We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not stay again”
Review of Super 8 Redding

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 Redding
Ranked #10 of 36 Hotels in Redding
California
Level 6 Contributor
654 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
“Will not stay again”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

After staying at several better hotels during this trip, I was disappointed with the Super 8 in Redding. We stayed at other Super 8 before and were satisfied, not this one. This old, old motel just didn't do it for us. We did not make any hotel reservations while traveling back from Seattle to L.A. and did not know where we will stop. With the hotel coupon book in hand, we thought we should be OK. The first one we stopped at claimed that they didn't have the advertised room and wanted to charge more for a room. No, thank you. We headed over here because we had good experience with other Super 8. Entering the parking lot was OK, easy parking. Check-in was fine and they did have the advertised rate of $54.95 per night. Staff was really friendly and helpful. But, the motel itself is sad, the room dingy and worn out. Our room was on the second floor, no elevator, mind you. The hallway was dark and just had the old feeling. Our bed was right next to the air conditioner, so I was cold and hot depending when it decided to work or stop. Good thing that we were just there for one night. Breakfast was minimal, but they did have a waffle maker so that made up for it. This was the only place where we were the only ones having breakfast at the lobby tiny eating area. The only plus was the ice machine in the breakfast area, we got all the ice we needed. Oh, and it is close to the freeway but we will definitely not coming back.

Room Tip: No room here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    144
    101
    71
    43
See reviews for
196
105
62
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sparks, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

While the sheets seemed relatively clean, everything else was dirty. The drapes, carpet, and chair were all heavily stained. All metallic surfaces had greasy fingerprints and the furniture was covered in a dirty, sticky film of grime.

The glass doors into the hotel were all covered in greasy fingerprints and appeared not to have been wiped for at least a week.

We are working-class people fine with staying in simple, budget hotels. However, for $150 I think we are at least entitled to cleanliness.

Room Tip: Do not stay here. Go to the Baymont Inn in Redding. For the less money you get a much cleaner room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BonnieandPolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Redding hotels

Vienna, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Property in great order. Everything worked, staff was efficient and courteous and at $72/night, you can't beat the price.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAPilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We were traveling back to Oregon from California and got as far as Redding, CA. Unfortunately, it was the weekend of an astronomical event that would have great viewing in the area so most of the hotels were full. We didn't have reservations because we didn't know how far we would go that day. The only hotel that had a room available was this one. I understand that when you've got the only rooms left in town, you can charge what you want. But the sign required by California law stated that the most that can be charged for the room was $84.99 for 2 people for the night. The sign goes on to say that we should protest any overcharges within 30 days. We were charged $99.99 for the night for 2 people. It wasn't worth it to file the paperwork necessary to get our $15 back. But I don't think I'll consider Super 8 ever again. As soon as we saw the sign in our room we felt cheated.

As some other reviewers have said, this is a very old, worn out hotel that reeks of stale cigarettes. The carpet in our room had some kind of sticky stuff in spots so we didn't walk around barefoot. The air conditioner rattled so loud you couldn't hear the television while it was on. We didn't stick around to see what their "breakfast" was. After all the wonderful hotels we had stayed in on our trip, it really left a bad taste to finish our trip at this place.

Room Tip: Choose another place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
Thank Kathy12054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cave Junction, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

what the internet list and what the motel has are two different things, their Jacuzzi is like a lukewarm bath, the sauna has not worked in years, the internet says dogs allowed, when I got there, no dogs, put $50. cash depo for dog stay and can not get my money back! we only went to sleep there and my dog was with me all the time. Tried to get in touch with management, she will not call me back. They took my money and will not return it! I have called numerous times to speak to the manager/owner, she will not take my call or call me back. they pocketed my money! thats stealing!

Room Tip: do not choose this place, they are not honest people
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiejok22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

It's an old hotel keeping up appearances. Staff friendly and helpful, lobby area is pleasent BUT... the non smoking rooms were once smoking rooms and it reek. Plus the old bed cover had cigaret burn holes in it. The bedding smelled smoky and I had a terrible time sleeping ...it was bad. Plus the climate control window unit was inefficient and loud, rattling noisy. We needed it because of the smell of smoke but sleeping with it on was impossible. The bed was jammed in against the wall on one side so the left sided sleeper was jammed in too. The amenities like TV, microwave and fridge was added though the room was not designed to accommodate them. They were placed on any flat surface so you don't have anyplace to put anything! There was more to trip over, but you get the idea. Enter rooms from hallway. It has old furnishings and skimpy, light wt. as can be sheets and towles. One night we could grin and bare it. The room rate for this we considered to be HIGH. Breakfast, complimentary, was/is sparce by Super 8 standards. It was clean as could be under the circumstances. The front desk staff was good. BUT...

Room Tip: It's close to the airport RDD but that's about all! I would choose another hotel in the fut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Synchroswimmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here overnight and slept pretty well. The cost of the room was a bit pricier than at other Super 8 motels in the country but I think the rates were higher because of a convention or festival happening that weekend. The room was quiet except that any hallway noise crept in. The staff was very nice and approachable. There is free wi-fi that worked pretty well. Breakfast was basic of waffles, cereal, and oatmeal. There is also a pool and hot tub on site.

Room Tip: Ask the front desk about getting a room with the best wi-fi access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pinktulip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redding hotels
4.7 mi away
Travelodge Redding CA
Travelodge Redding CA
#5 of 36 in Redding
1,550 reviews
6.2 mi away
Ramada Limited Redding
Ramada Limited Redding
#27 of 36 in Redding
561 reviews
3.1 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Redding
Red Lion Hotel Redding
#13 of 36 in Redding
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Redding
2.9 mi away
Oxford Suites Redding
Oxford Suites Redding
#2 of 36 in Redding
1,325 reviews
2.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Redding
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 Redding? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Redding

Property: Super 8 Redding
Address: 5175 Churn Creek Rd, Off I-5 North & South, Redding, CA 96002-3915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redding
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Redding
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Redding 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Super 8 is a subsidiary of Wyndham Worldwide. We are an economy brand with fresh amenities and great service at an unbeatable price. We offer what most 3 star hotels offer at a fraction of the cost. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Super 8 Redding reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Motel Redding Hotel Redding
Super Eight Redding
Redding Super Eight
Redding Super 8
Super 8 Hotel Redding

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing