We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than avergae Courtyard”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum member, so I stay at a lot of Courtyard's. This one is one of the better. Mainly because of the staff and service. I had dinner twice in the bar/restaurant and received good food and great service. It is a basic Courtyard menu, but they don't treat it that way here. Rooms and lobby are the new, redesigned look of Courtyard and the workout room - although small - had new equipment, and TV's on the treadmills and stair stepper. They also offered earbuds, unexpected at a Courtyard. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAbendhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2012

Don't expect elegance, but it is a good business traveler hotel for the area. The breakfast bar served some good food. The food manager in the morning really had things organized well and kept going along very well. The exercise room was OK, but only 1 of the treadmills was working.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side away from the parking lots. There isn't much trafiic noise at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times this year on business (10+ different stays). As a frequent business traveler (+125 nights annually), I've found that this hotel provides excellent service (employee's even remember my name), a very good value for the money, and it enables me to get access area businesses quickly. I was at first skeptical because of the area, but in all my visits I have not had one issue...not in the parking lot, inside the hotel, etc...I would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the elevator. Shorter walk, but you do not hear elevator activity. Also, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

First, a fight broke out in one of the rooms because a man refused to pay a lady for his... "personal massage" he likely ordered from craigslist. Get my drift??? Then I was awakened several times during my stay by the hotel staff having unbelievably loud conversations in the parking lot in the early morning hours. It was right outside my window and I finally yelled at them. They ignored it and went on with their friendly yelling match at 5 a.m.

Room Tip: Get a room nearest to the mall so the employees break area is not right below your window. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WillyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I've stayed at numerous Marriott properties throughout the years, and this hotel certainly ranks near the bottom of any Marriott I stayed. My hotel room had two very large stains on the rug. I tried over two days to get a cup of coffee at their breakfast bar, but the lines were always too long and the service too slow. One of the times, I was second in line, but then heard the two people behind the counter ask each other whether they had made more coffee (the container had no more and the person in front of me was ordering coffee). They both said they did not make more coffee. I gave up. I tried to tell the front-desk clerk about the stained carpet as I was checking out, but I was interrupted by another woman who came up to complain about a breakfast charge on her bill when her rate included breakfast. Seems like there was a lot to complain about. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G13e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stopped here for one night on our way to Eureka, CA as we didn't want to stay in San Francisco City. It was okay for one night but would not stay more than that. We didn't feel comfortable with the surroundings in the area. On check in staff were not accommodating and not very friendly. It was expensive for where it is situated (although there is a Macy's across the road). Air conditioning was noisy and didn't work very well. Bathroom vanity was located in the entrance of the room near the coffee machine. Although there was a cafe on site there are no restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool and had a little bit of noise (nothing to serious).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CassF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

The hotel is renovated. The photos on Trip Advisor don't look anything like what the hotel looks like now. And there was no breakfast bar like the photos show.

Check-in and out was efficient, but I felt the staff appeared unprofessional. It would seem that the chain is trying a more laid back casual dress code for desk staff, but I found it too be too far over the line. I would have expected at least dress shirt and proper pants from front desk staff.

The room was very nice and incredibly bright. It's so nice to finally see a hotel room bright enough to read a book in at night. The room was clean and comfortable. The hotel sink area being separate from the bathroom is wayyyy too small, but manageable for two people. Everything in the room was new so it was a very pleasant stay. They were nice enough to put 2 power outlets by the bed, two on the desk, one by the chair and still have a power bar behind the TV. The windows do let in some road noise. I imagine this would be much worse on the side facing the freeway.

The Wifi is free, but you have to log in every time even though the username and password is generic. Kinda of annoying, but it did have decent speeds. Local calls are not free (even in this day and age.....)

Don't bother booking a room with breakfast included. You order off the menu when you get to the lobby "bistro" counter. You are allowed one drink + 2 cold items or drink + 1 hot item. For the amount extra they charge, you might as well just order the food yourself if you felt like it that day. The bistro was very quiet and comfortable. Because it was more like a food court than a restaurant you can sit in there just because without ordering food or drinks. The coffee was good.

Exercise room was tiny (as usual in hotels). Pool was outdoors and it was too cold when I was there to even bother trying the pool.

The area seems to be in decline. It was a little concerning and reassuring that they have a security guard at night. Then again so does the mall and restaurant across the street. The hotel shares a parking lot with the social security office. Not sure if that's a good sign or not either.

There are very few restaurants in the area. We tried looking at 6PM on a Sunday. The Mexican one across the street was just "okay". There was a chinese buffet by the mall, but everything else was close or out of business.

The mall across the street is in decline too. The Walmart had some very "impolite" clientele catcalling at any female that would walk by. The mall itself seems half deserted.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grounded500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
8.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Richmond Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Richmond Berkeley

Address: 3150 Garrity Way, Richmond, CA 94806-1983 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Richmond/Berkeley)
Region: United States > California > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £89 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Richmond Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Richmond Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Richmond/Berkeley Hotel Richmond
Courtyard Richmond
Richmond Courtyard
Richmond Marriott
Courtyard Oakland Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing