We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Amazing Getaway...beautiful view of the harbor and sea lions swimming from the balcony of our lovely room.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed in the oceanfront room and had a lovely view of the harbor, ocean and sea lions playing. We were upgraded to a suite and it was super comfortable, with nice amenities like claw foot bathtub and great balcony.
I will definitely stay at this hotel again even though I live in the area!!!
Great staff!

Room Tip: Get the oceanfront room as the view is very tranquil.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

The view of the harbor is my personal favorite. The playful sea lions, the wind floating across the peaceful ocean, the dolphins dancing at sunrise, volumes could be filled with the distinct pleasure that comes from our Oceanside accommodations, and the regal bathtub featured in our suites is a consistent hit. We are fortunate to have such a gem of a team here at the Portofino, and I will be sure to share this review with them.

We look forward to ensuring your next stay-cation is just as terrific.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,645)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,047 - 1,053 of 1,645 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2014

We really liked this hotel. Stayed for one night of our honeymoon. Service is good and rooms are very nice, especially ones with a view of the marina/sea walls...the resident sea lions make it a plus for nature lovers.

Only complaint...our next door neighbors were drunk and arguing very loud and very late. Hotel management did not take care of it to my satisfaction, as they said they'd come up right away and the arguing went on for at least another hour.

Room Tip: Ocean view...second or third floor...worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethann402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Congratulations! How fortunate we were to have had you on such a special night. From sea lions to hotel staff we are known for making peoples stays great. Noisy neighbors are never acceptable, and I apologize it took us an hour to get that resolved.

Please let me know when I can make accommodations for your anniversary.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

OK, I get that it's a beach hotel. And I did enjoy my stay. But it does need some updating. The hallways have that musty odor, and the stairwells for some reason smell like Johnson's Baby Shampoo ( I know, could be worse).
I asked for a bedboard at check-in, they couldn't provide. The bed was pseudo-firm... you know, where the top is firm but you can feel the lack of support underneath the top surface. Kinda like the opposite of a pillow-top mattress.
But the location is great. And service pretty good...very friendly and helpful, but room service forgot an item, and it of course took a long time.

Birds outside the Marina side rooms are LOUD, and the restaurant next door (Balleen?) contributes to quite a bit of night noise.

The jacuzzi was around 90 degrees, couldn't use it at that low a temp.

Room Tip: upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BDR0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I am glad that your enjoyed your stay. While many enjoy our comfortable beds I am sorry they did not fit your needs. I am glad that our service was good, but will contact our restaurant General Manager to ensure that orders are delivered complete moving forward. BALEEN kitchen is quite popular, but we certainly wouldn’t want noise to carry to your room, and our Jacuzzi should always be at 104. Thank you for bringing these to our attention so that your next stay can be even better.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I had a room booked at a luxurious resort for Mothers Day. Unfortunately, the resort was oversold and we were very disappointed with our overpriced room. We left and looked for a nearby hotel - I wanted something charming by the ocean and we got lucky with the Portofino. We walked in and were given great service. We got a great ocean view room for a decent price. The elevator and the hallways were a bit dated, but the room itself was perfect. We could see seals and boats from our private balcony, had a nice romantic sunset and I slept comfortably until 10:00 am. We also got a late check out with no hassle and I left feeling more relaxed than I have in a long time. We are already planning our Father's Day getaway there!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank emilyplayz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Happy belated Mother’s Day! While I am disappointed your experience at our competitor’s hotel was so negative, I am glad it brought us together. Thank you for the kind words, I couldn’t be more pleased that your stay was “perfect.”

I look forward to seeing you for Father’s Day.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed for Mother's Day weekend, our son was graduating from a local University. Front desk was more than accommodating. A big "thank you" to Jerome and Rigo. The room was amazing and the ocean view is spectacular from the third floor. Valet attendants were always nice and quick. Free 2hr bike rentals! We loved talking with Kevin who recommended the perfect bike trail! Hermosa and Manhattan Beach were beautiful. We only wish we had more time. We can't wait to come back!

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Dollbugg66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

A very happy Mother’s Day to you, and hardy congratulations to your son! We are honored you chose us for such a special day. Jerome and Rigo are two rock stars at the Portofino, and I am glad they made this dual holiday “spectacular.” Our veteran team of Valet attendants, come armed with complimentary bike rentals making them a true asset to the property, and Kevin’s experience with local bike trails can make for a perfect experience.

Come back and see us again soon!

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

They lure you with seemingly low price, but nickel & dimes you on everything else.
- Self Parkings: $26 a day?. (on ground and 100 ft away from main entrance)
- Refrigerator is locked with their stuff, which if you just open it you will be charged. (what happens if we bring left over food from the favorite restaurant?)
- Water (by the bed): $5 a bottle.
- Soap: a message written on it. "you can have me for $2". Yak!!!.
- Internet service : $11.50 a day (pisst, if you promise to keep it secrete, I will tell you, with password "GUESTS", WiFi is free everywhere)

Finally, the noise from the bird is very loud, though could be tolerable.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zorbah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Lovely location. They have a late check-in time of 4pm but checked us in at 10:30am with an ocean view room for only $40 more. We ran into another couple who was offered the same "deal." It's worth it because of the balcony and view.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I am so pleased that our location was just what you were looking for. While our check-in time is 4pm we do our best to get our guests in as soon as possible, and I am glad that our special upgrade rate of the day meant a great view for you!

Come back and watch the seals with us anytime!

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
482 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
870 reviews
2.9 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 9 in Manhattan Beach
514 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range: £152 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing