We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We recently completed our 70 day winter stay (December through mid-February 2013) at this TownePlace Suites. We enjoyed every day there. The manager, Bridgette Burns, was outstanding and every staff member was friendly, courteous and responsive to all of our wishes. In particular, the front desk personnel Derek, Wendy and Robert all went out of their way to make sure we were happy. They also made excellent recommendations of nearby restaurants and Wendy told us about a park in San Carlos which our grandchildren absolutely loved. She also made sure to save us some of the delicious cookies that are provided every afternoon when we came back late. Emily, who maintained the breakfast area, also did a wonderful job and was a delight to talk with. The rooms were bright and clean and completely met our expectations. The location is wonderful. As other reviewers have noted, the walking path behind the hotel is great and I loved walking on it almost every day. (I never did get to the end of it because it stretches for miles.) It is also great for biking if you have access to a bicycle. The rates for this hotel are reasonable and parking (in a large, well lighted lot) is free. We wish that every hotel could be as nice as this one.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EDC310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    54
    19
    8
    0
See reviews for
23
12
10
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sonora, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Spectacular sunrises! Beautiful location and first-class management! Bridgette Burns is the best of all the Marriott Manager's I've met. Very kind and helpful. Very considerate that I was in town again for my Grandmother's funeral. I love the path behind this hotel! I love the rooms, especially the two bedroom because when I wake up in one of those rooms, the view out the window was like a postcard, day and night. An all-around great hotel I wish they had hot food, but it's ok because the wonderful Sky Kitchen is right nearby with a good hot breakfast. This hotel is comparable to the Oyster Point Millbrae Residence Inn, but the prices are more reasonable. Redwood Shores is wonderful on its own, this hotel makes it nice to come home to. I visit there often and will continue to do so.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask to face the Steinberger Slough for the beautiful sunrises, filled with all kinds of b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ICUBNice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

I stayed here in January 2014 for four nights for a work trip. The hotel is a little dated but perfectly fine, it was clean and well maintained. The only downside was that the ceiling seemed a little thin, as at times I could hear the people above walking back and forth in their room. The staff were very friendly, which made the trip quite pleasant.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the top floor. For dinner options, there are plenty of restaurants in San Car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boo5td
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 9 days while visiting family in the Bay Area. We chose this location as we wanted a bit more space for a longer stay, and because most reviews were favorable. The stay worked out even better than we had hoped.

We were especially pleased with the location. Although the hotel is about a 2-minute drive off Bayshore freeway, the location is very quiet and peaceful. The hotel is actually reached by driving through the parking lot of an office building, but this means there is no traffic noise. Our room looked out over the SF Bay, with a very attractive view. We took several walks on the path along the bay shoreline, which begins just outside the door.

The room was clean, comfortable, and fully furnished, though not luxurious. The staff were unfailingly polite and cheerful. Breakfast is nothing special, but our room had a full kitchen so we purchased breakfast items from the nearby Safeway store, and just got coffee (which was surprisingly first-rate) from the breakfast bar. Coffee was available all day, which was great.

In summary, we had great accommodations at a very reasonable price. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank majorswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently stayed in this hotel while visiting a relative over one weekend. The hotel was not busy and we were upgraded to a suite without asking for it. The front office was courteous, and gave us a small gift bag (bottle of water and snack) on check-in. The room was clean, has a small kitchen (though we did not use it). The double bed and the sofa bed (for 3 adults) were comfortable. The continental breakfast offered basic customary food stuff, nothing special. We stay there mainly for the night. The hotel appears to be mostly for working business people, without significant amnenities, which is fine with us since we usually do not use facilities such fitness center etc. I would give it a 4 star considering its reasonable cost and our satisfaction with the hotel overall. We will stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel-456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

With a corporate transfer, I stayed here for two weeks but my poor husband spent a month here. We've tried to block out the experience from our minds as a blip in our lives.

Let's start with the good things:
- The breakfast is quite nice. Two kinds of fruit daily (bananas, apples, oranges), yogurt, cereal, oatmeal, pre-packaged muffins, pre-packaged bagels, pre-packaged boiled eggs, milk, juice, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and little snack packs of nuts and dried fruit
- Good front desk service; they bake cookies in the afternoon and will call rooms that are making too much noise for you
- Free detergent and fabric softener in the laundry room if I remember correctly
- Comfortable if you are staying just for a few days

The not-so-good:
- The wi-fi is really spotty, which can be frustrating if staying there for more than a few days. You really need to be hardwired. However, recent reviews indicate that new equipment has improved the wi-fi.
- There's an aura of "barely adequate" here. Like number of TV channels, the ancient business center, the number of items you receive in the kitchen and bathroom (3 of everything, not 4, which is a pain if there are two of you).
- There are no in-room safes.
- If you have a first floor suite, the front entrance is situated so that if smokers are hanging out, the smoke will blow into your room if the windows are open.

Here's the thing to watch out for though:
Housekeeping is wildly inconsistent. It can range from people who do an awesome job, leaving extra dish detergent, dishwashing powder packets, toiletries and towels as requested; recognize you and open the door for you when you are locked out of your room; and then there are housekeepers who throw your pillows on the floor as they are making your bed; who leave the windows upon in your first floor suite; who suggest putting a Post-It note on your door when you tell them you have no "do not disturb" door hanger instead of getting one for you.

My husband and I stayed for an extended stay somewhere else, and the service/amenities were vastly different (and more) for around $100, whereas our average nightly rate was $150. It is really not worth this much.

Room Tip: We had midway down the hallway so we could hear the elevator vibrations but it wasn't bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Puffydust415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kochi
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Lived there for a month. The location is great, at the end of twin dolphin drive, very peaceful, quite and windy. Just the way I like it.

Market place quite close by and of course all the great things about California.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank avallark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
0.7 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
1,398 reviews
3.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
201 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Redwood City
Courtyard Redwood City
#11 of 17 in Redwood City
17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites San Francisco San Carlos
1.0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, San Carlos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores

Property: TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores
Address: 1000 Twin Dolphin Dr, Redwood City, CA 94065-1133
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Towneplace Suites Redwood City Redwood Shores Hotel Redwood City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing