We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The extremely helpful and pleasant staff was definitely a plus to the very clean room. The bed was very comfortable. I was very pleased with my stay and it is only a mile away from Kaiser hospital in Redwood City. The breakfast was very good, too - many choices including 3-4 hot entrees.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muffy43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (207)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 207 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

We needed to stay in this area (Stanford and Menlo Park) and was happy they had space available (many hotels did not.) It was clean, conveniently located on El Camino Real on the Atherton line, and provided everything you need for a brief stay. Traffic noise was not a problem. The staff was extremely welcoming and helpful; the breakfast was good. Only concern was that our room was next to the exercise room and noise from people on the treadmills at 5:30 a.m. provided an unwelcomed wake up call. A friend was in another room and had no complaints. I went for a run in the neighborhood and felt safe and found places with little traffic. Price was reasonable for the area. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were very impressed with this Hotel. The lobby is clean and the front desk girl was extremely nice and welcoming to us. We got into our room and it was very nice & clean! I am a very picky person when it comes to hotels. The hotel cleaning ladies were very nice and polite. The free breakfast buffet was hot & very good. I have an allergy to onions and the sweet lady who worked there went out of her way to get me a fresh bagel that was not sitting next to a onion bagel!! WOW!! that was a great surprise! The hotel was quiet and had many things to offer us for our stay to make it comfortable. Thank you Holiday Inn Express in Redwood City,CA for making our stay there very pleasant.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

Pricey for USD220. Breakfast has lots of "artificial" foods! The in room pop corn / snack package was a pleasant surprise! OK bed.

Pricey for USD220. Breakfast has lots of "artificial" foods! The in room pop corn / snack package was a pleasant surprise! OK bed.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chee712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I stayed here while traveling for a weekend on personal business. It's a very small property tucked in between commercial buildings in downtown Redwood City. There was very little business there during the weekend, my car one of only 4 or 5 in the lot when I stayed. The area seemed a bit transitional, and I didn't feel completely safe walking the streets nearby.t

There is a Wendy's and a food trough-style smorgasbord restaurant across the street, and a couple small, local food joints, but not much else in the way of dining.

The bad experience here was the morning of my checkout: I travel for a living, and was looking foward to the one morning I had this week to sleep in and relax for a bit. Unfortunately, the houskeeping staff began rapping on my door at 9AM, wondering if I was going to leave, and did it three more times before I finally checked out.. There's nothing more annoying than trying to be rushed out of a room you've paid for. I tried to give feedback at the front desk about this, but the front desk staff could understand what the problem was.

So, if you're making a quick business trip to Silicon Valley, this place should be fine, but otherwise, I would look somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2012

My parents and ourselves frequent Holiday Inns when traveling. We were recommended to try this location as it was a little less expensive than the other location in Redwood City, bad referral. The Central RWC location has terrible shower heads, filthy carpeting (turned our socks black after a short time), poor access from El Camino (lots of traffic, so poor access) and just not worth the money. The health department or general inspectors should frequent this place and it would probably fail on many items.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ducka62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2012

Dear ducka62,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you encountered during your stay and for the cleanliness of the room that did not meet your expectations. We will certainly discuss your comments with our staff. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We booked a block of rooms for our immediate and extended family for Thanksgiving. We chose to stay here vs the other place we usually stayed out for the convenience our all our family members The location is a little difficult for getting in and out. The front desk is delightful and courteous. The breakfasts was good and coffee hot. Our room was dirty and 'swiped' down as the bathroom switch had dirt and prints all over it and bobby pins and stray paper by the bed. There is no room or hotel safe. My cousin had a money belt with a lot of money since he was traveling from out of state. The day before we left, he found the money belt was stolen from his luggage in his room. He reported it to the front desk and they told him there was nothing they could do about it. So...'heads up' if you are considering this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2Sojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
3.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,445 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#7 of 17 in Redwood City
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Suites
0.5 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#14 of 17 in Redwood City
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Address: 1836 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063-2111 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range: £109 - £244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Redwood City/Menlo Park, California! We are located on the south side of Redwood City on El Camino Real (CA 82), within minutes of the quaint town of Atherton, Menlo Park, and the Stanford University. Our accommodations are perfect for business and leisure travelers, equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, two line telephones with voice mail, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, hairdryer, lighted make-up mirrors, iron and board. We also feature televisions equipped with 70 channels, HBO, DVD/VCR players. All king rooms come with a sofa sleeper. At the end of the day, enjoy an invigorating workout in our fitness center and relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. In the morning you will wake up to an inviting Express Start complimentary hot breakfast at the breakfast bar, featuring our famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. Our friendly staff is ready to welcome you and make you feel right at home. Discover all that downtown Redwood City, Menlo Park, Atherton and Palo Alto have to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Redwood City. We are close to the Stanford University and Hospital, Kaiser Permanente Hospital and the Sequoia Hospital. We are strategically accessible to the Silicon Valley. We are also close to the corporate offices/buildings of Hewlett Packard, Yahoo, Microsoft, OmniCell, Google, Verisign, Synopsis, Verisign, NASA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing