We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice update of an older property”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
968 reviews
118 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
“Nice update of an older property”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have stayed at this property numerous times and it is a very nice update of an older property. The lobby is based upon the new Courtyard model which is comfortable, clean, and well laid out. Customer service is always efficient, while not necessarily as "nice" as I would like to see them be. The location is easy to access being right off the interstate and near some decent restaurants. The rooms are very typical Courtyard rooms and if you get one high enough and on the right side of the building you even get a water view!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cubfaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    66
    29
    9
    9
See reviews for
42
32
12
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum member, so I stay at a lot of Courtyard's. This one is one of the better. Mainly because of the staff and service. I had dinner twice in the bar/restaurant and received good food and great service. It is a basic Courtyard menu, but they don't treat it that way here. Rooms and lobby are the new, redesigned look of Courtyard and the workout room - although small - had new equipment, and TV's on the treadmills and stair stepper. They also offered earbuds, unexpected at a Courtyard. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MAbendhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
712 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Don't expect elegance, but it is a good business traveler hotel for the area. The breakfast bar served some good food. The food manager in the morning really had things organized well and kept going along very well. The exercise room was OK, but only 1 of the treadmills was working.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side away from the parking lots. There isn't much trafiic noise at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times this year on business (10+ different stays). As a frequent business traveler (+125 nights annually), I've found that this hotel provides excellent service (employee's even remember my name), a very good value for the money, and it enables me to get access area businesses quickly. I was at first skeptical because of the area, but in all my visits I have not had one issue...not in the parking lot, inside the hotel, etc...I would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the elevator. Shorter walk, but you do not hear elevator activity. Also, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wes-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

First, a fight broke out in one of the rooms because a man refused to pay a lady for his... "personal massage" he likely ordered from craigslist. Get my drift??? Then I was awakened several times during my stay by the hotel staff having unbelievably loud conversations in the parking lot in the early morning hours. It was right outside my window and I finally yelled at them. They ignored it and went on with their friendly yelling match at 5 a.m.

Room Tip: Get a room nearest to the mall so the employees break area is not right below your window. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WillyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
65 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I've stayed at numerous Marriott properties throughout the years, and this hotel certainly ranks near the bottom of any Marriott I stayed. My hotel room had two very large stains on the rug. I tried over two days to get a cup of coffee at their breakfast bar, but the lines were always too long and the service too slow. One of the times, I was second in line, but then heard the two people behind the counter ask each other whether they had made more coffee (the container had no more and the person in front of me was ordering coffee). They both said they did not make more coffee. I gave up. I tried to tell the front-desk clerk about the stained carpet as I was checking out, but I was interrupted by another woman who came up to complain about a breakfast charge on her bill when her rate included breakfast. Seems like there was a lot to complain about. I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank G13e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stopped here for one night on our way to Eureka, CA as we didn't want to stay in San Francisco City. It was okay for one night but would not stay more than that. We didn't feel comfortable with the surroundings in the area. On check in staff were not accommodating and not very friendly. It was expensive for where it is situated (although there is a Macy's across the road). Air conditioning was noisy and didn't work very well. Bathroom vanity was located in the entrance of the room near the coffee machine. Although there was a cafe on site there are no restaurants in walking distance.

Room Tip: We overlooked the pool and had a little bit of noise (nothing to serious).
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CassF1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
3.9 mi away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Berkeley
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Oakland Emeryville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Richmond Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Richmond Berkeley

Property: Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
Address: 3150 Garrity Way, Richmond, CA 94806-1983 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Richmond/Berkeley)
Region: United States > California > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Richmond Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Richmond Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Richmond/Berkeley Hotel Richmond
Courtyard Richmond
Richmond Courtyard
Richmond Marriott
Courtyard Oakland Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing