We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Good Nite Inn - Redwood City
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

30 minute drive into the attractions in San Francisco.. Further than the airport to the city!
Front desk was helpful and facilities were nice and clean just wish it was closer!
Also struggled to find a park all the time! Twice had to park in IHOP car park instead!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank TamS93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNiteInn, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Redwood City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Good Nite Inn Redwood City.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Most of our guests find us easy to access from the freeway and close to San Francisco.

At Good Nite Inn, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us.

We hope to see you here soon.
Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (760)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

574 - 580 of 760 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2014

Stayed a night here,but you get what you pay for.
The room was not that clean,the Bathroom had a lot of hairs on the floor,the curtains were dirty and the carpet had a lot of stains on it. Having said that the bed was ok and the room was a decent size,that's it.
The pool had kids playing in it,so that seemed ok.
No coffee in room,but you can get some in reception.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RHukUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNiteInn, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Redwood City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Good Nite Inn Redwood City.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Good Nite Inn, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence.

We wish that we had the opportunity to correct the problem before you left.


We hope to see you here soon.
Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Good experience, clean, comfortable but a little stuffy. (I have allergies, so this probably only applies to me). Staff was very nice and helpful. Has a outdoor pool. Room was in great location; near the pool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank kjaymegreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNiteInn, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Redwood City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do the review. We are excited to see that your stay was completely satisfactory. We strive to achieve that goal with every single guest.
We will certainly share your comments with the staff. They will be thrilled to see the response.
We look forward to seeing you here soon.


Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I am a cab driver, I was very tired one night and they only had one room left., I didn't have the money on my card yet, and the blond lady that works the overnight shift was very helpful, she actually held the room for me until I had my funds situated. And I know she did not have to do that, and I thought that was very nice of her to go the extra mile for a regular customer...

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Seann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNiteInn, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Redwood City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to do the review. We are excited to see that your stay was completely satisfactory. We strive to achieve that goal with every single guest.
We will certainly share your comments with the staff. They will be thrilled to see the response.
We look forward to seeing you here soon.


Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

You'll see a variety of remarks about this place on various sites. Read them all. I can say that I was alarmed by some of the reviews but had already booked the room before I read all of them. My experience with the manager, Wass, was that he hates customers, does not care at all about the reputation of himself, his company or his motel. He was 100% unhelpful EVERY time I tried to ask reasonable, professional questions. I assume Wass makes a little extra cash "organizing" other business at this place. just keep your eyes open. You'll see. It’s very obvious.

Justin and Robert were great. Deal with them. They have great customer service skills and want to do a good job (and I think they succeed despite their unpleasant boss).

I had been concerned having read the other reviews and we were very careful not to leave meds or valuables there at all while we were out

Putting a Do Not Disturb sign makes NO difference I was told by another guest who saw me putting one on the outside of our door. It's ignored and your privacy is invaded whether you are in the room or not. He had come back to find someone in his room before when he had left that sign on his door, he told us, and we did find that totally unacceptable. That might actually be the deal breaker if we need to go to this area again, though that is unlikely as it was a one-off event.

The motel lacks even basic amenities (there is not even a 2 cup coffee maker in the room, and certainly there is no microwave or fridge, also no clock). But we managed OK. We were able to sleep. It wasn't too noisy, the shower was clean (unless you use luminol). Don't walk in bare feet on the carpet though.

IHOP is next door, it's true, but the coffee there is obviously not free, and you have to leave the room, and get dressed to go and get it. The lobby "coffee" was weak. It's undrinkable and does not resemble coffee at all. There's no cereal or fruit. Nothing at all. So if you have any normal needs of a normal adult traveler and you know what you are used to this place does not have ANY of the basics.

Since we had booked and there were no rooms available in the area (I did try to change to another motel but could not) we had to hope for the best (such as it is) and it was OK. Just.
We were out a lot with our group, so if that’s what your trip is likely to involve, and all you need is a bed and a shower, this is what you will find at this site. Being with a group was really what prevented us from leaving. Had it been just us, we would have paid more and gone somewhere else as we have NEVER stayed anywhere that does not even have coffee in the room.

We would stay here again based on this experience IF we could not find a better place for the same price. It was OK. Just OK. Not the worst it could be, but way off what it should be for the area and comparable facilities. It's obvious that their usual clientele is, as other reviewers suggested, likely leaving with anything that isn't nailed down so we all have to suffer.

They’d be better off cleaning up their act, and providing proper basic room equipment, which would appeal to a higher class guest, but as I said, I think the manager probably does well out of keeping it the way it is now.

If you find it unacceptable, say this to Robert or Justin and they will refund your card. As I said, we managed, and it was juuuuust about acceptable as we had already booked and could not move. If you need coffee or food, or access to the lobby at odd hours, you will get NONE of that here. I suppose you take your chances. We got lucky. Taking chances when on holiday or business is as far from ideal as you can get. It is not guaranteed at this place that you will not have an experience described by others. I can see how easy that could be, so….be an informed and aware traveler and do what you think you need to do :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Roger M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNiteInn, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Redwood City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Good Nite Inn Redwood City.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Good Nite Inn, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence.

We hope to see you here soon.
Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is the second time that we have stayed at the GoodNite Inn in Redwood City, CA. The only issue that I had is that there was not enough parking. We went for a powwow at Stanford University. The powwow runs late and upon returning, we could not find a parking space because of the construction on the north parking lot and because of the overflow of late night diners at the restaurant on the corner. It is a nice place to stay, just get ready for parking issues.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anthony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNiteInn, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Redwood City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Good Nite Inn Redwood City.
We are sorry about the parking problem you encountered.

At Good Nite Inn, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence.

We hope to see you here soon.
Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The sanitary condition of the Good Nite Inn is so horrendous that I have to document it here as a matter of public health and to warn potential patrons.

The first night was ok. Few stains on carpet. Second night was when it happened: I got bit by bed bugs all over. It looked so bad that even the front desk person took a photo of my arm because she couldn't believe how many rashes and bites there were: I look like I had some infectious skin disease.

In defense of the manager/front desk, they offered to switch me to another room (which they promised will not have new bugs). But I was very leary and was afraid to fall sleep there. Again, first night, nothing happened. Second day, I came back and took a nap. Woke up and found a large bug (not a bed bug) crawling on the bed. At that point, I've had enough and asked for a refund for the remainder of my reservation and took my business elsewhere.

I am still finding new bites on my body two days after I've left the Good Nite Inn (some of the bugs must have clung onto my clothes/blankets). Not only do I have to disinfect all my belongings now, I will need to go see a doctor. Planning to report this incidence to the Better Business Bureau, CA Dept of Public Health, and to sue the motel if I have some long term skin issues.

Before this, I thought perhaps other reviewers were too sensitive to the sanitary condition. But now, I can say from painful first-hand experience that you should stay away from the Good Nite Inn if possible.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank wubr2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GoodNiteInn, Manager at Good Nite Inn - Redwood City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Good Nite Inn Redwood City.
We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

At Good Nite Inn, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problems and prevent future occurrence.

We hope to see you here soon.
Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
0.9 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
207 reviews
0.9 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#5 of 17 in Redwood City
37 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
218 reviews
2.3 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,474 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Good Nite Inn - Redwood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Good Nite Inn - Redwood City

Address: 485 Veterans Blvd, Redwood City, CA 94063-1119
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Good Nite Inn - Redwood City 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Good Nite Inn hotel in Redwood City, Palo Alto, conveniently located off Highway 101 midway between San Francisco and San Jose. Our Redwood City California hotel is within 10 minutes to Menlo College and Stanford University and our location is ideally positioned close to Oracle, and within driving distance of many Silicon Valley companies including Google, Yahoo!, Hewlett Packard and Microsoft. Upon arriving, let our friendly staff greet you with a true "Spirit of Hospitality". Good Nite Inn Redwood City is going through final phase of our new guestroom renovation. Our pool area will closed thru 2/19/2018 Thank you for your support to provide the best product and service for a more enjoyable experience! If you have any questions or concerns, please contact one of your guest relations associates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Good Nite Inn - Redwood City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Good Nite Inn - Redwood City Hotel Redwood City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing