We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“personal”
Review of Kau Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kau Manor
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koue
Oslo, Norway
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“personal”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We had a group staying for a meeting and dinner at Koue Mois. The manor is not the biggest, but it has a very personal setting and is designed to make you get the feeling of enjoying the hospitality of someones home. The staff are very service minded and attentive. We had a great set of meals spread over lunch, dinner and breakfast. All of them excellent. We even enjoyed the cigar room with the added liquid options as a late night benefit. Truly recommendable, but ask for a room at the Mois itself to make the feeling of being "at home" even greater.

Room Tip: There are rooms in an adjacent barn and some in the main house. I would recommend the main house to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANicolai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    33
    4
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
19
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Kau Manor is just a great place if you want to go away from city. It will be perfect choice even if you have only short time as is takes approximately 30 minutes by car from Tallinn to get there.
It's funny that you may feel romantic atmosphere in Kau Manor even if you go there with bigger company and business purpose.

We were lucky and enjoyed beautiful sunny weather during all our coffee breaks in the manor park and delicious lunch on the terrace. Specially we liked fresh made bread with mushrooms what they bake in the manor. We had nice walk in the garden and picked up some fresh apples too.

Unfortunately we didn't have so much to stay overnight this time but we will go back one day and stay in one these luxorius suites in the main house!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kadi_Elm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viimsi, Estonia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We were there for one night. It was perfect. It is beautifully restored old Manor. The owner was there and the staff was friendly. Yes - you can see that there is more to be done with surrounding areas but rooms, sauna, restaurant and staff is all very good. Specially the restaurant. They have best salads in the universe! Service is super. Food is good. It seems that cook is always going an extra mile.

Some rooms have very dark colors and a little daylight - we had one like that. But we really did not mind as it was good place to relax, read, walk, bike around and just enjoy perfect food prepared with love.

With beautiful weather you should use the free bikes to tour around. Ask were to go - they give good hints!

Room Tip: As much we could see and look around all rooms seemed fine. Some just have less daylight and not so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaur L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

Last night we spend a lovely night at Kõue Mõis. I really love the place. It is one of these beautifull manor which has been restored and made perfect for a little getaway.

The room we had was very good. Allthough maybe a little bit too cold. Bathroom very nice but a normal soap and a hairdryer was missing. No Tv in the room and also no telephone, but who needs these things when you have a little break.

We were offered to use the sauna, which we did. This is in the other building and contains a little pool. Good showers, nice large sauna, and little pool makes it a very nice experience. Especially when you have the chance to use it privately.

We only stayed one night, and this was perfect. I don´t know if you should stay longer than three days. Not that it is not very nice, but maybe for some it can become boring.

When we arrived, we asked, if we could get a little bit to eat. They explained that they will have a new menu soon, so the choice was not that big. It appeared that I had Duck for lunch, and duck for diner. For me this wasn´t a problem, and I really enjoyed it. Again for people who are more critical, the menu could be better in choice. But as mentioned, they will have a new menu in april.

We also started talking to the owner and her husband. A very friendly nice lady from US, married to an Estonian guy. She explained that it is really focussing on art. So for artlovers, this will be the place to visit.

Ofcourse, if you are looking for a spa hotel, with 5 star ammenities, then maybe Pädaste offers more. But you have to compare price quality, and I am sure that this is in balance.

If you are looking for a little getaway, or are making a trip through the country side of Estonia, this is for sure a place to visit.

Room Tip: We had a room in the main building, which was very nice. I don´t know about rooms in the other build...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Erwinwas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2013

As a frequent traveler, I get sick of the same hotels with the same looking interiors. This place was awesome. It was luxurious and had great energy. The rooms were spacious and the staff was amazing. I highly recommend this place as it will surprise you with artistic inspiration.
A hidden jewel in the forest. Not what I expected in a place like Estonia. My friends and I loved it here, it's no wonder the owner is from New York. I did not see anything as cool as this anywhere else in Estonia.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deirdre k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I spent 4 days at Kau Manor and loved this place. It was gorgeous, fun and really different. A real getaway and cool people. It reminded me of staying in a castle.
The food was awesome. Michelin style for sure. High end.
The rooms are huge and so are the bathrooms. I was like, ok Estonians are suposed to be tall and viking like...but the space in this place was crazy large.

Room Tip: Every room is so different, everyone can find the good one !
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank quentinr302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tallinn, Estonia
Level 6 Contributor
377 reviews
181 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 523 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Contrary to all previous reviewers, I would give this manor house hotel three points only, rather than five. So I hasten to say that this is a very nice place and that I might have given it four were it not for the food. I should also point out right away that this is not a luxury hotel (no comparison with, say, Pädaste), but a nice, quite charming ***/**** country house hotel; for this it is adequate, but a bit on the pricey side.

The house was long in ruins and has recently been redone as a boutique hotel by the new owners, a very wealthy local couple. The style is Estonian chic, with its bric-a-brac a bit comparable somewhat to the Gloria restaurant in Tallinn orthe Ammende Villa in Pärnu. The stuffed dead animals are not everyone's cup of tea. There is a main house and some more rooms in the former stables, but these are, in spite of nice features such as glassed-in individual verandahs, tiny and cramped and more like a luxury hostel. It would not be nice to stay in them. The house is 55+6 km from Tallinn (down the Tartu road and then on right); this is not an especially exciting area, and for a longer tourist stay, I wonder how one would spend one's time. There is absolutely nothing in walking distance, no shop no pub, and there is also no manor park (contrary, for instance, to Vihula Manor hotel).

Wondering about the business model, beyond individual tourism, such hotels can either go for weddings and/or conferences. For the former, Kau is quite suitable (if booked in toto; it would not work well if there are individual guests in addition, so one better checks in advance if one belongs to the latter!); the conference infrastructure is, except the electronics, heavily improvable.

The rooms in the main house range from nice to very nice; they are very recent historicist in design with open beams and latticework etc., and the nicer, bigger ones are quite jolly. Beds are great, and bedding as well. According to Estonian standards, rooms don't have (or at least mine didn't) TV or phone, which are regarded here to be old-fashioned (tablet and smartphone take their place), and the free wifi is excellent. The bathrooms are more beautiful than practical (little shelf space; no hair-driers; no space to put things in the shower cabin; shower-floor threshold too high and invisible not to easily trip and too low not to flood the bathroom). The house is illuminated all night (I wonder for whom), and the curtains don't close tightly.

It is odd that a hotel of this kind, and in Estonia no less, has no gym and spa area; both are common and necessary for a place like this. There is a nice sauna/pool complex in the stables though; the pool is mid-size and not for lap swimming, but for dipping and splashing around in the sauna context. The sauna is huge and quite good, but weirdly, there is no social room, which for group sauna experiences for which this complex is made is crucial.

The really negative aspect of the hotel, as indicated, is, or was in my experience, the food, served in the quite nice dining hall with its octopus lighting fixtures. I had three meals there - lunch, dinner, and breakfast - and all were bad; dinner so bad that most of our group didn't eat the main course and had to make up later on cheese and sausage. (There was, interestingly enough, no feedback; no question why so many main courses were sent back basically untouched.) A salad with the grated cheese, in a lump, under it was a creative oddity. Breakfast selection is extremely minor, with just two kinds of bread as bakeries (same as for all meals as sides), and the "warm dishes a la carte by choice" consisted of exctly two: a plate of porridge or an omelette (which actually was very good); no possibility to get the eggs fried, for instance. This doesn't sound too horrible and is whining on a high level, but altogether, the bad quality, partially really bad preparation and narrow selection made the food the weakest point of the place.

The high point is clearly the personnel. The owner, who I was told was partially present, seems to be hands-off in the "I don't mind guests as long as I don't have to interact with them" way, and there was no apparent manager. But the young staff, apparently mostly from Tallinn, at the reception and generally in the hotel was superb, friendly, knowledgable and professional; if there were any glitches, they quickly and cheerfully tried, mostly successfully, to remedy them any way they could. This goes a very long way in creating a pleasant atmosphere.

In sum, if it can be somehow guaranteed that good, well-prepared food is served, I can recommend this place either for a wedding or for a short private trip to the country side, provided one has a car, gets one of the top rooms, and knows how to spend one's time in the context of the available infrastructure. There are, after all, options. :-)

Room Tip: If you go for comfort, choosing one of the upscale rooms in the main building is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Aethelred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Kau Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kau Manor

Property: Kau Manor
Address: Triigi | Tallinn, Koue 75019, Estonia
Region: Estonia > Harju County > Koue
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Koue
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Kau Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Kau Manor offers an ideal change of scenery from the busy city life — whether as a concert, a play, family vacation, romantic outing, work-related seminar or a festive occasion — historic manorial complex, fresh air, beautiful nature and modern conveniences are waiting just a short drive away from Tallinn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L. and Booking.com so you can book your Kau Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing