls over quite a large area so that it may be quite a walk from reception to your room. The receptionist should have told us that there was a better parking area than where we were, and there is lots of parking available, and this would have helped a lot. There is a smallish, but perfectably usable outdoor pool although the hot tub was defective (hot but only a few bubbles) while we were there. The pool area furniture could do with a good clean or replacement and was disappointing compared to other hotels that we had been staying in.

We didn't eat in the hotel as an empty eating area and a fairly limited menu does note bode well. However, there are a couple of reasonable restaurants straight across the road.

The hotel seems to be popular with utilities as there were a lot of their trucks parked in the car park while we were there.

Room Tip: When checking-in ask where to park to avoid a potentially long walk with luggage.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Highlander022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Dear Highlander022,

Thank you for your review regarding your experience. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to bring this matter to our attention and apologize for any inconvenience the hotel staff may have caused. We will follow up with the staff to ensure that similar incidents won't happen again. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Wow ~ this is twice I've been pleasantly surprised by Holiday Inn. One of the better hotels along "the strip" (my personal nickname because of all the hotels) and it was nice to have such elegant simplicity. The rooms are spacious, clean, and have a mini frig; although, only half of the rooms offer microwaves. I presume they assign the microwave rooms to those who pay a higher rate.
The bar keep was pleasant and went out of her way to ask for any requests. Nice hotel and will most likely stay upon my return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tr21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brandi M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Hotel and Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our property. We are thrilled that you noticed how helpful and welcoming our Team is - we will be sure to share your feedback with them! Our goal is to create a hotel our guests love, home away from home! We look forward to seeing you again in the very near future should you find yourself in Redding, California again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews