We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serviceable Courtyard that is right off the freeway and convenient to Oakland, Berkeley and Napa Valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Richmond Berkeley
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Reviewed 16 May 2013

This Courtyard is located in Richmond, which does not have the best reputation. The good thing is that the it is right off the freeway in an area with a lot of greenery and trees so it feels like it is in a nice suburb. Still, some of the crowd was interesting and different from what you would experience at a lot of Courtyards.

Pros: Location is surprisingly convenient (Berkeley and Oakland are both very close and it is not that far from Napa Valley), room rates are reasonable for a Bay Area Marriott brand hotel (still, getting to SF requires getting though the heavily congested Bay Bridge), comfortable hotel

Cons: Location felt safe, but Richmond has a bad reputation.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2013

Very much in the Courtyard mold. Nothing particularly surprising. Slightly odd layout for the room. Opening the bathroom door all the way blocked the main entrance to the room. Working space was usual Courtyard standard pull-out desk, which I like.

Uncharacteristically, the TV turned out to be problematic. You'd think that you could always get the morning news on a major network. No such luck. The digital picture kept losing the signal. Reported it to the front desk, and got a "we're sorry."

I also reported that there was a heavy smell of cigarette smoke on my floor. The response I got to that was, "Yeah, we're trying to find out who's doing it. When we do, we'll take care of it." How hard can it be? Evidently too hard, because it remained for my entire stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oceansmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

I have been a long term guest at the courtyard on business. From day one, the in room DSL has been nothing but high speed. I have a brand new mac book pro and my internet runs slower than dial up. Forget about watching local tv; ABC CBS NBC FOX... because they won't pick up. All the front desk says is they are working on it. This has been going on for 4 weeks now. If you want to eat at their Bistro, you better bring your wallet and no continental breakfast!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay here and work night shift...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

I have stayed at this property numerous times and it is a very nice update of an older property. The lobby is based upon the new Courtyard model which is comfortable, clean, and well laid out. Customer service is always efficient, while not necessarily as "nice" as I would like to see them be. The location is easy to access being right off the interstate and near some decent restaurants. The rooms are very typical Courtyard rooms and if you get one high enough and on the right side of the building you even get a water view!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cubfaninco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2012

I am a Marriott Platinum member, so I stay at a lot of Courtyard's. This one is one of the better. Mainly because of the staff and service. I had dinner twice in the bar/restaurant and received good food and great service. It is a basic Courtyard menu, but they don't treat it that way here. Rooms and lobby are the new, redesigned look of Courtyard and the workout room - although small - had new equipment, and TV's on the treadmills and stair stepper. They also offered earbuds, unexpected at a Courtyard. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAbendhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

Don't expect elegance, but it is a good business traveler hotel for the area. The breakfast bar served some good food. The food manager in the morning really had things organized well and kept going along very well. The exercise room was OK, but only 1 of the treadmills was working.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side away from the parking lots. There isn't much trafiic noise at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbinhou7511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I've stayed at this hotel numerous times this year on business (10+ different stays). As a frequent business traveler (+125 nights annually), I've found that this hotel provides excellent service (employee's even remember my name), a very good value for the money, and it enables me to get access area businesses quickly. I was at first skeptical because of the area, but in all my visits I have not had one issue...not in the parking lot, inside the hotel, etc...I would recommend this hotel for business travelers.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms closer to the elevator. Shorter walk, but you do not hear elevator activity. Also, for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wes-Janet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
1.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express San Pablo
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Pinole Berkeley
7.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
Hotel Shattuck Plaza
#1 of 20 in Berkeley
1,358 reviews
9.3 mi away
Claremont Club & Spa, A Fairmont Hotel
9.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Francisco/Oakland Bay Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Richmond Berkeley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Richmond Berkeley

Address: 3150 Garrity Way, Richmond, CA 94806-1983 (Formerly Courtyard by Marriott Oakland Richmond/Berkeley)
Region: United States > California > Richmond
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range: £91 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Richmond Berkeley 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Richmond Berkeley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Oakland Richmond/Berkeley Hotel Richmond
Courtyard Richmond
Richmond Courtyard
Richmond Marriott
Courtyard Oakland Richmond

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing