We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Passing Thru”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Ranked #12 of 36 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Passing Thru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stay quite frequently at the Redding Red Lion on our way to see family. Usually it is a late check in and I have found the staff to be friendly, responsive and very friendly. The rooms are large, clean and well appointed. I have really appreciated the new bedding, furniture and TV's.

Room Tip: We like the rooms facing into the grass/courtyard area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HIze1231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    179
    95
    45
    37
See reviews for
180
138
29
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Spijkenisse, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Like the most of the Red Lion Hotels, this is rather huge. Standard rooms were spacious, tidy and with a nice small seating in front (on a balcony if you stay at the 2nd floor). Staff was very friendly. The service in the bar-restaurant was friendly and helpful. At Saturday Night they also have live music and the place fills up with locals. Rooms were ok, food was ok, staff was ok, price was ok. Sure a recommendation worth!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bastiaan57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeport, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

Spent Fri & Sat nite last weekend which was Big Bike Weekend in Redding. I ride a motorcycle and love the sound of them but don't want to hear them when I'm trying to sleep and this room made that easily possible. Even tho there were literally 100's of bikes our room was on the inner side overlooking the pool so there was no noise problem at all. Room was spacious, clean & comfortable.

Arrived early evening to check in and had the opportunity to watch the young lady @ reception help the people in front of us. She was the epitome of friendly & helpful to them as well as us and the smile literally never left her face. Spoke w/her a couple of more times during our two nite stay and she remained cheery, friendly and professional throughout. I am embarrassed to say I am unable to recall her name (it was somewhat unusual) however want to give her kudos for her hospitality!

As for location convenience is an understatement. The hotel is within walking distance of shopping, numerous restaurants and all of the events for Big Bike Weekend. If you want an easy access on/off of I5, friendly staff, clean rooms and a peaceful nites sleep I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kahunacandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemet, California
Level Contributor
239 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

This Hotel is Location Location Location...really enjoyed Redding because of the location of this Hotel... I didn't realise how much Redding has to offer...I've stayed in Redding before but not in this area...and honestly didn't know this area exsited...
This Hotel was top notch and to Red Lions standards....I would recomend this Hotel for Family stay..exspecially if you have more than 1 night...Teens would not be board here..

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandymccluskey1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

We originally stayed in the Red Lion Redding back in March. It was just finishing up a remodel project and not quite fully done. Still we had a very good experience. This time all of the remodel was complete and we were not let down in our expectations. We even drove longer than usual just to get there. From the friendly reception staff, housekeeping personnel and the lounge waitress, we were well served. Next time we are traveling through the area, we will be sure to stop again.

Room Tip: They are pet friendly and have ground floor rooms that open right up to the pet area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bimster69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

We enjoyed our break at his hotel very miuch, Nice clean rooms, with plenty of extra pillows on the bed, which we love. I hate having to call room service for more pillows. Also enjoyed the bar on site & the excellent hot breakfast buffet in the morning before we left. Very pleasant staff, from receptionists to cleaners, all had a friendly smile.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lov2wonder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

While traveling to Arizona we had to stop for one night. We arrived very late after midnight in Redding, and chose the first place we saw which was the Red Lion Hotel. We where only going two be needing the room for about 6 hours of sleep. Most places that are not full with their occupancy will give you a walk-in rate that time of night but not this one. The room on the bottom floor smelt musty and dusty. The shower basin was absolutely dangerous in the way it was constructed. We did however get a free breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 36 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Property: Red Lion Hotel Redding
Address: 1830 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing