We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheaper alternative to Palo Alto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Herndon, VA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Cheaper alternative to Palo Alto”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I never thought I would say that a hotel was a "bargain" at $200 a night, but considering the location (Redwood City near Palo Alto), I guess this hotel fits the bill - at least when compared to the $500 "business" rate at the Four Seasons where my business meeting was.

So short and sweet is is the pros and cons of this place:

PROS
- Good for business travelers - free WiFi, simple breakfast, newspaper - a lot like Hampton Inn; makes me cringe that the Four Seasons charges $15 for WiFi on TOP of $500 a night
- Nice clean room, desk space, plugs, lighting, flat screen TV, towels not paper thin; full set of toiletries (shampoo, soap, etc.)
- Room had a little "welcome" packet with water, popcorn for microwave, candy and granola bar; probably a personal touch from the franchise owner and not a standard a HIE
- A short distance from Palo Alto (for anyone visiting Stanford or nearby business), generally for less money
- only 30 minutes from SFO during non rush-hour peak

CONS
- Walls a THINNER than paper thin - room next door had a snorer and it sounded like he was in the room
- Motel style exterior entrance to rooms vs. central hallway - tends to make street noise and hallway noise more apparent
- Not much in the way of dining in short walking distance; there is another HIE closer in to Redwood City central with food and grocery within walking distance; though it did not look as nice as this HIE
- For $200, though it may be relatively cheap for the area, I'm expecting an environment closer to Marriott Courtyard or Hyatt Place vs. Hampton Inn; cheaper but still not a great value

Bottom line, would I stay here again? Probably if I had to but might consider one closer into Redwood City or Palo Alto vs. in between.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daddy00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear daddy00,

Thank you for your considerate review. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments are very important to us. We understand the importance of a good nights sleep and I am sorry for the noise challenges you experienced during your stay with us.

While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    49
    24
    10
    12
See reviews for
54
15
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2013

About 5 mins drive away from 101 in a nice quiet location (even though it's along El Camino Real) with many dining places around. Room is clean and spacious. Bed is very comfortable. 10 mins to Stanford Shopping Centre, 2-3 mins away from other malls.

They used to have a recreation room with a large jacuzzi and steam room but it has been unavailable for a while, a long while it seems. I hope they bring it back soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clubhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

We stayed here and found the staff to be very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were clean and well appointed. And the complimentary water bottle and treat bag accentuated the friendly atmosphere. The breakfast buffet included eggs and fresh, hot pancakes. I would definitely recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeannette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2013

I was expecting the usual "bland" experience that I have had in the past with "chain" lodges. I am happy to report that is was pleasant surprise!
The staff was very friendly and accommodating not the usual "indifferent" service. The rooms were VERY clean, which is usually an area of concern for me. The room was large with a sofa, and a working desk for my computer. Nice appointments and good linens and fabrics, not the usual "cheap" furnishings. The lighting was great, not the usual florescent overheads. It was quiet and I spelt great. There were nice amenities in the room, and the complimentary breakfast was very nice. Plenty of different options for all tastes, and awesome cinnamon rolls!
This was very good value for the price! I will definately stay here again!

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo Park, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2012

This has been the best inn I have stayed in so far. There was great service and complimentary items in the room. It was very clean and the room was fantastic. The breakfast was also great with a pancake making machine and cinnamon rolls. I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

The staff at this Holiday Inn Express is so helpful and friendly and Ron is the best!! I have stayed here several times in the last few months and it is definitely closest to Stanford, Lucille Packard, Palo Alto, Stanford Shopping Center and Menlo Park. The other HIE's don't look so far apart as they go north along El Camino Real but the traffic is really challenging and the time estimates on my GPS are underrated so this place's location is a real time saver. Plus it's super-clean, with lots of quiet rooms and every one of the staff goes out of their way to help however they can.

Room Tip: Seems like the rooms are all quiet, surprisingly so because it's on a busy thoroughfare.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LS51Davis_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Friendly staff and nice rooms. Good value for the room and breakfast. There were a lot of conviences, i.e. safe in the room, linens ready for the sofa/bed pull-out, coffee and a bottle of water, ironing board... We were also in need of some extra items such as a razor, toothbrush and bottle corcker all of which they were very accommodating about. I would very happily recommend staying at this establishment.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffsellars0235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
4.5 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Suites
1.3 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#5 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Property: Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
Address: 2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Park Inn & Suites is an extended-stay hotel in Redwood City, California for business travellers and family vacation with spacious guest rooms, onsite restaurants, fitness centre, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and easy access to Stanford University, Stanford Medical Centre & Downtown Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redwood City Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing