We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value for money, more than delivers on it's promises”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value for money, more than delivers on it's promises”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

I booked here to find a good cheap room (with good rail and bus transport links) during the Oracle Openworld megaconference in San Francisco. (The conference is so large that all the rates in town and at the airport are jacked right up--worth checking if you plan to travel in Sept/Oct).

Very satisfied, includes free wifi and breakfast (including eggs of the day and meat of the day, and cooked oatmeal) which also keeps the costs down, and rooms include microwave and fridge

The only reason I didn't award an overall score of 5 were due to a number of "niggly" points (most very easy to address at no cost):
* Hotel website needs better description of transport links to SFO (no shuttle, but Samtrans KX/397 public bus stops right outside, a bargain at $2 if you can wait up to an hour and don't have a early morning departure at weekends; Caltrain about 15 mins walk down El Camino Real, very easy and feels safe).
* Better description of transport links to city needed on hotel website (Same options as previous point, I used these every day)
* Microwave in room, but no supplies of disposable plate/cutlery/napkins (or a notice to say "ask at reception")
* Hotel offers/defaults a "green" option for bedlinen changing, but not towels--left a note one day which was respected but not on following days
* Desk drawer keeps popping open.
* No soap dish for the sink
* And a real picky point. Iron supplied, but nowhere convenient to plug it in without moving furniture (a very common problem in hotel rooms).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    73
    16
    5
    12
See reviews for
54
30
15
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

Comfortable hotel at a convenient location if you have business in Stanford.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luter68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2010

The hotel and property are true Holiday Inn Express (nice and clean). But when I went to grab a quick breakfast at the free buffet (I was running a bit late) the egg patty was flooded with cheese which I don't care for. No big deal, I understand this isn't made to order. But as I checked out I made a comment how it would have been nice to have the option to add the cheese or not. A supervisor came from the back room and informed me that "they have to follow the menu." So I asked what menu? And was told it was a daily menu so it changed everyday. Then I mentioned that as a business customer, what I was looking for was a predictable (repeatable) experience so I can plan or not on even considering the breakfast. What I was told by the supervisor was "Well then you should stay at another hotel that has a restaurant." ?! Now I can't convey tone here, but suffice to say -- the tone of the supervisors response certainly didn't leave me the impression that my feedback was appreciated NOR anything to be considered.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDHood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collegeville, PA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

Personnel worthy of mention as they provided excellent service and very, very friendly and helpful!
Edgar - manager
Mirella - front desk
Melinda - front desk

Daniella - breakfast room supervisior (maitains all food/drink are available, fresh and the room is immaculate at all times)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbiever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baldwin Park
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2010

Two day stay Holiday Inn Express was super clean, quite, relaxing and graceful. I recommend this hotel to any out of Towner or local. The room was extravagant very impressive we choose nonsmoking and we got just that. Absolutely LOVED IT. The breakfast bar was PERFECT many choices. Loved it! Thee breakfast host was very caring. We will be staying here soon. Great job front desk, room service was right on the money. Love you ladies for all your wonderful hospitality Melinda and Mirella everyone Thank You. It's this type of service that’s keeps you coming back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XochitlPadilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, ca
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2010

Written by
Cynthia Gothard
happygirl_cg@yahoo.com
I could not wait to come home and write this review. I have stayed at this hotel two times within the past year and each time it gets better and better. This last stay was the best. I was somewhat stressed as I was up in that area to see a doctor for tests. The first person/staffmember I saw was Melinda at the front desk. She was so happy and pleasant that her attitude was contagious. She was efficient and professional and aimed to please. We showed up a little early and the room was not quite ready. She told me not to worry that she will expidite the situation and get us comfortable in just a jiffy. She consulted with the GM Edgar Sandoval. They both got us into our room within minutes. Mr. Sandoval also was very pleasant and vibrant. I was in need of just a couple small things and both he and Melinda made sure that they were in our room when we got there. Throughout our stay, albeit a short one, they acknowledged us in the hallways in such a friendly manner, always asking if there was anything they could do to for us. Even the staff member who did the breakfast bar was so cute, polite and helpful. When we encountered the housekeeping staff in the hallways the ladies greet you with big smiles and good mornings. This was the best stay here ever. I will return due to the staff and the effiency of the GM, Mr. Sandoval. NOTE: I was impressed that the breakfast room had bio-degradeable cups and plates. This is a step in the right direction to help our world. Not only does this GM care about his clients he goes beyond this enough to care about our enviroment. I AM IMPRESSED! I will return when I come back to that area. TO THE STAFF OF THIS HOLIDAY INN AT 1836 EL CAMINO REAL......GO TEAM...AND THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR TAKIN SUCH GREAT CARE OF US TWO. .(.I also like the new furniture in the lobby. The old stuff was depressing. New stuff completes the lobby)... BYE BYE..CYNTHIA

w

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caHappytimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, nv
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2010

I would like to acknowledge Melinda at the front desk. Melinda was very helpful. She answered every question I had about the hotel and then some. Melinda was an absolute delight to talk to.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thuggy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
3.8 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.5 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.6 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express

Property: Holiday Inn Express
Address: 1836 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94063 (Formerly Executive Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Hotel in Redwood City/Menlo Park, California! We are located on the south side of Redwood City on El Camino Real (CA 82), within minutes of the quaint town of Atherton, Menlo Park, and the Stanford University. Our accommodations are perfect for business and leisure travelers, equipped with complimentary high-speed Internet access, two line telephones with voice mail, coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator, hairdryer, lighted make-up mirrors, iron and board. We also feature televisions equipped with 70 channels, HBO, DVD/VCR players. All king rooms come with a sofa sleeper. At the end of the day, enjoy an invigorating workout in our fitness center and relax in our Jacuzzi, sauna and steam room. In the morning you will wake up to an inviting Express Start complimentary hot breakfast at the breakfast bar, featuring our famous cinnamon rolls and SMART Roast Coffee. Our friendly staff is ready to welcome you and make you feel right at home. Discover all that downtown Redwood City, Menlo Park, Atherton and Palo Alto have to offer at the convenient, comfortable Holiday Inn Express Redwood City. We are close to the Stanford University and Hospital, Kaiser Permanente Hospital and the Sequoia Hospital. We are strategically accessible to the Silicon Valley. We are also close to the corporate offices/buildings of Hewlett Packard, Yahoo, Microsoft, OmniCell, Google, Verisign, Synopsis, Verisign, NASA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing