We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pacific Euro Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pacific Euro Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great value, clean and comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel is very affordable, comfortable, and has an excellent location in downtown Redwood City. It was better than I expected...some of the negative reviews are undeserved (in my opinion). Please note that it is "European style", so space and amenities are limited. And bathrooms are shared (some rooms have their own, but at a higher rate). On the 2nd floor there were 2 bathrooms with shower stalls (one Men's and one Women's), one unisex (toilet and sink only) and one shower and sink only. During my 4-night stay, I only had a brief wait one time. Bathrooms were always clean.

My room was comfortable, with a full-sized bed, but "cozy." I was surprised that there was no AC/heater, but then also surprised that nights were cool after high-70s in the day (my first time to the area). The staff was very friendly and helpful, for the few minor questions I asked.

I really liked the area--coffee shop around the corner on beautiful tree-lined Broadway, and plenty of restaurants and shops very nearby. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 2nd floor, away from Main Street and the side street. This was a good location, as t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dee_sign9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificeuro, General Manager at Pacific Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience at Pacific Euro Hotel with other travelers! We are so pleased we exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your candid opinions about the hotel and we hope you will choose us again in the future should you be visiting Redwood City.

Ish B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    72
    22
    9
    14
See reviews for
14
37
37
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was starting a summer internship with nowhere to go. After exhaustively searching craigslist, airbnb, padmapper, etc. I found a hotel was a good shorter-term solution (I stayed here for about 2 weeks). The Pacific Euro had a good value at a SUPERB location in downtown Redwood City near restaurants, the Caltrain station, and a movie theatre. The management is helpful and flexible - a huge shoutout to Grant for being awesome. The biggest complaints are probably the fans and lack of temperature control (doesn't appear to be any internal thermostat) - it does get a bit warm at night, and the fan in my room was loud.

There is a place to store your bike if you choose to ride. Parking can be a bit cramped between 6-9 PM. Overall, a great deal for such a prime location - highly recommended for people wishing to experience the thrill of Redwood City and the Bay Area at an affordable cost. The economy rooms are great for solo travellers, and the full-sized rooms are probably really nice for couples.

Room Tip: Some of the economy rooms have a shower inside, but these are often booked and/or are closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificeuro, General Manager at Pacific Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Patrick -
Thank you for leaving a review after your recent stay with us. I am very happy you found the Pacific Euro Hotel to be a good value and a great location. I hope your internship went well and we hope to see you back as our guest should your travels bring you to Redwood City.

Ish B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Exactly what I expected and as advertised: tiny, youth hostel-like room. Great historic district location for walking to cafés/bars/restaurants. I asked for a quiet room with my own bathroom (about $10 more than a room with no bath, sharing one down the hall and worth it). There was a fridge, microwave, TV, and hair dryer. Hotel hallways and lobby were a bit grungy, but my room was reasonably clean. I recommend bringing a sleep mask as the blinds are not "blackout" and light comes in. Also, I always travel with earplugs (or my tiny white noise machine I got for $10 at the drug store). I also always bring disinfectant wipes to sanitize the door knobs, remote, phone etc. and slippers- all were put to good use here. All in all, I recommend this place for folks who need to travel to the "peninsula" and don't want to pay SF prices. I was a single female traveler and felt relatively safe here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truckee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificeuro, General Manager at Pacific Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review about your recent stay at Pacific Euro Hotel. I appreciate the fact that you shared your travel tips and am pleased you felt safe as a female traveler. We hope you will choose to stay with us in the future should your travels bring you back to the Bay Area.

Ish B.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
benicia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Excellent. Can't beat the price for an economy room. Hidden gem in Redwood City. Helpful staff, too. Rooms have been recently remodeled and the check in area is to be remodeled, soon. Recommended for those who want a clean, comfortable room and are on a budget in their travels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localtraveller65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificeuro, General Manager at Pacific Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review on Pacific Euro Hotel. We are so pleased you found our hotel affordable, convenient, and a great value. We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,
Ish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingolstadt
Level Contributor
60 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

The Pacific Euro Hotel is located in downtown Redwood City pretty close to the train station. When we arrived we noticed a strange smell in our room. The bathroom door could not be closed and the room was badly soundproofed. The next day we figured that there were plumping issues with our room on the ground level. We ask to change the room and got a second one on the upper level. In general the rooms are quite small. The second room on the upper level was better in terms of space and the bathroom quality. After the first night there was no housekeeping service and the staff was not really friendly. There are some bars and restaurants located around the hotel. By using the CalTrain you can get easily around the Silicon Valley. I cannot recommend the Pacific Euro Hotel and would rather stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificeuro, General Manager at Pacific Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am sorry you were not pleased with your recent stay with The Pacific Euro Hotel. It does sound like you found the location convenient to your needs while in the Bay Area. I hope you will reconsider our hotel as an option should you return to the area. Please contact me personally so i can ensure your stay is more positive.

Regards,

Ish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caneadea, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

My room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The fridge and microwave worked well and I had everything I needed for a stay of a few days. Considering the hotel was apparently booked pretty solid it was quiet and I was not disturbed by noises from others, the appliances in the room, or from traffic. On a Saturday night around 6pm I had a problem finding a parking space because the neighborhood has a few restaurants that also use the lot for parking, but that was the only annoyance I had. Drove around the block a few times and tried again and successfully parked. Coffee and juice in the morning in the lobby was nice and the WiFi worked without a hitch. I would definitely stay there again if I was in the Palo Alto area.

Room Tip: I booked about 2 months in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miniwinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificeuro, General Manager at Pacific Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you very much for the 5 star rating on your recent stay at the Pacific Euro Hotel. I am very pleased you found your room clean and comfortable and a good value. I do apologize you had difficulty parking on Saturday night but am happy you were able to find a spot and appreciate your patience in doing so. We hope to welcome you back next time your travels bring you to the Palo Alto area.

Regards,

Ish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Small quaint hotel. Half the price of the name brand hotels. Many restaurants are within a few feet of the hotel. Clean rooms but they are very small. The bed was fairly comfortable, I've slept on worse. Some rooms don't have bathrooms and u need to use a community bathroom or pay extra for a room with a bathroom. My room had a small bathroom (small shower, no tub). There was a fridge and microwave, but I'm not sure if they were part of the "upgrade". No alarm clock or ironing boards. The WiFi had a strong signal which was a plus. The lights are on a motion sensor so they turn off if your not moving around. No thermostat, but there was a ceiling fan. There was a sign in the room that said they would charge $150 cleaning fee if u smoked in the room, but I'm assuming they don't follow through because the room smelled of stale smoke. The walls are paper thin. The guy next to me coughed all night and you can hear noise from the sidewalk, street and train. Also, somewhere close by there was this repeating melodic human whistle recording that played every 5 minutes. Parking is a hassle, the hotel doesn't have its own parking, I drove around for a half hour looking for a spot. Behind the hotel there is a public parking lot and it's free after 6pm & before 10am if you can find a spot. Overall, this is a decent place to stay for the price & okay for one night. However, think twice about staying here if u r cloister phobic or a light sleeper. Lol

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street and alley. When checking in, park out front temporarily and car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joseph B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pacificeuro, General Manager at Pacific Euro Hotel, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
I am happy you found The Pacific Euro Hotel to be a good value for the price. I am sorry you found the room had a stale cigarette odor and I will have our housekeeping team look into that. Due to our central Downtown location, there does tend to be some noise from the city especially at night. I am sorry you found that disturbing. I do hope you will give us another try should your travels bring you to the Bay Area.

Regards,
Ish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
1.1 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
0.3 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
3.2 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn
BEST WESTERN Inn
#4 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.9 mi away
LiA Hotel
LiA Hotel
#2 of 7 in San Carlos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pacific Euro Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Euro Hotel

Property: Pacific Euro Hotel
Address: 868 Main St., Redwood City, CA 94063
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Euro Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Pacific Euro Hotel. We’re located at 868 Main St. in downtown Redwood City. We are just minutes away from shops, restaurants, city offices, public transportation, and the famous Fox Theater. We are under new management and our facility has been remodeled recently. We offer the following accommodations to our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pacific Euro Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing