We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place to stay, a place of peace and graciousness”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Lakewood, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to stay, a place of peace and graciousness”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

It is a peaceful place and just what we needed as our trip was to say goodbye to a friend who is dying of cancer. We found so much solace looking at the ocean, hearing the seals "talking' and we could see the lights of Palos Verdes where our friend lives. Everyone was so kind and accommodating!

Room Tip: We had an ocean side view and loved hearing the seals talk to each other, the paddle boaters, and th...
See more room tips
Green Features: Wonderful. A place of beauty! I read some comments about the valet parking. The real estate is expensive, the parking is limited in the area, and so they must charge to be sure spaces are used for their guests. The charge was very low, not like I read on some reviews I found on the Internet.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThepricesIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us during this difficult time. I am pleased that you and your friend found solace in the calming ocean and talkative seals. No matter what your reason for visiting us, it is our hope that every guest is greeted by the accommodating staff that you encountered, and that the Portofino is known for.

We appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,578 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    830
    420
    175
    87
    66
See reviews for
369
568
66
319
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We found the staff to be very attentive and friendly. Everyone we encountered made sure that our stay was enjoyable. We received an upgraded room without asking and really appreciate this. The hotel was very clean and well maintained.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
I am so pleased that our friendly team made your stay a success! Going the extra mile for a guest is exactly the type of culture we are growing at the Portofino. I am confident that our front desk team and housekeeping team will be pleased to read your kind review.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here for eight days.Our first time at this location. We had a Marina side room on third floor. Our friends from California had a third floor ocean side room. Both rooms had a balcony. Our room was roomy and nicely appointed,and clean. We found all the staff to be very helpful and friendly,from the managers to the front desk clerks as well as cleaning and maintenance staff. They helped with any requests and information-The Marina side room was considerably larger than our friends room on the ocean side. Our room was quiet even though there was a wedding party taking place.The hotel has a meet and greet with complementary drinks,cheese and crackers. We found this to be a refreshing way to meet the staff and have access to management,who were genuinely interested in our feedback and comments. The valet parking was excellent,very friendly and knowledgable staff. We had two small issues the first night-burnt out bulb on desk lamp and a loose, leaky shower head. Both were addressed and fixed immediately. Our room was made-up,cleaned daily and we enjoyed fresh flowers in the room that we purchased locally. The staff provided two vases for the flowers,as it was my wife's birthday later in the week. There is a nearby farmers market along Redondo beach walk which we found fresh produce reasonably priced.
The Baleen restaurant directly across from the hotel at the Marina was very convenient and found the food to be very good there.We have some local friends in the area and used this hotel as our base traveling further out to see Los Angeles sites.We would stay here again if returning to the area.We found it relaxing to rent kayaks,or paddle boards. Bicycles are also available at the hotel,though we did not use these.We would also recommend a nearby restaurant for Italian food,that was excellent,"Hostaria Piave" 231 S. Pacific Coast Hwy Redondo Beach.

Room Tip: Ocean side rooms,may have smaller compared to Marina side,nice sun sets on ocean side.You may have s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Parker212013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
What a great vacation! I am pleased to read that your room was comfortable and clean, but am elated to see that our team was so friendly. We are proud of our associates, and there hard work is what makes this place tick. Our new GM’s reception on Wednesdays is quickly catching on, and is loved by guests and management alike. While I am disappointed you encountered challenges in your room I am glad they were addressed and fixed quickly.

Baleen is a real treat, with unique alluring food, and having Kayaks and bikes available on property makes us a one stop shop for a great stay.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milford, New Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing stay. My favorite hotel yet! Laura at the front desk was so helpful. Beautifully appointed building and grounds. We loved watching people paddle boarding in the harbor and listening to the fur seals. The hotel is very elegant while still being accessible and comfortable for families.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
Amazing stays are our specialty here at the Portofino Hotel! Laura is a veteran at the Portofino, and her friendly helpful attitude is one of the things that makes the Portofino a great place to stay. A seal serenade is always a treat, especially when sitting in our comfortable well-appointed guest rooms.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 August 2014

All the staff has been great, but Louie went beyond the call to fix our AC. Plus he brought movies for our daughter to watch. Thanks Louie. Forcing me to leave positive feedback is not so good though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank j1024k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
I am so glad that Louie took such good care of you. He is a true gem, and we are lucky to have him. We encourage all of our guests to leave feedback of Tripadvisor, however I certainly wouldn’t want anyone to feel as though they were pressured into doing so.

I would love to hear more details of your stay.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
nnichols@hotelportofino.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Yes the location of this hotel is great - staff very pleasant, etc --
Rooms are dated, you feel like going back into the early 90's.
What bothered me was the fact that Internet was $12 - self parking on the property $20 (I didn't have a car and they still tried to charge it) - breakfast was $20+ - so once all these extras are added it becomes quite expensive for what you get

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank horstim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 August 2014
I am so pleased to hear that you enjoyed the staff and location! Many people enjoy our nautical themed rooms directly overlooking the water, but I do apologize that our rooms were not to your liking. We do charge for High Speed DSL in the guest rooms, however like most of your other hotels in the LA area we do offer complimentary Wifi in all common areas.

Thank you for choosing to be our guest.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Do not valet your car. They will return it dirty by parking it under a sap tree. Then surely take your $5 tip with no apology.

I spent over $750 to stay for 2 nights with parking and no ocean view. Extremely over priced hotel with no beach access.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director fo Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
I cannot apologize enough. Our valet is known for being the friendliest group in town, and it sounds like they missed the sap that fell on your car. While your reservation was on the marina side we do have booking options for rooms that overlook the ocean as well. While we try to upgrade as many people as possible, the only way to guarantee an ocean view room is to book one.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we hope to see you again.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
436 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
851 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
138 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing