We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free wi-fi, nice rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Certificate of Excellence
Brasov, Romania
Level Contributor
158 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Free wi-fi, nice rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

The rooms are pretty big with a huge comfortable bed. They have free wi-fi and a big screen TV. They offer complimentary goods daily (a bottle of water and possibly 1-2 candy bars). On request they offer complimentary toiletry, like razors or toothpaste.
The parking lot is not big, but you can usually find a free spot.

Room Tip: All the rooms seems to be the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    49
    23
    10
    12
See reviews for
53
15
24
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Gatos, CA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here on a Friday night because we had a number of activities nearby on Friday and early Saturday. Room was fine. King bed was very comfortable. Everything was in good order. Free wi-fi with decent speed. Free breakfast was good - not just some rolls and coffee. Not fancy but just what we needed at a reasonable price. We'd stay there again.

Room Tip: We were near the back away from the noise of El Camino.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrboyo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

Hey, it's a Holiday Inn Express. Your expectations aren't high and unrealistic; I didn't expect a spa or a valet service and they didn't have one.

I showed up very late and there was someone to check me in. Breakfast was not spectacular. When I checked out there were no surprises. The room was clean and the fittings in the bathroom were clean and nice.

Location is very convenient. The street is not noisy at night. Make sure to get an upstairs room; it is California and there are a bunch of people with bikes and if you are downstairs they are louder ...

No surprises when I checked out. All good

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amrith K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Usa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel is set back from the busy El Camino Real, making the rooms sufficiently quietly. The air conditioner could have been quieter, though. It's the kind that goes on and off all night. The room was clean; the beds were very comfortable; and the breakfast was adequate. The members of the staff were quite helpful, especially the woman who supervised the breakfast area. At 200/night, this place is far from inexpensive, but there aren't a lot of better alternatives in this general area.

Room Tip: We enjoyed being on teh second of the two floors, that is, a bit farther away from the noise that in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RNatha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

Stayed for a weekend during a trip to Palo Alto to visit family. This is a great value. A very nice and good size room with refrigerator, coffee maker, and free wifi. The included breakfast is ample (eggs, biscuits & gravy, cereal, pancakes, french toast, toast/english muffins, juices) and what I have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express. Gotta love those cinnamon rolls. The location is only about 10 minutes from Palo Alto/Stanford University on the main street connecting the two cities. Free parking right outside your door. Great room rates considering it's proximity to Palo Alto, and what they provide. I would highly recommend this hotel for the budget minded traveler.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs room Rooms further from the street would be quieter. .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelBeforeIDie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Banos
Level Contributor
280 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The motel grounds are clean and inviting. The staff was pleasant and efficient. The breakfast was excellent. The room was clean and well appointed. Free wifi. Great tv. Refrig and micro. Snack basket. Free paper. All good. Yet the walls are paper thin. The people next door were up all inght and kept us from sleeping at all. Management( to their credit) did fix the problem with the neighbors the next night. The second night, the upstairs neighbors were running around. It was like being in a Bass drum. Management needs to insulate the walls with an expanding foam (ceilings too.) This would be a relatively cheap fix, though I doubt this is in their plans since previous reviews have commented on noise through thin walls and the issue still exists. . All the really good things get cancelled out by the lack of sleep for us. This is why I can't give it more than a 3. We might go back but we would have to have an upstairs room on an end where there is only one neighbor.

Room Tip: Insist on upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Thomas L,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so pleased you liked the breakfast selections we offer and found our staff to be pleasant and efficient. We'd like to apologize for the experience you had with the noise which affected your stay negatively. We understand the discomfort this has caused you. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class experience to our guests. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
144 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2013

When I saw the other reviews I had to double-check the address to be sure it was the same hotel. Yes, full credit to the staff. Otherwise...

True, it's 10 minutes or so from Stanford University. I was visiting a business in Palo Alto and my GPS got completely confused (which others told me is not unusual, so go with good directions.) El Camino Real is a very busy street with heavy traffic pretty much all day and no shortage of signals. At this time there's also road construction, so driving is not a pleasant experience.

The hotel is motel-style, with all rooms opening to outside corridors. It made me nervous about leaving my blackout curtains open, with people walking past my front window. It is however surprisingly quiet. The workspace is pretty good. Internet is free, fast and reliable though it forces you to log on every time. The small fridge and microwave tucked into a corner are very useful.

The bathroom has a shower and toilet area separate from the vanity. It closes with a heavy door and I found it a little claustrophobic. Bathroom amenities include soap, shampoo. conditioner, lotion, and bath gel.

The breakfast includes a good assortment of hot options as well as the famous cinnamon rolls. Oatmeal is instant and the only fruit is bananas. Coffee and granola bars are always available.

The fitness center is the lowlight of the facility, badly in need of updating with two ancient treadmills and a couple of rickety weight machines, barely usable.

The area is run down, though it feels perfectly safe. I found dining options quite scarce unless you want to brave the traffic on El Camino Real again. There is a "room service" delivery menu. I ended up buying food at the Target down the street.

Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbiesOnTheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Dear DebbiesOnTheRoad,

Thank you for your review and for enumerating the good, the bad and the opportunities to improve. Whilst I am pleased with the good comments, I truly value the negative comments as this gives us the opportunity of improving what we can offer. Please accept my apology for the shortfall you have experienced. I appreciate you for bringing this into our attention as the feedback we receive from our guests like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to improve our guest services.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Redwood City hotels
4.5 mi away
Pullman San Francisco Bay
Pullman San Francisco Bay
#1 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Express
#3 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
Pacific Inn of Redwood City
#8 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Executive Suites
1.3 mi away
Pacific Euro Hotel
Pacific Euro Hotel
#6 of 17 in Redwood City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
1.4 mi away
Redwood Creek Inn
Redwood Creek Inn
#9 of 17 in Redwood City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City

Property: Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City
Address: 2834 El Camino Real, Redwood City, CA 94061 (Formerly Holiday Inn Express)
Region: United States > California > Redwood City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Redwood City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City 2.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Atherton Park Inn & Suites is an extended-stay hotel in Redwood City, California for business travellers and family vacation with spacious guest rooms, onsite restaurants, fitness centre, complimentary high-speed wireless Internet access, and easy access to Stanford University, Stanford Medical Centre & Downtown Palo Alto. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Atherton Park Inn & Suites Redwood City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Redwood City Hotel Redwood City
Holiday Inn Redwood City
Redwood City Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing