We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, accomodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
florida
Level 6 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, accomodating staff”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Stayed here while visiting family in the area. We had requested a two bed room but one was not available the night we checked in but they found one next day and moved us promptly. Friendly staff. Very good complimentary breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    77
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
55
32
15
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palatine, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We were very pleased with our stay here. Rooms were clean, as was the entire facility. Staff were very helpful, friendly, and attentive. We would make this hotel our go to place now that our daughter & family have moved to San Fran; but we have realized it is too far away and will be staying at another HIE closer to her home. I will say that the signage for the "lobby" and "parking" were very confusing and we ended up driving around the block looking for where the lobby/check in was several times. Very poorly marked and the lobby is very small. The other issue we had seems to be universal to all HIE hotels: breakfast! High carbs and the "omelets"..stick to scrambled eggs-forget the other egg-like offerings. Guess we shouldn't whine--it's free! Air conditioning was a bit loud but it did drowned out my spouse's snoring. All HIE hotels need more storage in the bathrooms.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nanag70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

My family and I stayed 5 nights late Jun. to early Jul. 2013. We had booked 2 rooms and I had emailed the hotel several weeks in advance to confirm that at least one of the rooms needed to to have 2 beds. However, our flight in to SFO was delayed and by the time we arrived (3am), there were no double rooms left. The 5 of us were left to 2 king beds between 2 rooms, which made for some interesting sleeping arrangements. It was dispointing that in the ensuing 4 nights, the hotel was still not able to find us a double-queen or double room.

The rooms themselves were very clean and the beds comfortable. WIFI and daily hot breakfast was included. Overall, this hotel was adequate enough for our needs. However, we were extremely disappointed that the hotel could not accomodate 5 guests with proper bedding even after paying for 2 rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ch00syTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
Dear Ch00syTraveler,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to write a review of our hotel. Guest satisfaction is important to us and we try our hardest to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance
to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and providing us a candid feedback.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maisons-Laffitte, France
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We found our room to be very comfortable and nicely decorated. The only problem was a lacking in soundproofing - between rooms and the corridor. (There was a group who came in at 3am and made a lot of noise.)
On a positive point, the desk staff was very efficient, friendly, and helpful.
Overall, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkUhrich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIXStanford, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 11 January 2016
Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Luis Obispo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Our vehicle was egged while parked in the parking lot of the hotel. We contacted the front desk to find out if they could help identify who had done this using the security system. Manager refused to come in on the weekend and stated they would only check the cameras if police forced them to. We checked out early and were not given an apology nor a refund for the early checkout. Very poor experience. Will never stay here again.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank slocoemt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express, responded to this review, 1 September 2013
Dear slocoemt,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. We highly value views, opinions and feedback from our guests, as this allows us to constantly improve the service we provide.

We read with much concern about the unpleasant experience that you have encountered during your previous stay with us. I apologize for the issues you had with your vehicle and deeply regret the poor experience and service issues you had.

Your comments are very important as we rely on you, our valued guest to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. Rest assured that these issues will be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I had flown in for the night. It was a quick trip and I just needed a bed to sleep in as I got in late and was leaving early. I checked in and the front desk clerk was very friendly and nice. The room was nice. The bed was big and comfortable. It was very clean. The bathroom was large and nice. There were a lot of restaurants around all within walking distance. I was not able to eat breakfast the next morning. However it smelled wonderful and people seemed to be enjoying it.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights and it was a really nice surprise since my arrive. The reception is tiny but the people very helpful. The room is big enough and comfortable. The bathroom very clean (very important). Breakfast (included) was very good. Every was beyond my expectations. God Job!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLPrato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
3.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,398 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
23 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
188 reviews
0.6 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#7 of 17 in Redwood City
202 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Executive Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1836 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063-2111 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Redwood City/Menlo Park, California! We are located on the south side of Redwood City on El Camino Real (CA 82), within minutes of the quaint town of Atherton, Menlo Park, and the Stanford University. Our accommodations are perfect for business and leisure travelers, equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, two line telephones with voice mail, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, hairdryer, lighted make-up mirrors, iron and board. We also feature televisions equipped with 70 channels, HBO, DVD/VCR players. All king rooms come with a sofa sleeper. At the end of the day, enjoy an invigorating workout in our fitness center and relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. In the morning you will wake up to an inviting Express Start complimentary hot breakfast at the breakfast bar, featuring our famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. Our friendly staff is ready to welcome you and make you feel right at home. Discover all that downtown Redwood City, Menlo Park, Atherton and Palo Alto have to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Redwood City. We are close to the Stanford University and Hospital, Kaiser Permanente Hospital and the Sequoia Hospital. We are strategically accessible to the Silicon Valley. We are also close to the corporate offices/buildings of Hewlett Packard, Yahoo, Microsoft, OmniCell, Google, Verisign, Synopsis, Verisign, NASA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing