We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“EXCELLENT value, comfortable and friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Medford, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“EXCELLENT value, comfortable and friendly service”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed one night at ABVI in Richmond after having a bad night at another hotel. We moved over the ABVI and found it to be a great value. The rate was the best we could find. It was close to the hub of business that we needed to attend. Best of all the king size bed was actually comfortable. It had extra padding and the blankets, quilts were nice, not the cheap rough kind you often find in the cheaper hotels. We were able to open windows to create a cross breeze in the room, which we really appreciated. Much better than hotel air conditioning, though it had this option. Then I left my Ipad charger there. Management mailed it to me immediately upon request, which was greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bonnie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Hi Bonnie N,
We really appreciate the kind words. We updated our bedding 14 months ago and the response has been great from customers. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,

Anil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    12
    6
    4
    7
See reviews for
12
6
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hayward, California
1 review
Reviewed 22 February 2014

This is a small inn located right off interstate. Although the exterior of the building is old, the rooms are very nice and clean. The room had everything required for your stay including microwave, fridge and a portable coffee maker. Being a bay area resident, I hesitated staying in Richmond, owing to its bad reputation. This motel, however, is in a quieter part of town. The staff is friendly, helpful and professional. Highly recommended for a budget stay.

Room Tip: Take the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayur G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Hi Mayur,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. The staff works hard to keep the rooms clean and comfortable. I will pass along the kind words to our staff.

Regards,

Anil Kumar
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt (Oder), Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

The area of the hotel seems not to be the best in SF. Room had some disgusting off odors. Rooms has to be renovated. Got the impression that some other obsucre guests are staying there for a longer time.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mark m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
HI Mark,

Thanks for taking time to write a review. We are located close to Chevron refinery and have 24 contractors working at Chevron. The contractors typically stay with us for 4 to 6 weeks. With regards to the room odor, we are unable to locate which room you stayed in. We would love an opportunity to research and respond. Perhaps we did not have a non smoking rooms and you were provided a smoking room. Not sure what happened, but please give us a call so we can research and improve our service/room. 510 526 2665 or email at anil@yourbestvalueinn.com.

Best Regards,

Anil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Richmond hotels

Fremont, California
1 review
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Clean and Comfortable beds, great location due to easy access to freeway and excellent wireless internet. A perfect choice if you are looking for affordable stay in Bay Area. they were amazing.person on front desk name MJ was so helpful and polite, and friendly.

Room Tip: doesnt matter what room you have friends. they are just amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urjit T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Hi Urjit,

Thanks for taking time to provide your feedback. The housekeepers work relentlessly to keep the rooms clean and provide a pleasant experience for our guests. I will pass along your kind words to the staff.

Regards
Anil Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, California
1 review
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Needed a place to sleep before taking a out of state drive. This place was... Just, gross. I originally booked two days, when I checked in a went to the room I instantly smelled smoke (I wasn't even given the choice of smoking or non smoking grrrr)

The room was RUN down! Old, outdated, and the last straw fore was when I lifted the blankets up the was a HUGE gap in the box frame. When I say gap, I mean the box frame was like non existent! I could literally look into the bed (showing nothing but exposed wood frame) I will upload the photo.

Needless the say, I got my money back and left. When telling and showing management the photo and asking him if he knew the bed was in this condition, his response was "yeah, so what's wrong with it?" Wow. Just wow. I wouldn't stay here and I'm FROM richmond. Yikes!

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Yomammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIRICHMOND, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
I apologize for your poor experience and for not providing you a choice of a Smoking or Non Smoking room. We place all our guests that reserve rooms online into a Non Smoking room unless the guest requests a smoking room upon check in. The room you were provided does have a wooden box frame. We had experimented with a wooden box frame in order to prevent guests from leaving trash under the bed. Your room was the last room that still had the wooden frame. We have removed the wooden frame and replaced the bed. We value your feedback and thank you for taking time to write a review. We would welcome an opportunity to earn your business again. I will provide you a free night.

Regards,

Anil Kumar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed 30 October 2013

America's Best Value Inn, Richmond offers very good accommodations for a fair price. You'll find the location convenient, situated close to Solano Ave. and the 880. The rooms include a flat screen TV, mini fridge, and a hvac unit. The rooms are well insulated and have double paned windows.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nasgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIRICHMOND, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Thanks for taking time to write a review. The staff works hard to provide a clean comfortable room and we appreciate the kind words. We look forward to seeing you again and having an opportunity to provide you a great stay.

Regards,

Anil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

For the price we paid, the facilities are a far cry from the photos. The office and rooms (we booked 2) are run down; dingy and poorly maintained, with a hole on the bathroom door and one on the wall where someone or something hit them. The bathroom tiles are cracked, the water closet makes the occasional gush, and the air condition sounds like a freight train on an irregular schedule. The circuit breaker flipped when all the lights and outlets are used. The continental breakfast consists of really bitter coffee (if you can stand it) and danish (if you are lucky there is any left for you). All in all - pathetic. One and a half star.

Room Tip: check it first -
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clewedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABVIRICHMOND, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Thanks for your feedback. After examining the room, we did notice that the bathroom door has a crack that appears if it had been punched really hard and did see two cracked tiles. We have replaced the tiles and the door. The air condition unit will be serviced and/or changed if the noise issue cannot be resolved.

The breakfast area is being enhanced to offer orange juice and fruit. We will also look at changing coffee brands as others have complained about the coffee as well.

I apologize for the room and for the breakfast not meeting your expectation. I hope you will give us another opportunity in the future. I would be more than happy to provide a discount on your next visit.

Best Regards,

Anil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Richmond
15.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn Six Flags/Vallejo/Napa Valley
18.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites - San Francisco Airport
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites...
#4 of 28 in South San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
21.4 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
Americas Best Value Inn
#5 of 6 in Pacifica
3.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mira Vista
Hotel Mira Vista
#1 of 5 in El Cerrito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Berkeley Marina
3.7 mi away
Nash Hotel
Nash Hotel
#15 of 20 in Berkeley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco

Property: Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco
Address: 1598 Carlson Blvd, Richmond, CA 94804-5029
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Richmond
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Richmond
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco 2*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Richmond / San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing