We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, beautiful view oceanside.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
“Great staff, beautiful view oceanside.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

The staff is excellent. The lobby and lobby bar are beautifully decorated and a great place to hang out with others, or to have a relaxing drink in the evening. The toiletries provided in the bathroom are delightful!

Room Tip: Oceanside rooms are quiet with nice view. Marina side look primarily at the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WickedsMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am so pleased that our staff was “excellent.” We are honored you choose our Lobby Living Room as your choice location for a cocktail, and to relax for the evening.

Great tip! Oceanside accommodations are usually the favorites of our guests.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,559 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    415
    173
    85
    63
See reviews for
362
562
66
316
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (561)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Southern Cailfornia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

lobby is fabo--personnel are very, very friendly and accommodating. pool isn't deluxe, but i don't stay at the beach just to use a pool. loved it there--will be back! ok--i need 32 more characters so i'll mention that riding the (complimentary) bikes from the hotel is really fun! --Carol from Glendale.

Room Tip: always ask for oceanfront room. you won't get the roaring wave sounds because there's a barr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poulet54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am so pleased to see that your enjoyed our “fabo” lobby. There is nothing I like reading more however than a review about friendly service. We appreciate you utilizing your 32 characters to mention our new fleet of complimentary bikes.

Come back and enjoy another ride with us soon.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Jerome was the best part of my stay. He had some great recommendations for nearby places to check out and was super friendly even though I asked TONS of questions. The room was nice and comfortable and I enjoyed the bar at your restaurant.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Teresa G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am so pleased to see that Jerome exceeded your expectations! We are truly fortunate to have such a friendly accommodating team member ready to answer any and all questions that come his way. Our comfortable well-appointed guest rooms along with excellent service like Jerome’s can make for an excellent stay.

I look forward to sharing your positive feedback with Jerome and acknowledging him for the gem that he is.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This hotel is conveniently located close to the ocean. The rooms are clean and quite nice if a little on the small side. There are bicycles available to the guests for use on convenient bike paths along the beach. It was very relaxing and we found the staff to be very helpful in answering our questions. I did not like that WiFi was not free in the rooms but it was available in the lobby. We would probably return if the opportunity presents itself.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for such a glowing review. We are fortunate to be right on the water with clean comfortable rooms overlooking picturesque views. Our new fleet of complimentary bicycles has proved to be a real success, and I am glad that it made your stay more convenient. I look forward to complimenting housekeeping on keeping your room clean, and the rest of our team for providing accommodating service.

We look forward to your return trip.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We only stayed 1 night, first thing you notice is the location which is nice specially if you want to go to the beach like we did. The room was okay, the customer service and staff was not good, I'd rate them as poor. Also didn't like paying $26 for night of parking which wasn't mentioned by the staff until checkout.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank basicfeto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for commenting on our wonderful location. I am however disappointed to hear that your experience was not up to our normally high standards. If you would be willing to give any details about your stay I would love to open a dialog.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
nnichols@hotelportofino.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights with my family on Aug 10-13. Although the location was great, the room was small, not super-clean (dust on lamps, dirty spots on walls-especially near fixtures, and sheer curtains were filthy) and the air conditioning worked only some of the time. Additionally this hotel charges for WiFi (this was quite a surprise - I travel weekly for business and even the small, rural hotels provide free WiFi). What really prevents this hotel from being something great is the staff. Aside from the valet that helped us when we arrived, the people at the desk seemed indifferent. When I asked for beach towels one day, the woman argued that I had them in my room and seemed irritated when I told her we used them the day before. "Well, you're going to have to wait while I call housekeeping to try to find you towels (sigh)"...housekeeping was at least friendly. When I checked out, the woman at the desk didn't even ask, "how was your stay" (they don't care). A pretty lobby and a great location doesn't make this a "boutique hotel." If their customer service was good, it would have made all the difference.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ksaracino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Thank you for complimenting our iconic location. I could no be more disappointed to read about the challenges you encountered during your stay with us. Unpleasant behavior of any kind at the Portofino is not tolerated, and I can assure you we will be speaking with all involved parties to ensure this doesn’t happen on your next visit or during anyone else’s. We appreciate your feedback, and would enjoy the opportunity to have more of a dialog, to uncover more of the details of your stay.

Thank you again for your business.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Cycling the beach path to a luxury beach hotel. A peaceful waterfront hotel away from the bustle of the boardwalk. Totally worth the extra money to have the ocean view with yachts and seals cruising past your room. The sunset was glorious and the views of Paolos Verdes a treat. With our upgraded suite we felt like royalty. A blissful anniversary stay- paying for the late checkout at 6pm meant it felt like a whole weekend away. SO glad we stayed here rather than property's by the noisy boardwalk further north. The hotel's Baleen kitchen is a gem- low key cosy restaurant/lounge adjacent to the hotel with delicious well priced meals and a view of the boats and marina. We cycled the second day up to Malaga cove and had breakfast at The Yellow Vase Cafe -delicious food and felt a world away from city life. We will certainly return to Rendondo Beach- what a refreshingly unspoilt beach city so close to home. The ride to and from Culver City is made all the more enjoyable with a meal at the Good Stuff beach cafe.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFCulver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nathan N, Director of Front Office at The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Our unique luxury is your peaceful paradise! With stunning views, beautiful rooms, and delightful restaurant/ lounge make us the perfect waterfront stay in LA. I am pleased to hear that our new complimentary fleet of bicycles enhanced your already excellent stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our unspoiled beach city soon.

Warmest wishes,

Nathan N.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#2 of 19 in Redondo Beach
96 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
127 reviews
2.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Redondo Beach Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing