We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a dissapointment!”
Review of Dean Creek Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dean Creek Resort
Lakeport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“What a dissapointment!”
Reviewed 21 August 2009

I use to stay at Dean Creek as a kid and through my high school years. It was always a great place. I was very excited to share it with my own family now that I have children.

We where sadly disappointed!! The place is very ran down and disgusting! The bathroom facilities have only one working shower that has hot water. The mens bathroom shower shares a drain with the urinal.

We walked down the the creek and allowed the children and dogs to play in the water. When returning up to our site the owners informed us that it was contaminated with TOXIC BLUE GREEN ALGAE and advised us to rush our animals to the vet. He informed us that he has seen dogs "drop dead with in 4 minutes from getting out of the water". We where furious that they never mentioned this to us at check in or when we told them our intentions to play in the creek.

The swimming pool was dirty and the water on your face tasted of salt. I think one too many children have urinated in the pool that day. Oh and there was no WiFi at the campsites. Actually I never found a spot that would alow me to connect.

Do not visit this camp ground!!! Check out the KOA in Crescent City instead!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank harmonfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    17
    12
    5
    9
See reviews for
24
10
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2009

This was our first camping trip with our young children. We researched heavily to find a nice cabin and place to spend the weekend. Some of the past reviews made this a hard decision. But I am so glad we decided to stay here.
The owners and staff here were very friendly and helpful. Our cabin was small but cute. It had a kitchenette with everything you would need. The bed and fold down couch were very comfy. The shower was smaller, but worked fine. In the back there was a picnic table, bbq, and fire ring. There was even enough room to put up a small tent for my kids to play in.
The location was great, close to a small town with a large grocery store. We did look in a hotel room and it was nice and spacious. The pool was heated and nice. We did not use any of the other activities, but did see several kids enjoying them. The walk to Eel river is quick to a nice swimming hole. Also they enforce the quiet hours, so you know you will get a good night sleep!
We really enjoyed our stay here. If you are looking for a camping experience, but want the luxury of a motel or cabin, this is a great option. If you are looking for something fancy keep driving down to Benbow Inn, but you will pay double. Dean Creek Resort worked out perfect for our family. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BsyTrvlnFmly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 July 2009

Our Family aged from 9 years to 72 years old had our annual family reunion at the lovely Dean Creek Resort. Our group of 14, included teenagers and seniors, with varying interests on how to spend the day! The resort offered something for all of us and had very nice amenities, the pool and hot tub were very refreshing after a day of sight seeing in the Avenue Of The Giants State Park. We had 5 ground level motel rooms and each had some sort of kitchenette. In the eves there is a grassy area at the end of the motel rooms parking lot, where we had some yummy BBQs. There is access to the Eel River down a short path where we launched our small blown up rafts and drifted down river to a nice swimming hole, including 72 year old Grama Connie!! There are many newer cabins and clean tent sites with ample shade we observed on our AM/PM walks through the property. We played volleyball and pingpong. There is a arcade for the teenagers and Wifi also kept them connected to friends back in San Francisco. The town of Redway a 5 min drive away has a fantastic coffee house- Spirit Coffes and they roast fresh the coffees each morning, across the street The Great American Hamburger Co. has the best burgers we ate for lunch on the way home. Mostly on our trip we were immersed in some of the best scenery, and redwood ecosystem's the world has to offer. The best thing about Dean Creek Resort is the hospitality given to us from the Hosts Dennis and Linda Kalista and Jerry and Malina. They are full of information on the area and things to do. We have had an annual 3 day family reunion for the past 6 years in different places, but it is unanimous among all of us we will make this our destination every year. We ended our reunion " "this is the place"

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanFranciscoMaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2008

We just returned from three nights at the Dean Creek Resort. We stayed in the campground in our small trailer and enjoyed it very much. They had a live band on Saturday night and tons of things for kids to do. Other campgrounds we have stayed at allow guests to drive mini bikes and play loud music but the management here makes sure everyone has the right to peace and quiet. We did have some problems with the smell of marijuana floating into our campsite but otherwise it was great. We didnt get into the pool - too full of kids, the river was very low since its summer, but our three dogs loved it, too. Very shady, nice campground with full hookups.

  • Liked — The big shady trees
  • Disliked — pool too small, full of kids
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CampersRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2008

We stayed in the motel in June 2008 for 1 night while travelling through n. CA. This is an RV park with motel. We found the room to be clean and served our purposes. It was bigger than a typical motel room with 2 lounge chairs and small table. It also had a refrigerator. There was a bench and table in front of the room also.

We used the swimming pool. It was fine - it is all 4 ft. - too deep for my younger child to stand in. There was a large hot tub, not too hot, there, but they strictly did not allow anyone under 14 in it. The office had a straight view out to the hot tub, and an employee ran out to admonish my kids when they tried out the hot tub. My biggest complaint about the place was the rather silly hot tob rule. We could not find any way to turn on hot tub jets.

They also had a mini golf course. We did not use it.

We walked down through the campground to the Eel River and had a lot of fun playing in the river - about 2 feet deep at its deepest. It had a rock beach. We saw an arcade room in the campground.

  • Liked — large room, river fun
  • Disliked — children not allowed in hot tub, pool too deep for young kids
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank mariess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Resort? I think not. No food services, for one thing. My kids wouldn't go in the pool because it was too crowded and noisy and full of little kids, who my kids think pee in public pools. The spa is a smaller, warmer version of the pool, but no one under 14 is allowed (less pee?). Neither one opens before noon. Room was nice enough for your average motel, and I liked our little patio (though it had no privacy at all). I would never camp here -- very crowded together. RV spots are often rented by the month or year, so there is an established community of trailer livers. The HIGHLIGHTS: A free hour in the private sauna, which shut off after 20 minutes and would n't come back on (yes, I set the timer to 60 minutes); very close to the Avenue of the Giants. Next time I would pay a little extra and stay in Miranda, Weott or Myers Flat.

  • Liked — Location, and the room was basic but nice.
  • Disliked — Housekeeper complained loudly about the last guest not tipping. Bring your own shampoo.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frankiezyx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

This place may be OK for RVs, but the motel was really bad. Apparently the owner has installed some relatives in some of the motel units, and we happened to end up next door to a bachelor apartment, with a bunch of guys enjoying Monday night football. The walls were paper thin, and we could clearly hear conversations, TV, snoring, the whole bit from the afternoon right until the next morning. Management also owns some little yappy dogs, which they walk in front of the motel units while talking loud baby talk to them. Room amenities are very sparse, towels of the cheapest kind, no phone, small screen TV. In short, we'll never go back. If you want a good night's sleep, stay away from this place!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — noise -- from the management and their friends
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank george095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Redway hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redway
5.2 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 680 reviews
2.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Humboldt House Inn
16.1 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Dean Creek Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dean Creek Resort

Property: Dean Creek Resort
Address: 4112 Redwood Drive, Redway, CA 95560
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Redway
Amenities:
Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Redway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Dean Creek Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dean Creek Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dean Creek Hotel Redway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing