We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location”
Review of Palos Verdes Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Palos Verdes Inn
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This is where the airlines place their employees. It has a good location, near the beach, restaurants, and night life. That's it. I wish my phone was working so I could take photos, you wouldn't believe.
The lobby is nice and that's it. The jacuzzi and pool are located in a greenhouse unit near the inn and the jacuzzi turned my jewelry brown!!!!! Never before!
The rooms can have a nice view if you choose to pay the extra fee, we did.
The bathrooms look exactly like my high school gym bathroom, industrial toilets (yes that's right) and the same tiles I had in my house in 1957 in shower but gym floor.. Door to bath has wood rot and has a wooden bottom piece about 6" to try to cover it. It doesn't. Everything is original (from '50s) like the industrial toilet and bath and floor in bath. The furniture is from the 70's but gratefully, the sheets are new. Most baths have holes in doors and rust from tubs.
There is in room coffee and a small balcony overlooking parking lot and beach which is nice.
The heat/cool system must have given out years ago as each room has a heater/cooler that is portable and VERY noisy. They work but you need a white noise generator if you plan on sleeping thru it.
Elevators are original and slow.
So stay if you want the location....... otherwise I"ve never been in such a gross place in the U.S.
and i have never been treated a a princess..... The price is high the quality low...

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view unless you are just sleeping and leaving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank buza831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Palos Verdes Inn. I am so sorry that your jewelry changed color by the hot tub. A full remodel of the hotel is in the planning stages, so feedback like yours will only help us make this upcoming face lift the best it can be. Until then we hope that our fantastic team will be able to provide you with, and make any changes needed to make your stay pleasant. We always encourage every guest to please contact us at any time should there be an issue, so that we have an opportunity to correct it while you are still here.

Best Regards,
Goran Ljubinovic
gm@palosverdesinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2013

elevator doesn't work, internet doesn't work. shower switches from freezing cold to boiling hot and back again over and over. not enough plugs to charge your electronics. carpets in the rooms have great location though. i'd be happy if they fixed one of the things wrong with the hotel, but they don't...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjsitko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience at Palos Verdes Inn. We appreciate all feedback, as it helps us improve our service and our hotel. I am glad to hear that the team here took good care of you, in spite of the faults that you found with the product. I sincerely apologize for the condition in which you found the hotel. There elevator is being remodeled, and we are waiting for one missing part before it can be put back to use. A full remodel of the hotel is in the planning stages, so feedback like yours will only help us make this upcoming face lift the best it can be. Until then we hope that our fantastic team will be able to provide you with, and make any changes needed to make your stay pleasant. We always encourage every guest to please contact us at any time should there be an issue, so that we have an opportunity to correct it while you are still here.
We would love to welcome you back and to serve you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We stay in Redondo Beach at least 6 times a year. When the hotel we normally stay with was fully booked, we gave this one a try. We had a 4th floor room with a king size bed. The room rate for a Saturday night was only $119! ($133 total with taxes.) We were amazed by the incredible panoramic view of the coast from our room and private balcony. The balcony had patio chairs and a little table. The room had a large comfortable armchair, desk, internet, TV, small fridge, in room coffee, iron and hair dryer. The bed was comfortable, but only came with 3 pillows. No problem...we called the front desk and when we returned from dinner, extra pillows had been delivered. No gym, but a nice outdoor pool. A half mile walk or bike ride to the beach.We have paid much more, over the years, to stay right across from the harbor and have never had a view like the one we had here. It was romantic. The hotel has no restaurant or breakfast service of it's own, but that is ok. Right next door, is "The Original House Of Pancakes". (not IHOP) Very reasonably priced, delicious breakfasts. Only open until 2pm and on a Sunday we had to wait 30 minutes for a table. Well worth the wait. (wonderful potato pancakes) The corner bakery, located a few doors down is also good for coffee, pastries, salads & sandwiches. Also nearby is the Bull Pen, a excellent steak house, famous for many. many years, in this area. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 426.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Soulmates2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2013

Dear Soulmates2012,

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Palos Verdes Inn. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Goran Ljubinovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

The sunset view is amazing from your balcony or one of the many places to dine that are within walking distance! The hotel is older but well kept except for an elevator that constantly had a repair man out to service it. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. I can't wait to stay again !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nutter2783
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Nutter2783,

I`m so glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and wonderful view form your balcony. We look forward to your next stay with us!

Sincerely,
Goran Ljubinovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We had planned to stay at the best western up the road but it wasn't available so we were directed to this hotel. The price was reasonable, the rooms were big and clean and the location is close to the beach. The staff were friendly. It feels like a bit of a 'heyday' hotel but we slept well so can't really complain. Parking was free and there was free WiFi.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel_World_999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 September 2013

Dear Travel_World_999,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Palos Verdes Inn. It is with our guests suggestion and comments that we continue to improve. please come see us again in the future.


Sincerely,
Goran Ljubinovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

We had originally booked this place for 8 days. In the pictures it looked nice. When we arrived i was disappointed extreme. The hotel was very out dated. The next morning in the middle of my shower the lights went out. Seems to happen often. The bike rentals arent really free & crapy bikes too. Left that same day to a Best Western. Crapy place.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beaches201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2013

Dear Beaches201,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent visit to Palos Verdes Inn. We value all forms of guest feedback as an opportunity to continually improve our services and facilities for our guest. It is of great concern that I have learned your experience fell, not only short, but well bellow par, of your expectations. Your feedback is valuable to the renovation discussion, so thank you again for your comments.
Please accept my apology for your experience at our hotel and I hope you will come and stay at our hotel to see our new renovations when complete. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

Gm@palosverdesinn.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

This was the Inn I stayed at when my flight was cancelled.
The room was large & clean and the Staff were always Pleasant & helpful.
Best part Location,location location.
Easy access to the Beach & shops all within easy walking distances and only 15 minutes from airport by shuttle.
The room would be better with a repaint, a tad overdue, but outside that every thing worked & I had a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank DavidGordon365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalosVerdesInn, Manager at Palos Verdes Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

Dear David Gordon,

Thank you for staying with us and thank you for sharing your experience at the Palos Verdes Inn.I`m glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Goran ljubinovic
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redondo Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
2.1 mi away
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
5.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles/Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
2.1 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
511 reviews
5.2 mi away
Residence Inn Los Angeles Redondo Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palos Verdes Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palos Verdes Inn

Address: 1700 S Pacific Coast Hwy, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-5902
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Price Range: £83 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Palos Verdes Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palos Verdes Inn is the classic hotel landmark in L.A.'s South Bay region. Located just minutes south of LAX, Palos Verdes Inn is in the 'boutique' Riviera Village section of south Redondo Beach, just steps away from clean and quiet Torrance Beach, and the boutique shops and restaurants in the neighborhood. Two miles from world-class shopping at Del Amo Fashion Center. Tired of the heat and hustle of L.A., Beverly Hills and Hollywood? Tired of the crowds in Santa Monica and Venice? Then Redondo Beach is THE place to stay! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Palos Verdes Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palos Verdes Hotel Redondo Beach
Hotel Palos Verdes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing