We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Crumbling drywall with bad wallpaper.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Lion Hotel Redding

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Redding
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Crumbling drywall with bad wallpaper.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2010

Not a very healthy place to sleep. Resembled an archeological dig.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bizman_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ckorol, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, 5 November 2010
Thank you for taking the time to submit a comment. During your stay, we were in the process of renovating our guest corridors with new wall vinyl, paint and carpet. I appologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. I am pleased to announce this project has been completed and hope you will give us another opportunity in the not so distant future. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    176
    94
    41
    36
See reviews for
175
137
29
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2010

We stayed here just one night on our way to San Francisco because I had Red Lion R & R Club points to cash in. I can't complain too much because the night was free. The front desk staff greeted me warmly and check-in was a breeze. Fortunately, our room was in the wing of the hotel away from the I-5 freeway. It was a 2nd floor room facing the interior pool courtyard. But it was upstairs and we had all the luggage two people would need for a 9-night road trip. The parking lot was open to the adjacent hotel and to the street, so our only choice was to carry everything up the fairly steep steps to the second floor.

We noticed worn carpeting and torn wallpaper along the hallways, but everything seemed clean. The room was similarly clean, although the decor was dated (think 1980s vintage in terms of style, but I'm sure it was newer than that). Bathroom had a sink and combo tub/shower. A second sink was located just outside the bedroom door which I recall at each Red Lion I've visited - a nice touch for helping two people get ready in the morning.

This hotel was very typical of the Red Lion chain: not splashy and good value when you book ahead and can get one of their many promotional deals.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TacomaGuys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Altos, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2010

We stayed there 2 nights on a trip to Shasta Caverns, Shasta Dam and Lassen Volcano National Park. We got the room from priceline and they gave us a room with one queen bed. Fortunately, we brought our queen aerobed and there was just enough space for it so we can fit our family of 4. The rooms are updated and quite nice. It even has a balcony with 2 chairs. The bathroom are remodeled and quite big. The hotel pool was nice and big. The hallway looks older though and needs to be updated.

The hotel has a nice breakfast where you pay $4.99 and you get a buffet with lots of food which includes egg, bacon, breakfast burrito, pancake, yogurt, milk, cereal, juices, coffee, danish... Kids eat free too.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yihsins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2010

I stayed at the Red Lion recently for a week and am sad to say that I do not recommend this hotel. Every experience I had with the front desk was impolite, rude, and most of them did not seem knowledgeable beyond the basic check-in. The staff only smiled when I gave compliments, and didn't even give full sentences when I had questions (one of them didn't know the answer to my question and then just walked away and ignored me). The housekeeping staff however, were really friendly and went out of their way to care for the guests. It's too bad they can't switch the entire front desk staff with housekeeping.

The doors of the rooms are high off the ground so you can clearly hear everything in the hallway, which makes sleeping difficult when there are noisy people walking through or children running amok.

The hotel pricing was really expensive compared to the other hotels in the area and I met some people used the ivisitredding website to find extremely affordable accommodations in the area, which I will use next time. I only booked here because I have a friend that used to work at the Red Lion in Portland and wanted to give it a try.

The furniture and carpeting is a bit old, but relatively clean. The amenities are average (toiletries, towels, etc) compared to all the hotels I have been to (I used to be a flight attendant and have stayed at many). And I spotted a few bugs in the bathroom during the week.

The business center and gym are small, but the outdoor pool looked nice.

One of the only pro's for the hotel is its breakfast buffet. It was pretty good and included eggs, potatoes, sausage, bacon, breakfast sandwiches/burritos, cereal, yogurt, soy milk, hot coffee, assorted Starbucks teas, juices, bagels, scones & danishes. For $5, they should just include it complimentary in the excessive room rates.

This hotel needs to lower their rates (or upgrade the rooms and amenities), include breakfast, and get at least one or two professional mature employees at the front desk.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2010

Air conditioner sounds like prop engine airplane, found dried fruit on floor by bed, couldn't open sliding glass doors, cig burns in drapes. We had car troubles and put our car in the shop 8 blocks from hotel. Asked for shuttle service and were told it was only for airport. Asked if we could check out 30 minutes late at 12:30p.m. and were told people where waiting for room. Pool area looked nice but was dirty and poorly maintained, as was hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetone222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ckorol, General Manager at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, 3 August 2010
Thank you for bringing your concern about our hotel to our attention. Our consistent goals of cleanliness, quality, security and friendly service require diligent attention to feedback from our guests. I was deeply concerned to hear of the challenges you faced and I assure you these are the exceptions rather than the rules. I will look into this personally to insure it does not occur in the future. We hope you will give our hotel another opportunity to demonstrate our usually impeccable service and product in the not so distant future.

Thank you for your correspondence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arcata, CA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2010

Hotel is has a great pool and could be a good facility if it were fixed up. Breakfast was good. Carpet was old, walpaper peeling off walls. Not what it use to be a decade ago.
Too much for what you get.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CAHumboldter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlFletcher, Owner at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, 28 July 2010
We wanted to say thank you for your stay with us and we were pleased to be able to provide with excellent service during your visit with us. We are currently evaluating our hotels and there fit & finish and need for renovation. We take all reviews very serious and especially those in regards to the condition of our hotels. We value your opinion and your perception of the property as it relates to how you feel when you stay with us. This will be passed on to operations at the corporate office.

Carl Fletcher
Red Lion Hotels Corporation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

The hotel has a seventies feel to it, but it works, making it seem almost retro (without trying to be). The rooms were nice size. Flat screen televisions should be put in as an upgrade. The rooms are all no smoking, but smoking is allowed on balconies, patios and the pool area. We especially did not like the smoking at the pool.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marshm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlFletcher, Owner at Red Lion Hotel Redding, responded to this review, 23 July 2010
We just wanted to say thank you for your stay with us and are very happy to hear that our efforts to have an entire non smoking hotel are working from the guest rooms standpoint. We do regret that you were unhappy with the smoking at the pool area. We work with the guidelines of the city and although we at no time wish for any guest to have less than an positive experience we do have to consider the rights of all who visit us. Again, thank you so much for your time and efforts in writing this review and helping to guide us to a better guest experience. We can only hope that you will continue to think of Red Lion on your next trip.

Carl Fletcher
Red Lion Corporate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
0.1 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 37 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hilltop Inn
3.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Redding
3.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Redding
3.1 mi away
Comfort Suites Redding
Comfort Suites Redding
#10 of 37 in Redding
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel Redding

Property: Red Lion Hotel Redding
Address: 1830 Hilltop Dr, Redding, CA 96002-0212
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redding
#8 Romantic Hotel in Redding
#9 Business Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Red Lion Hotel Redding 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Red Lion Hotel Redding is the gateway to Northern California's recreational playground. Adjacent to I-5, the Red Lion Hotel Redding is just five minutes from downtown and 15 minutes from the airport via our complimentary airport transportation. The Redding Convention Center, Mt. Shasta Mall and excellent golf courses are nearby with Lake Shasta, Whiskey Town Lake, Mt. Lassen Volcanic State Park, the Sundial Bridge and other local attractions just minutes away. Our 192 elegantly appointed and spacious guest rooms have new air conditioning throughout. Two suites feature all the amenities you'd expect of a first-class hotel. These include private balconies or patios, king or queen beds, complimentary Wi-Fi and upgrade available, voicemail and Encore on demand movies. For recreation, try our outdoor pool - largest hotel pool in area. Whirlpool, kiddie pool and fitness center or relax around our spacious courtyard. We offer Red Lion's signature Roaring Start Breakfast Buffet... And don't forget, kids 10 and younger eat free with each adult. The 3-Shastas Bar and Grill is available for on-site dining, drinks and entertainment. With 8,731 square feet of meeting space, we are also able to accommodate as few as 10 or as many as 650 for your next conference or special occasion. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Redding Red Lion Hotel is committed to your care, comfort and value. "Redding's Lodging Leader." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Red Lion Hotel Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Lion Redding
Redding Red Lion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing