We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect!”
Review of Atherton Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Redwood City
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Atherton Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Redwood City B&B and Inns
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Atherton Inn on October 6 & 7, 2013 and found it to be a warm, welcoming and wonderful place to stay. We were warmly greeted by Anne - with whom we shared our fond memories and travel experiences of her homeland, Scotland - and found the Inn to be similar to some of the best small hotels and B&B's we've encountered in Britain. The location is perfect: a quiet, residential neighborhood with easy access to the Bay area. Our room, Zinfandel, was quiet, spacious, well appointed and we loved the large, private deck where we sat in the early evening with wine, cheese and the sound of the fountain in the courtyard below and birds in the overhanging trees. Breakfasts were cooked to order and taken in the lovely dining room sitting around the large circular table where we chatted with the other guests. It was an excellent stay and we can't imagine staying anywhere else when we visit the area again. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the house have balconies/decks overlooking the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    7
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
15
26
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nutley, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Atherton Inn in September 2013. The inn was located in a quiet secluded neighborhood which had excellent accommodations, wonderful amenities, and a delicious, hearty, and full breakfast. It is close to Palo Alto and the surrounding areas. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJNYCMetro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed 5 nights in February 2013 for a family celebration for its proximity to a local synagogue. The inn is in what would otherwise be a very large family house in a residential street and has a down home New England America feel both in decor and service. Bedroom and bathroom were very spacious and clean. Breakfast was good, hot dishes was freshly prepared and sitting at a large round table allowed interaction with other guests. Internet worked well. A big bonus was being able to do laundry like at home - there was a laundry room with washing machines and tumble dryers on the same floor as the bedrooms and the housekeeper explained how to operate them. The inn has a lift (elevator).

When a bedroom was not in use the door was left open for guests to look at - helps in choosing which room to stay in on a future visit. All the rooms are named after different wines. I was in the "Merlot" room.

Suggestion: provide safes for valuables.

Staying at the Atherton Inn is like being a house guest in the owner's home and makes a refreshing change from a branded chain hotel. The inn has a nice patio garden and lounge area.

Likely to return for a similar family event in late 2014.

Room Tip: Rear facing rooms quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raphael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodinville, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We couldn't have been more pleased with our choice of Atherton Inn. It is spacious, elegant, friendly, and conveniently located to everything on the Peninsula. It was designed and built as a B&B. We enjoyed the Merlot Room with a king bed and all the comforts of home. The breakfast was delicious and convivial. One of our best B&B experiences!

Room Tip: Ours was Merlot, one of the less expensive rooms, but the quality of lodging was excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anglophiles2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
393 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

I have stayed at this b and b many times over the past few years and it has a consistent high quality. The owner and staff are wonderful, so helpful and kind. The rooms are comfy and immaculately clean. And of course an amazing breakfast. Add in the fact that it is quiet but very close to downtown Palo Alto, this place can't be surpassed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaliforniaNana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

From the entrance, I found elegance. It was quiet and so enjoyable to follow the Beautiful Artwork to the adorable kitchen where we found our keys. In the evening we sat together with Tricia and a couple wonderful ladies who were guests also and had a blast getting to know eachother. Our room was so confortable and spacious. The french doors lead out to a large deck where we can hear the relaxing sounds of the waterfall in the garden down below. Breakfast the next morning was lovely. Everyone introduced themseves, in the adorable sun room. I hated to leave. This was truly and amazing stay.

Tricia, You are Fanominal!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoAnn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groveland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2012

I stayed at the Atherton Inn with 3 girlfriends for 1 night in December 2012. The innkeeper was fabulous. She spent personal time with us showing us around her beautifully appointed home along with all the amenities. Then, we spent several hours sitting in those wonderfully comfortable leather chairs in front of the "fireplace." Although she has a real fireplace, Tricia turned on the fireplace DVD-TV complete with Christmas tunes playing softly in the background. What a clever idea. She has a selection of adult beverages to drink while we just lounged about chatting with each other, with Tricia and with the other guests, who were no longer srangers by evening's end. My husband and I are also innkeepers, so I was curious about how it would go. My absolute highest recommendation, Tricia. Fantastic stay, fantastic breakfast, fantastic innkeeper!

Room Tip: the rooms in the front of the house have a nice view of the street. if you want real peace and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csb1896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Redwood City
1.2 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
2.7 mi away
Stanford Park Hotel
Stanford Park Hotel
#1 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
5.2 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
2.1 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.6 mi away
Red Cottage Inn
Red Cottage Inn
#7 of 9 in Menlo Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Inn

Property: Atherton Inn
Address: 1201 W Selby Ln, Redwood City, CA 94061-3524
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Redwood City
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing