We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrible location, below usual Sofitel standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pullman San Francisco Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Atlanta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Terrible location, below usual Sofitel standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

First, this Sofitel is nowhere near San Francisco Bay; it is huddled in a suburban office park incongruously called Redwood City, with all the Fascistic planned-community atmosphere typical of such an environment. It is far removed from any amenities; there is no street life, no shopping, nowhere to go and nothing to do. This hotel is plainly aimed only at business travelers. Moreover, it falls short of the usual Sofitel standards; the building and its furnishings are for the most part older, with a sort of unintentional retro-80s atmosphere. The lobby, bar, restaurant, and pool area are a little more hip, but the rooms look like vintage "Miami Vice."

The staff was unfailingly courteous, but we still had two bad experiences. We asked for directions to a restaurant for lunch; the oral guidance through the office-park maze only got us lost, even with GPS, so we went back to the hotel and asked again, and only then were given a map; why not the first time around? When we finally reached the restaurant, we found it closed.

Consequently, after a long flight from the east coat and that fiasco, we decided to have lunch in the hotel (there being no other restaurants likely to be found in this nightmare community called Redwood City). Service was astonishingly slow, even though the restaurant was not particulary busy. By the time our dessert arrived (with apologies from the waiter), I suggested it should be comped, and it was (but I should not have had to ask after the ridiculous amount of time it took to cut a slice of cake).

Weirdly, there was no mini-bar, though there was space for one in the cabinetry. The free parking was nice, though perhaps only to be expected in a car-based community like this. The early-morning coffee service, free with a selection of pastries and fruit, was a nice touch. The in-room coffee included individual packages of liquid creamer, a must in my opinion (too many hotels, even those claiming to be upscale, give you that powdered crap).

All in all, not a very pleasant experience, but in fairness my expectations had something to do with it. I did not realize how far outside San Francisco it would be, particularly given the hotel's name; I did not anticipate being inside a bubble, more like an enclosed resort enclave than an urban hotel. If you're expecting a normal Sofitel like you'd find in Washignton or New York, you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: The "junior suite" is a joke; it's an ordinary room with a partition running through i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mousewife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Bonjour,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

We are actually in an ongoing process of upgrading all of the rooms with new furniture and amenities in order to provide a great experience for all of our guests. At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please feel free to e-mail us at H0922@sofitel.com.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    480
    203
    89
    43
See reviews for
252
293
114
580
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

From the moment you fool up to the doorman,to the friendly and helpful front desk to the random greetings by various employees, to the maid staff and the hospitable bar keeps to checking out....Quality customer service is at every turn. Love me some Sofitel!



  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sims4Olym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us . We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar-Saba
Level Contributor
82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel several times. Every detail is perfect, service, cleanness, breakfast. A real pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Noanirtal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us . We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2012

This is a great hotel with wonderful service. the only down side is the location, far from San Francisco and the fact that there is no shuttle between hotel and Caltrain station. there is indeed a free shuttle between SF Airport and Hotel. a great experience overall.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sotir_loredana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

We stayed here for just a night during a roadtrip through california. We picked this hotel because we wanted a luxurious place to shower and sleep for a night. The lobby was nice. The bathroom was decent. The room itself felt dated. At least the parking was free. I would stay here again but for no more than $100/night. We ended up paying closer to $160/night.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluebear905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Dear

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Sofitel San Francisco Bay. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

In addition to this, I wouldl ike to let you know that we are actually in an ongoing process of upgrading all of the rooms with new furniture and amenities in order to provide a great experience for all of our guests. Therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence. If you would like to further discuss your experience with us please feel free to e-mail us at H0922@sofitel.com.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We spent 3 nights at the Sofitel- got a last minute discount on Expedia for $105/night.

From the moment we pulled up, every person we encountered was incredibly professional and helpful. The doorman offered to help with our bags, the bar, the market, everyone was great, especially the front desk girls. One of them overheard me asking for restaurant recommendations, and called our room to offer help with direction and pub trans.

The room was large and clean- the 2 separate toilets were great for the 2 of us.

Only downside of this hotel is that it's 1/2 hour outside of downtown San Francisco in GOOD traffic. I'm always willing to save a buck by staying outside the city, just don't travel during rush hour.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuskyTravella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us . We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
232 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

Let me start by saying that I had dozen or so stays in San Fran Bay Area over last few years, so I can compare apples with apples. This is one the better places to stay, particularly in comparison with several Starwood properties (W, Sheraton, Four Points) and Marriotts I stayed in the area from San Jose and Sunnyvale to Newark and South San Francisco. I might not be entirely objective, as I do consider Sofitel one of the best hotel brands. Let me say though that it is indeed a little older hotel and the rooms are a bit dated, not as sparkling nice, as some other Sofitels in Chicago or Wahington, DC. However, it is much nicer hotel, with good looking common areas, excellent staff and service, tasty breakfast, good bar, pretty grounds and, in general, much more pleasant experience. In my case, it was excellent value too: cheaper than inferior (to Sofitel) Starwood hotels, cheaper than Four Points by SFO! I found location also very convenient. It is Redwood City, close to airport and close to Palo Alto, right by 101. OK, you cannot walk anywhere, but everything is a short drive, right in the heart of Silicon Valley. I will be happy to stay in Sofitel again, provided the price is right. I gave it 5 starts rating after some consideration, it is really a tossup between 4 and 5, and there are better Sofitels; but as soon as I started comparing with other larger hotels in Bay Area, Sofitel came on top.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John H, General Manager at Pullman San Francisco Bay, responded to this review, 23 October 2012
Bonjour!

The entire Sofitel San Francisco Bay team would like to THANK YOU for your lovely message and great compliments.

It is really a great reward for all of us to see how deeply you enjoyed staying with us . We are delighted that you enjoyed our luxury service with French flair.

Thank you again for choosing us and for taking time to share your experience. We hope we'll have an opportunity to welcome you back very soon to Sofitel San Francisco Bay.

Sincerely,

John Hutar
General Manager
Sofitel San Francisco Bay, California
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
3.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#2 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
0.8 mi away
HYATT house Belmont/Redwood Shores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pullman San Francisco Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pullman San Francisco Bay

Property: Pullman San Francisco Bay
Address: 223 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1414 (Formerly Sofitel San Francisco Bay)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Redwood City
#1 Green Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Pullman San Francisco Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 421
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pullman San Francisco Bay, an exclusive 'corporate resort' reputed for its refinement, considerate service and attention to detail. Whether you are visiting for pleasure or in town for business, you will savor this truly unique experience, a total immersion in comfort! Enjoy the superbly appointed accommodations in tranquil surroundings fanned by gentle breezes... Ideally situated between San Francisco and San José, this luxurious establishment is only minutes from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Pullman San Francisco Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel San Francisco Bay Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Hotel Redwood City
Sofitel Redwood City
Redwood City Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing