We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great weekend getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Ranked #3 of 19 Hotels in Redondo Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
PHX
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“What a great weekend getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2009

My wife and I decided to have a quick weekend getaway and chose to stay at the Portofino Hotel and Yacht Club. I was extremely pleased right from the start. Upon our arrival and check-in, the staff was extremely courteous, professional and most importantly, competent. We were checked into the hotel and in our room within about 5 minutes. Our experience with the staff stayed the same for the remainder of our stay.
We had a "marina view" room which was spacious and very appropriately decorated. The in-room amenities were very nice, to include above average toiletries. The bedding and pillows were perfect and we both slept very well. The balcony on our room was very nice, as well, with enough room for two chairs and a small table. The only suggestion for improvement I can make is to add ice machines on each floor. They only had one ice machine in the lobby area. One of the best amenities I have ever encountered at any hotel was the complimentary bicycles this hotel provides to its guests. We rode our bikes along "the strand" for about 10 miles. What a fantastic way to spend the day if you’re staying at this hotel. You seem to get a true sense of the Southern California beach experience and lifestyle. This hotel is perfectly situated near dozens of restaurants within easy walking distance along the Redondo Beach pier. My every expectation was exceeded by this hotel. What a great place to spend a nice weekend and decompress.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joefromphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    804
    409
    167
    80
    62
See reviews for
349
552
66
306
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pittsford
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

I went to visit family in L.A. and my daughter found this charming place for me. The staff was outstanding. They were friendly and helpful. Even the cleaning staff was engaging (and every inch of the place was spotless). After three nights on the marina side, I moved to the ocean side and it was worth it. Gorgeous view...barking seals.
If you want a special treat, book the suite with a two sided fireplace, four poster bed, two flat-screen TVs, and French soaking tub.
The lobby was so pretty that I went down there a couple of times and read for a while. Too bad they've closed the bar...it's a gorgeous spot.
But it was the delightful staff that made my stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grammiewags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northridge, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2009

My husband and 7-year old son wanted a sun-filled get away during spring break but with current economic climate, we opted to stay locally. I was told that all Marina side rooms had a view of the marina. However, we were told different when we arrived so we ended up upgrading (for additional $50 per night) for an ocean view room. We were glad we did. The balcony was great for boat watching, sunsets & barking back at the sealions. Baleen (the hotel restaurant) offered in-room breakfast service which matched their menu pricing (pleasantly surprised that toast and jelly were not $20!). I had crab benedict for 2 straight days, and I'm still craving it. The hotel offered complimentary use of beach bikes, which was awesome. We biked it to the pier, down the boardwalk, parked the bikes (they provided locks and helmets) while we took a boat ride. We biked everywhere then met a lot of hotel guests in the heated pool. We knew of the DVD player in the room so we came prepared with 3 or 4 DVDs when we retired for the evening. The staff was great and very helpful. The location was excellent. Accolades to the chefs of Baleen's. Had such a good time that the $18 per day parking fee was all worth-it. We can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMillerNorthridge_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copper Canyon, TX
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2009

Nice Clean Hotel, Good Service. However, we were on the first floor limited views and that is what we were looking for. Disapointed that after we checking in we were told that there was a $18 parking fee. I think this should have been quoted with the rate.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baumbros29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2009

Fantastic sea views, try and ensure you have a sea view not a harbor view unless you like refineries. Small rooms, and watch out for the added on charges, they even tried to charge extra for towels that we had taken to their swimming pool.
Small swimming pool and I mean small - I have seen bigger backyard pools.
My main gripe is the staff, ask a question and get different answers all the time - It was our first time in LA and we tried to get information about what's on, where to go and even take advantage of there own tours was an exercise in extracting as much money out of you as possible and without being discrete.
Oh and I even got charged for a complimentary cup of coffee.

Its a shame, because with a bit of attention to guests this place could become fantastic.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mailman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
311 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 March 2009

This is a lovely hotel in a wonderful part of LA. I had a marina view room, and it was delightful. The rooms are not ultra modern, but they are extremely comfortable and cozy. The public areas are well appointed and have beautiful views of the Pacific. Other than the hotel restaurant (which is a bit pricey) and a nearby Joe's Crab Shack, the closest restaurants are a bit of a hike, but the walk is along well-maintained sidewalks next to the marina. If you like seafood, be sure to try Captain Kidd's (the closest off-property restaurant). The Portofino staff is wonderful, and the hotel offers free use of bicycles. I highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2009

Firstly, I have to say that I love Redondo Beach. It is a quiet beach town, 20 minutes from downtown LA. There actually is not that much to do or see in Redondo Beach itself, other than the amazing marina and it's restaurants, and of course the beach. The area just has a certain relaxed charm about it though, very different to the rest of LA which is in your face and always on the go. Redondo Beach also sits next to the equally quaint, and slightly busier, Hermosa Beach - only 10 minutes walk away along the seafront.
There actually do not seem to be many options when it comes to choosing a hotel in Redondo Beach. When I saw the Portofino with its unique style and location on the end of the marina wall, I knew that was where I wanted to stay. I have stayed in rooms on both sides of the hotel. The seaview side offers incredible views out to sea. I have read other people complaining about the sealions, but I personally found this to add another unique point to my stay there, and did not find them loud enough to disturb me. The marina side offers equally impressive views overlooking the many boats docked in the marina. The rooms are bright and nicely decorated having recently been rennovated.
The Portofino does lack in facilities somewhat. It has a very small outdoor swimming pool and jacuzzi, although there were usually less than a handful of people using these at any one time. We tried the Baleen restaurant on 2 occassions, but did not find it anything special, and opted to eat in the many other restaurants around the marina on the other days.
There is a kayak hire place next to the hotel, and that was great fun taking a kayak out into the harbour - just watch out for the low swooping large gulls! The sealions are also friendly enough to go up close to.
I have now stayed at the Portofino on 3 seperate occassions and would highly recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing stay in LA, close to the beach, but also close enough to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redondo Beach
0.2 mi away
The Redondo Beach Hotel
The Redondo Beach Hotel
#1 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Redondo Beach & Marina
1.2 mi away
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
Beach House Hotel Hermosa Beach
#1 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Shade Hotel
Shade Hotel
#7 of 19 in Redondo Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Redondo Beach Inn
1.9 mi away
Hotel Hermosa
Hotel Hermosa
#3 of 7 in Hermosa Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel

Property: The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel
Address: 260 Portofino Way, Redondo Beach, CA 90277-2033
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redondo Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Romantic Hotel in Redondo Beach
#1 Green Hotel in Redondo Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Redondo Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Portofino Hotel & Marina is located on a private peninsula, Redondo beach’s only waterfront hotel. A rich tapestry of panoramic views greets you, with the harbor, the Pacific Ocean and Catalina Island. The hotel lies just six miles south of Los Angeles International Airport, a short stroll to shops and restaurants of Redondo Beach. We offer our guests an authentic Socal lifestyle experience in a casual nautical-chic environment, allowing them to relax and let loose, embracing their “endless summer “endlessly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Hotelopia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Portofino Hotel & Marina, A Noble House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Portofino Hotel And Yacht
Portofino Inn Redondo Beach
Portofino Redondo Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing